Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RIZUMUDEKATTO

by EquipeJAM - Jam Entry

Play as a samurai and try to defeat the ninjas while following the music until you kill the final boss on this rhythm based game.

You can play with the keyboard or controller, the choice is in your hands!

There are still a few bugs, but we made it with all our love, so use yours to evaluate =P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Audio(Jam)3.16
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#545Graphics(Jam)3.17
#617Theme(Jam)3.42
#638Overall(Jam)3.05
#644Fun(Jam)2.87
#708Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

brunocoimbra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Very innovative and easy to control! Really liked the game.

bushmango says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41am

Thanks for rating my game, Four Seasons!

This is the first rhythm game I've seen in a LD, I liked it, although I did pretty well with just button mashing. I'm impressed you were able to add gamepad support.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

A few bugs yet to iron out, but still, turned out very solid. Gotta love rhythm games!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

Gostei da estilo e com progressão, imagino ele frenético depois de um tempo, deve ser tri, pena que nao fui muito longe.
No gráfico eu deixaria o fundo com menos saturação e adicionaria sombra no chão (pros personagens). Fora isso tá tudo encaixando. Parabens ao grupo pelo trabalho!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Nice way of control, love it. Graphics are great!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

Very fun game, very good music and graphs were well placed

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good rhythm game. I had expected the WASD attacks to be in different directions. A couple of times it didn't respond to what I thought was a correctly timed input, but still very fun.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17pm

How to refresh the rhythm genre. Add martial arts.
Kick. Punch, it's all in the mind.

madhoe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37am

A pretty sweet rhythm-ish game! Firstly, one nitpick: I didn't know what the hell the 'S' button was, it looked like a 'g' the first time playing the game and I died quickly not knowing what to hit. Restarted and saw the 'D' button this time, and realized I was supposed to time WASD.

Not sure about other people but I personally wished the gameplay ramped up faster, it was getting boring at the start.

Also, it felt like I timed the button correctly during (what seems like) the boss, which feels unfair.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Neat game! The graphics really pop. The one thing I'd change is that the enemies don't go at the same pace as the drumbeat and the key commands, so I ended up buttonmashing my way to victory just because. There was also a problem with the final boss where the attacks would come so fast that I couldn't actually see what my new button to press was supposed to be, and I got hit a couple of times in quick succession because of that. Still, I won~ Hurray!

Thank you for the game!

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38am

It took me a while to figure out how to play even with instructions. The flashing button prompts combined with not being able to attack off beat at all left me confused. It was pretty fun once I figured it out.

ijwu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54am

Great idea! I do wish the difficulty went up as I played. It did take me a few tries to figure out how to play. I wouldn't call this a rhythm game as not many elements follow the rhythm. It's just the flashing button icon which flashes to the drumbeat. Not much else there in the way of rhythm.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice game, its a bit hard to control but statisfiying when you land a hit. GIt looks quite nice too !

nicotuason says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:36am

Vibrant colors and the sounds match the visuals perfectly! I wasn't sure how to attack at first but figured it out after 1 try. At first I wished the difficulty would ramp up a bit faster, then I regretted it when a giant head appeared!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very good idea but i felt it somewhat boring after a couple minutes.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Like the graphics and controls
One of my friend made a game for LD31 with similar mechanics but more like guitar-hero style

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really hard to understand at what exact moment you need to strike, but it's fun when you figure it out. ALso, I'd make an instant restart button after game over, it's not cool to wait 10 seconds and press several buttons just to play it again.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I think it needs feedback when you press the wrong button or the right button at the wrong time. I had trouble understanding what I was doing wrong at first, maybe the button prompt should highlight when pressing it will land a hit. The hits are satisfying though!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Good game. just sometimes in between it felt out of rhythm, but otherwise, good game overall :) great work!
My game also has mechanic relating to music, so i can make out the off beat event triggers (according to code)

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Easy to play and really cool graphics. I like the game :).

Reyn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

You invented a new genre, the endless stander! :P I agree with some other comments that say it needs to ramp up faster. Having to go through the main screen and keyboard selection killed pace. Thanks!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Congratulation for making this game ! \o/
I don't know if you're goal was to make a rythme game. If so, i feel like it's not sinc' with the music. But The music is great, the art is cool and the overall flow works. So great job !

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

i like concept .

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really interesting idea with a nice audio-visual style. Took me a while to figure out that the icons don't tell you WHEN to press the buttons but once I got it playing the game felt really good. Boss was a nice challenge as well. Very nice job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Up to this point, this was probably the second best entry I played. Awesome.
Stylish, kinda innovative with the gameplay, looks good, sounds good, the mood is best served with tea, green tea if you have it at your disposal.

Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

blay09 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice, I liked the nice change of pace the boss brought. Well done!

friken says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

chop chop.... fun little game, congrats

cxsquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I really liked the idea though the controls felt slightly off at times. Overall it was really fun though.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I like the music and the graphics! The thing that bothers me, though, is that I have to keep switching my facing back and forth, since it's random; I can't get into that rhythm game groove of mindlessly pressing the buttons. :P

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice job. Well put together. Had trouble figuring out if I should be pressing the key on the offbeat or just when the enemy is in range though. Also, there is no penalty for just mashing the key the game is prompting you for.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18pm

nice rhythm game, I don't know if it's just me, but I noticed sometimes the controls were unresponsive.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:30pm

little buggy, but i like it!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Took me moment to realize how attacking works but otherwise this was pretty well done. You should make the game continue from start of the round when you die instead back in the menus, retrying takes really long.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Took a while to figure out that it was a rhythm game, but that was a simply awesome, well put together. Well done.

SnowWars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33pm

NEAT!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09am

Music never played, so it became quite lame after a couple hits :/

dlowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:19am

Thanks for the game! You probably need to penalize dirty cheaters like me who ignore the timing and just spam the button :)

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:50am

Great to see a Construct submission! Nice game, but I swear the controls just stop working around 200 points! Maybe it's just me :(

nokusu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:33am

Fun little game, the graphics are quite nice,

i don't know if it's because i tried the web version, but i had a tiny issue on the title screen, the font didn't seem to work as it wasn't the same one from your screenshot, not a real problem but just so you know ^^

also +1 for controller support !

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20am

Nice graphics and music that feels in time with the attacks. I like the split of mechanics between choosing the right attack and facing the right direction. Well done!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:40am

nice adaptation of a rhythm game, with a bit of rework on the responsiveness along with a combo system this game would be awesome. good entry :)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I love Samurais and Japan X_X +500 points! x) Also check my project if you have some time mate x) thanks.

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice game, I love the rithm. Music was very good!

Jerom-2014 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice graphics!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:25pm

sweet game

Zimennik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Very simple game.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:05pm

good to hav easy controls...

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Didn't understand what to do until I came back and realized.. it's a rhythm game! Oh. XD Good mood setting with the sfx & music. Thanks for making both Xbox and keyboard settings!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

Ugh, this game remind me of how much I suck at rhythm games. I would recommend adding an indicator letting the player know when to push the button (I do like that the button appears for a long time, though, so keep that). Otherwise, I had a blast. Reminded me of Bit.Trip.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:41am

Also: music is not playing on HTML5. Any ideas?

Poupi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:51am

Nice work ^^

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:08am

I think what kept me playing is the presentation of everything. The reward of lightning was really cool!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:28am

Really easy to take control of and very fun great game

fancypants says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:50am

Great game, simple yet innovative.

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:57am

Great graphics and audio. I found the gameplay a little confusing with keyboard: seemed like I had to hit when the key wasn't flashing.
Nice work :)

t4u says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Liked audio. Usually people add music that make you search for mute button. This however wasnt the case.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Wasn't too keen on the controls at first but they grew on me :D good work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice style! Interesting take on rhythm games.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I really liked the music and sound!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:20am

Really easy and smooth feel to this game!
Thank you for your entry!

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:57am

It took me a while to understand it was a rythm game, I used button mashing as main technique for a while.

It would be nice if percussion was tied to the sword hit though, good job nice game.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:00pm

A bit laggy

victorljs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Beautiful graphics, interesting gameplay.
Parabéns.

egos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:43pm

nice concept the button arent clearly visible at the beginning but it s ok
its well polished !!

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:40am

I found counter intuitive, but interesting, that you should time your attacks on the off beats.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:24am

Neat rhythm game! Graphics, music, and sound are all great too, really comes together. Didn't expect that (spoiler!) giant demon head boss! Excellent work guys!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:41am

Scaling difficult would have been nice, but this was a great entry.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:05pm

A great idea- Maybe add some penalty for "button mashing" - Since that was a lot easier than going with the rhythm. The graphics are good, and the gameplay is pretty straightforward.

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Playing with gamepad is kind of annoying as every time I die it reverts to the main screen which will only let me input by keyboard =/
The point at which you need to press the button should be clearer to the player, it felt intuitive to wait till they were very close but this got me killed. Flashing the button prompt white when it needs to be pressed maybe?
Of course seeing as you can just spam the button to win, that doesn't really matter anyway... but for a rhythm game you shouldn't be able to spam buttons so I tried not to :P

Graphics and music very good.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Nice game! I was trying to play it like a rhythm game, but the enemies didn't seem to have any rhythm timing to them. I kind of resorted to spamming the next button, since there was no penalty for pressing the wrong key or pressing it at the wrong time. (no visual cue either, which was confusing on first playthrough. Despite this, I had fun at the boss.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nicely implemented, and fun too. The music and visuals work really well.

jotson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Yeoooooooooooowwwwwwwwoooooooo!

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice theme, the audio worked well :)

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:29am

+1 for gamepad support also likes the audio!

scias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:03pm

I thought it was cool. It kind of reminds me of five finger death punch. The main thing i would recommend is juicing it up a little.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice game. The audio was a bit freaky :D

volkoivan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Cool, but at first I didn't understand how to play it

JFern says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:30am

Good graphics and audio, really matched well! Super easy to pick up and play and pretty fun (though I did end up just spamming the keys after a bit haha)!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nice graphics, but it got kind of repetitive.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:57am

Еhe management was not very comfortable for me (
But I'm keen on sound design !)) Cool)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:30pm

really nice game

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Gotta say, great game! the controls are nice and easy, it looks good, sounds good and is fun!
One small critique: I mainly mashed my buttons (worked great XD), and didn´t really get the timing indicator to the rythm.

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:58pm

cool game

apiotrw says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I think the graphics look a bit unpolished and incoherent

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really nice! I wish it would get faster and tougher

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I like the graphics and animations, the sounds as well. The gamepley is very interesting but I would probably add more difficulty sooner, faster ninja, something that makes it more challenging. Nice game.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Cool, i just understood about the rythm :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:30pm

nice game, great pixel graphics, it reminded me of a slower paced version of one finger death punch. good work!

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:04pm

innovative , good controls

spas says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:00pm

nice simple control system, nice

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:49am

Great retro style--the background with animation was a great touch.

My only issue is that, since there's not really an indication of the timing until you successfully land an attack, it wasn't clear that the controls were doing anything at first.

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:10am

Noice!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Controls felt a bit slow and unresponsive, but I really like the enemy sprites!

panda says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nice game! I love the concept and the music. I had some trouble initially because the flashing "S" looked like a "9" so I thought it was a life indicator, and didn't understand why the character wasn't following my instructions.
Also I'm not exactly clear on when I'm supposed to press the key - clearer feedback would be useful.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Nice approach to the theme. Sometimes the controls seemed like not responding, but I don't know if it was me and my timing or a game issue.

Aisland says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice game, it's awesome! How did you make it, Use rhythm to create ninja? It's great, ALL is 5 STARS!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Sometimes the controls didn't response very well. Loved the music and the sound effects. Nice game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Was a bit hard at first and I genuinely thought that the timing could be buggy until I found out I had to time my strikes just as the current beat finishes. Pretty fun game in the end though plus I really liked the music (especially how the tempo picks up during the boss fight).

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice game, I like the timing aspect and the whole theme and style. Good job!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Had some trouble with the controls, sometimes felt as if it did not register my keypresses.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]