Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Do you want to kill a showman?

by jblatta - Jam Entry

In our game you must kill the oncoming snowmen waves using your choice of 3 weapons.

Game Design and Programming: Jason Latta
CG/3D Asset Artist: Collin Bishop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Graphics(Jam)4.15
#357Humor(Jam)2.87
#363Fun(Jam)3.24
#425Overall(Jam)3.29
#632Mood(Jam)2.87
#676Theme(Jam)3.36
#875Innovation(Jam)2.36
#1896Coolness33%

Comments

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

Scary snowmans!! Love the models, had a great time killing them :)

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

Wow, fantastic 3D models!

Rnd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

simple FPS game. I think it will be better if you add health bar in snowman, and add some effect when snowman get hit

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

Now that's a beautiful title screen! And man, I've never seen such smoothly animated snowmen. I'm not a great fan of the forced manual reloading, but still great work. :)

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56am

The snowfields ran white with snowman blood that day...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

disturbingly fun. i like the models. the shotgun is kinda OP against the little guys.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Perfect stress-relief game. I love this game so much.

After I've reviewed some of the others I'm gonna come back and play it again. =)

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53am

Models look awesome. Waves are balanced with the reload speeds and ammo counts. Blasting the little ones with a shotgun is super satisfying. Great game. Fantastic job.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52pm

The giant snowmen freaked me out. Great job.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28pm

awesome :D

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice start

acro says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Very eye-catching game title, although there's something wrong with you! (In a good way). I found this too frustrating to be enjoyable, probably down to the relentless unstoppable feeling coupled with the clunky reloading. Got on much better second time after figuring out when to shotgun, but still have no idea what the bow does.
I'm willing to accept that it may have appeared to me to get harder too fast purely because I couldn't figure out when to use the shotgun properly. But whatever it was,
the pacing/appearance of big snowmen seemed to unfairly block too many smaller ones from damage. As others have commented, some kind of more pronounced reaction to shots would help a lot. The shotgun seems to spray particles rather than having an abrupt burst to it, so it was hard to tell when it had worked and when not. Most of the time it aggravatingly didn't seem to do anything, but once I cleared over half the screen in one shot. No idea what was going on there.
The model and animation are surprisingly high quality, it's just a shame there's not a bit more variation.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:18am

Neat game! Very fun arcade shooter action. Great work!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:51am

Good graphics! And I like the bullets bouncing off the snowman and it seems to do damage to another snowman, too? Though it's not very practical in game, it is still very fun!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:39am

That will haunt me for a while to come. Nice concept though. Single screen and snowman theme combined.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Love the walk animation

Deranes says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Snowmen models look great. Nice mix of weapons, crossbow was fun against the big snowmen.

Shotgun I had a hard time figuring out what it did at first. But at the end where it just keeps spawning small snowmen untill you die/give up, I eventually figured it out. Would have been better if it hit snowmen in a cone where you aimed instead of just damaging everything nearby. And at the end it could have spawned big snowmen instead of the little ones that die to one shotgun blast.

Played on untill 136,375 points by just using the shotgun at the end. Also found out you can start reloading waaay earlier that I think you are suppose to, since the instant the shot goes of you can start reloading the next one. But I had a lot fun for about the first 30,000 points at least :)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:42am

The snowman models are very nice!

I found that reloading takes too much time, and overall the game lacks a bit of dynamism for a shooting game, and there is no real need for other weapons since the shotguns is a bit cheated :)

jblatta says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:07am

***Notes from Developer***
Here are some tips:
Projectiles are do bounce and they count as a hit just as much as a direct hit. You can even poll the fireballs on the ground and let them run into them. Also the crossbow can take out multiple units if you do a glancing shot on the side of the snowman.

The fireballs = 1 pt of damage
Crossbow = 15 pts of damage
Shootgun is not a cone, it is an AOE to help you clear and reload if you get overwhelmed.

I can play the game 100% crossbow if don't let them get all the way to the end.

Pro Tip: Hold down your fire button all the time and press R to reload without letting up on fire button.

I am glad everyone is enjoying the game.

jblatta says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:08am

oops, sorry for the typos... not edit :(

Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Stupid snowmen ate me up.. :P
Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]