Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hallie

by Switch - Jam Entry

My first entry alone in Ludum Dare, and second overall. #LDJAM

A roguelike-maze-ish game where you takes role of a little shooting star called Hallie. The game basically consists in controlling two scrollable portals using the arrow keys (left/right for the southern one, and up/down for the eastern one), and make Hallie travel between them, once you can't control her directly. You need to collect as many stars as you can, and avoid recurrent asteroids that appear. The game ends once your life (i called HP) drops to zero.


CONTROLS:
left/right arrow keys = move the horizontal portal
up/down arrow keys = move the vertical portal
space = pauses the game

Music are remixes from Mega Drive's Ristar original soundtrack (as well i inspired on Ristar design to create Hallie).
Remixes by SuperShadow (title theme) and Bizen (stage theme)
No copyright infringement intended at all.

When you first run the game, there may be a little delay before music starts, because music is downloaded right when the game start. Hope it isn't much annoying.

I hope you enjoy! (...and don't mind my creepy art skills too XD)

EDIT: It seems at Level 5, when there are too much asteroids, it becomes pretty impossible to go further, since the star become all unstable due to placing algorhythm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Innovation(Jam)3.75
#142Fun(Jam)3.59
#185Theme(Jam)3.91
#267Humor(Jam)3.07
#386Overall(Jam)3.34
#466Mood(Jam)3.07
#551Graphics(Jam)3.16
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

Felladrin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Good idea! Funny game! Good music! Liked your 8 bit art!
I couldn't pass the first level yet (max 8/10), but it's very pleasurable to play. Congrats!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

Lovely pixel art, great gameplay concept!!! Good job!!!!

jarry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Nice game. A 8-bit Portal game ^^. Fun to play !

dekkuran says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Really liked that opening track. Crazy nice. Gameplay is nice, but I think it could have made use of more dimensions. The crying star when you die is hilarious! ;D

nuiguy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Nice game, I really enjoyed this, and probably spent too long playing it! ;) Thanks for the game,

-Nuiguy

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Really good idea! Music was really nice! Really enjoyable, I hope you will still working on it! Good job!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Very good idea for the game!!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Good idea! I'm entirely sure how to get him to turn around and jump back through the portals though (sometimes it did, and sometimes it didn't).

Either way though, love the little soundtrack, love the art-style and it was fun. =)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46am

At first it felt weird and difficult to do what I wanted to do, but then I got better at it, and started to be able to plan ahead and catch those stars! I felt like I was learning a new skill, and that's when it got interesting.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

Got to level 3.
Noticed the nice star-placing algorithm, they're always reachable and move if not!
The HP increase did not help me allot.
I found the graphics actually ok :)

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

really fun to play! very challanging. graphics could be better

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Very nice puzzle game, a little easy but a very solid effort in the time alotted, Great Job

rnlf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Interesting gameplay idea and the visuals look quite good, too!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice 8-bit art and music :) also interesting idea for a game.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:56pm

This was really cute. Had neat game play, nice job!

t4u says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Loved the idea. High ratings on fun and innvoation. I would like to see a semitransparent shade from the portal to see if my Hallie will hit obstacle or not. I dont think stones are spwaned in such pattern that it is always possible for me to collect a star.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Now you're thinking with portals ;)

Would have loved extra BG music and one portal on each edge !

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Hey, this was fun to figure out and had great graphics and sound!

I had a problem on firefox that my inputs would be ignored sometimes, and of course that totally wreck those play sessions. But I think it's just my machine.

There's a hopeless moment in the design of this, where you have made your fatal mistake but it will be several very long painful seconds before that smiling star actually smashes into her doom. I have mixed feelings that this is both good and bad. ;)

Nice entry! Love these tight arcade games w/ new mechanics to explore in a short format. Loved the fast retry and proc gen so it was different each time.

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:13pm

amazing style and graphics! The sounds and music are awesome! Please, tell me where did you took this music, if this not a secret?

igoramendola says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Interesting game! I played a few times and one of them I got lucky with the placing algorithm. I reached level 7 (163EXP). Here is a screenshoot shortly before died:
http://igoramendola.com/extra/hallie.png
It is a funny entry and I enjoyed playing it :D and the titlescreen looks like an original NES game ^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]