Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The life game

by guimm - Jam Entry

That´s my game for #31 Ludum Dare, my first game EVER!!!

Special thanks to Kraln for upload the game.


-CONTROLS-

Arrows or WASD to move, R to restart, and mouse for the slider in the television.


-WHAT THE STATIC/SLIDER DO?-

When you get the "???" item in the game the static will show hiden plataforms.


-ABOUT THE SOUNDS-

The game have just the sound of the television static (use the slider in the right) and in the end ( I don´t want give spoilers). ^-^


-THOUBLE WITH THE DIFFICULTY?-

Some peoples are having trouble with the difficulty, so if you are having any trouble with that, watch the full gameplay video of the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZg7kUJ99Wo&feature=youtu.be


-IMPORTANT!-

There is a chance of the end of the game get buged, if you think this has happened see the true ending in the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZg7kUJ99Wo&feature=youtu.be



THANKS FOR ALL OF THE POSITIVE COMMENTS, SERIOUSLY THANK YOU!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#164Fun(Jam)3.54
#393Overall(Jam)3.33
#496Graphics(Jam)3.29
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#559Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Uploaded at http://kraln.com/tlg for anyone who wants to play without messing around with chrome.

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Also fixed some unicode file naming issues.

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Once I fixed the loading issues, a fun little platformer with a good difficulty ramping.

guimm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Kraln, realy thaks, realy thanks!!! I will put the link in the entry. :D

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice job. Needs a little bit of guidance.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I had fun, but I just could not get past the part after the lasers. I would assume that you need to double jump, but that doesn't work if you're already in the air. So I had to give up there. Also, I do like the little noise controller to the right.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Hard like a vvvvv or a super meat boy. Good Job ! Does it have sound ?

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

difficult as hell! :P gave up after the lasers :/
I like the graphics and the gameplay is great, good job :)

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Really fun! It's very hard, though. I almost quit a few times, mainly at the first pair of lasers. Love how you made it fit the theme using the TV, and how the static slider was actually interactive.

Thommy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice game. The ending was a bit creepy, but I like that

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Simple but fun with a good difficulty

Good use of the theme !

guimm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

@SushiDestroy just have the sound of the television static (use the slider in the right) and in the end.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nifty Idea, curious as to the thought behind the volume/static slider and it limiting visibility? I thought it was a great idea that you are kind of trading off one sense for another, but since there wasn't other sound effects it didn't really matter too much... just curious as to what you were going for

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41am

Good job , I didn't do so well though LOL kept dying on the moving platforms

Nidolabz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42am

This game is very challenging and fun. I enjoy the retro view with the TV. The controls are fair. The problem is, I cannot hear any audio in the game. But overall, a good and fun game. Challenging with that classic feeling of victory after getting past the lasers.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45am

Some of those leaps of faith are really tricky! I have to give up for now. More check points would be nice :)

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

Great baseline for a good platformer. I'd be interested to see the game with better graphic's, enemy, a lil easier platforming(I know it had to be hard in this one because it's your only enemy, just saying though)

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Really fun original and difficult
i reconize the lovely smothy movement of the construct 2 tile plugin. XD

Seriously good job.

guimm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

@MrShoestore I updated the post with the answer of your question.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02pm

good work(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

iShadow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice platformer. It only needs more checkpoints and few jumps are to tricky.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I what you did there entire game on one screen. love it it was really fun. even though i had no idea what that slider did. solid game. :D

guimm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

@DiegoHenriquez I put in the entry what the slider(static) do.

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Is it possible to see the cource code capx i would like to know who to avoid the anomation probleme with tile based plugin in c2
Thanks

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23pm

reminds me of our game :D you even have lasers xD cool game ;)

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Fun game, but double jump should work in the air. Very frustrating without it. The lasers have little to no build up so its very hard to dodge.

guimm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:41pm

@egos I am sorry, I am really "noob" in making games, I don't know much what's what you talking about. ;-;

@Asaratha I really think that is how a double jump works, just one jump in the air. Two jumps in the air is like a triple jump. But, if you can´t make any jump in the air, is because you already jump and not have seen.

And I am sorry, I did not realize the game was so difficult while was making and testing.

guimm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I am sorry for my english to, I don't speak english! :P

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Some good level design there that actually required timing and precision. Not quite sure if the ending is supposed to mean something. If so; I didn't get it. Overall fun experience though.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:52pm

A great and polished platformer!!! Would love to see it with more features and content. The difficulty was just right, not too frustrating and not too easy.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:30am

Well...this was pretty well done, and I like the "television screen" idea...It's so difficult, though! I mean, at one point you have to: 1) fall down and to the side and double-jump just at the right moment to get up onto a ledge; 2) leap up through a laser onto a ledge in a very short window of time while not going high enough to hit the other laser; 3) leap up again through a short window of time; 4) fall down to the side far enough to get onto a ledge but not too far as to miss it within that same short window of time, 5) ... probably some other stuff that I didn't see because I got tired of trying, all WITHOUT a checkpoint in the middle. It got pretty tedious...

But I mean, you made a platformer engine in 72 hours, so that's something. ;)

psychonull says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:46am

Good game. A bit hard for me :(

guimm says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:53am

@Chaoseed I used construct 2! I don´t have any programing knowledge. And yes, maybe I have fail a little in the difficulty, but some people don't think the same way! So I don't know.

But that's my first game!
And I just have 17, so :/

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:18pm

I like the twist. I think there may be an issue with the collisions, it feels like I'm colliding too early.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Wow. Just wow. It may be the best game of the Jam. Well, from what I have seen so far, it IS the best game of the Jam.

Platformer. Difficul. Original. Amazing! Final is also great.
I suggest everyone to play it and complete it, watching video is so not enough!

guimm says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

@Tangible Games Thanks :)

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Did I just... kill somebody?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]