Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ROCKROCKET

by Backterria - Jam Entry

You wake up inside a cave.Find your way through the opening.

//CREDITS
Concept/design/programming :Backterria
Audio: Slower

//INFO
This is my first game ever and my first Ludum Dare.
Made with Gamemaker studio,some Moog and love.

//CONTROLS
- Left/Right: Arrow keys
- Jump: Z
- Action: X
- Exit: Escape

//Notes
- Toggle Fullscreen: Alt+Enter

//Update (version 1.1)
- Hardcore jumps were smoothened
- A few audio effects were added
- Some minor bugs here and there fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Mood(Jam)4.33
#23Audio(Jam)4.09
#54Graphics(Jam)4.42
#76Overall(Jam)3.87
#221Theme(Jam)3.87
#267Fun(Jam)3.36
#365Innovation(Jam)3.25

Comments

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

looks good, can't play it cause I'm on mac. :(

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Thanks p!x3lruckus.I just compiled the pc version.Although i have the lisence of gamemaker for mac export too, so i just need a little more time(to see some tutorials and to sleep too:P)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27am

Good game overall but the graphics are the best part! :)

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Nice mood and gfx congrat for ur entry !

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice mood. Graphics and audio very nice. Too bad controls assigned to z ans x - my keyboard locks "z" when I move left so can only jump right :D

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Great atmosphere. Controls were pretty tight. Graphics top notch. Good job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38am

Game was really enjoyable and had a great mood, but the jumping was a bit touchy (which is bad, considering it's the game's primary mechanic). Would also benefit from a 4x HD monitor. :P Great job!

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

Absolutely gorgeous in every way. Great job at adding such good exploration mechanics to a one screen game!

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

Extremely good graphics. Loved the coherence of sound+aesthetics to create a very moody game. I generally don't like 2D platformers but I felt compelled to play this. Great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04am

Man, love the Graphics, audio, mood, I can see why those are three you chose to be rated in

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18am

Wow I followed this game since the updates during LD ahaha! Finally i can play it! It's just awesome... I like graphics and audio and it's so fun to play... beautiful! Well done!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18am

Love the visual style from the screenshots, unfortunately I'm on a mac...

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24am

This looks, and sounds absolutely fantastic.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24am

Looks great!! Love the art very much! :)

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

A nice, atmospheric game.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43am

I loved this! There's an awesome sense of mystery as you're exploring the nooks and crannies of the screen. I really enjoyed the darkened pieces of the map that would reveal themselves as you got to the right places. I also like that you didn't explain too much, as the game is about discovery. The main character could be a little more visible at the beginning (I get that he gets more visible as you go, but I had a really hard time finding my character) But man! I wish I could play more of this. Did I say awesome graphics? Awesome graphics!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

Visually stunning. It was a bit hard to understand what to do at first because your this tiny rock that blends in with the background

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11am

Please compile a Mac app or I suicide myself.

Insality says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

wow, so great graphics and style for 3 days ;] amazing guys

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

Great graphics, mood and audio. I was engaged all the way through. Good use of the theme. The feeling of new discoveries was awesome.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice game, it was a bit dark though and we could barely see anything while testing :)

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Your game is my favorite for now. I LOVE the music, does Slower have a Soundcloud? Also I'm curious to know how you made the graphical assets.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Really awesome atmosphere in this game, the graphics and audio fit together really nicely to make a solid sense of mood. I had fun exploring the level, and I like how the specific interior areas get revealed as you enter them. Good stuff!

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Very nice! Smooth controls and great art and music. I loved the exploration aspects, especially the hidden passages. At first I had trouble finding the controllable character (didn't notice it until I accidentally fell into water) and some holes were very hard to get out of. Overall, I enjoyed it!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:50am

I second on the mac export, please...if not...I'll go borrow a pc cause I really want to play this, it looks just so dang fudge-muffinly gorgeous!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:31am

Love the mood, but somehow didn't get the game at all. Also please make sure the main character gets visible, I lost myself several times.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01am

Simple but nice graphics! I liked a lot the idea. I missed some air control, but great overall.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

Absolutely amazing presentation

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:56am

The bad points : 30s to locate my character! The frame perfect jump in the cave, quite frustrating.
The good points : solid theme work, instead of making a plateformer with survival mechanics or rules changing, you actually made a whole plate former on one screen, with a supra tiny hero! Nicely done.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:18am

Amazing work. The visuals, audio, and the capacity player exploration and discover all combine for an awe-inspiring experience. I would absolutely love to see a larger-scale game, with multiple screens of this nature.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59am

Took me a while to find my avatar ^^"

Nice sound/music and artwork. The game itself is pretty classic, but the level design is interesting: because you have total information (whole game on one screen) there's some degree of pre-planning to your movements. Another good use of theme :)

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24am

cool, sometimes it felt a little long-winded but somehow the atmosphere brought me further. the graphics are really nice, i thought a blogpost of you when you played with different ways to generate graphic - it came out nice. also the whole setting is a charm. good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26am

Really moody, could've used an indication of where you character starts in the beginning, other than that; the graphics are cool and the ambience is really nice. Searching for tunnels etc. was fun (: Good job!

lukz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11am

First game on ludum dare 31 that I played to the end. Excellent entry!

Knighty says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Graphics, audio, and mood are all wonderful. The gameplay itself is a bit simple, and it's easy miss one little wall you have to go through and not know where to go, but was overall very enjoyable.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Good job! Love graphics and atmospheric sounds. Controls are ok and I've a very good time exploring the cave!

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Wow, this one has great mood. The music is great, as well as graphics.
Starting with fonts and going to lights, everythin fits together very well.

Two things to improve: Its hard to spot the player (at least on my crappy laptop-screen) since it is not that distinguishable from the background and also not animated.
German Layouts have z in a very odd position for games. 'x' and 'c' would work great on all keyboards (but this is of course no reason for a downvote).

guimonpa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

This is wonderful, the feeling of exploration is great.
Nice graphics and sound also.

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I have no idea what to do other than jumping around and collecting shiny things. What do the white objects than want dots and money do? No idea. What does X even do? No idea. I tried it everywhere but nothing happened. Would score higher if the controls and goals were communicated more clearly.

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice work! I really liked.

scnoobi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:03am

was very confused at the start since i was just hearing water when i jumped and could not see my character at all but seems interesting.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:09am

I like the graphics style, but the character is a little hard to be distinguished from the background..

kumoi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32am

Very awesome game. took me forever to beat the damn thing but I'm so satisifed now.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11am

This was astoundingly good for your first game! Aesthetically, this game is absolutely beautiful. I really wanted to finish it, because I absolutely wanted to see what would happen in the end. I wanted to appreciate your artwork, and take in all the facets of your vision.

The one thing that made it hard for me (aside the fact that I am very poor at platformers) was the blocky collision. It was hard for me to (with the keyboard) get the little dude up and around some of the platforms. I managed to get where I wanted to go, but not without a bit of button mashing. :)

This is definitely one of the LD games that would be sellable with some polish and more content. You can easily fix collision. Artistic vision, ability to put together something that people want to play, and aesthetic value is not. :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:40am

Exploring a fairly intricate one-screen environment was surprisingly fun... and the art and ambiance was fantastic! Honestly, gameplay was a bit on the tedious side (and some of those jumps were frustrating!), and it often wasn't really intuitive what I was supposed to be doing, or why. I think I explored all the rooms (it's hard to tell), got the big blue ball, broke the rocks and got the white ball, lit up all the $ Stones, and and started assembling what I bet is the Rockrocket, but I couldn't find the other parts, or what I needed to do to make them appear, after a good 20 minutes. In general, I never really knew why things were happening.

Note that Collect-All-The-Things games have never been my cup of tea, but I know people who really like them, and I still enjoyed the exploration and aesthetics a lot. Good work on your entry, and good luck in the future!

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:02am

Odd side note, but really liked the "splashing" effect in this game.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:37am

The atmosphere here was astounding! The world was fun to explore but it got tedious in the middle when I couldn't find the last few orbs. It would've been nice to see who the player was at the start, I just mashed buttons till I fell in water. Sometimes I felt like the world was working against me with odd geometry as well.

-AlucardX60

Frump says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Really great work. I thought my keyboard wasn't working though, I closed and restarted the game before realizing I wasn't controlling the robot in the center. I collected most of the blue orbs but didn't figure out how to interact with the money statues. It didn't seem like anything happened when I hit X.

zanto says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:29pm

nice try. Iwould like the player to be in a different colour and bigger. love the grafics and the colours.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Great game! I'm really surprised that was just the first one you've ever made!

I liked the art, and the mood was well done also. The only thing that I'd really change is that some of the blue dots were really difficult to find (more specifically, the paths that lead to them).

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:50am

Impressive. I like the fact that you built so many puzzles into a single level, and that you had to discover what they were.

It was challenging, and I felt like I had to learn/get a feel for moving around to find some of the hidden caves. A few of the jumps were painfully tough, though.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:53am

Wow. That was beautiful. The colour and contrast of that cave was fascinating and the music was a great addition to the ambiance. I found running back over places that I've already been to was starting to try my patience. I felt that the passages could use more connections to each other.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:04am

This is beautiful. Love the graphics, music, and overall theme. It took me a little while to find the player on my display.

nesis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Loved the game, the ambience and feel and aesthetic were great and very intriguing. I liked how you constructed a world and a kind of story without needing to use words at any point - everything was explained implicitly with what happened in the environment. The one thing I would add to solve so many little issues (mostly player location and identifying "fake" walls) would be a light that sits behind the player and solid geometry, but in front of "fake" walls and the background. Great game!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Really great game! The music, the graphics, and the subtle details like the minor movements of things really brought things to life, and set up a solid atmosphere that felt expansive, especially for being on one screen. The game was really dark, but hey that is what fullscreen and light switches are for. The darkness seems almost necessary, because the cues for knowing what to do next involved noticing things that were brighter than everything else on screen.

gladers says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Wow! Very nice! :D

rottenmage says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Outstanding! The wonders of exploration and awesome sense of scale are truly captured in this game. This is a real gem!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:44am

Graphics were awesome. The character is a bit too small for my taste, but it was fun exploring the place.

Logun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:04am

I am very frustrated because the game is beautiful, mood great with that cool music, exploration with the hidden place is cool too (And I think the jump is totaly fine) BUT I don't understand what I have to do ! :( I collected dots, I try to inteact with elements, spamming "x" and nothing.the $ shape stone or the sleeping round thing...
Great anyway I enjoyed it :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:31am

I have to admit that it took me quite a while to find my character in the beginning. The game certainly has a good mood to it, with some nice touches such as the splashing water effect.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:05am

nice color combination..

iShadow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:26am

It's just awesome. Love the graphics, music, water splash effect, a bit of mystery and overall mood.

Verz says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:29am

Really good locking art! Also the mood fits great :). Good work!

nokusu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:37am

Really like the look and mood of the game,the graphics and music are top notch, to me there are just 3 minor setbacks :

-the character sprite can be hard to find when you first start the game

-the jumping mechanics are still a little bit touchy

-for some reason i had trouble interacting with the usable objects in the environement

other than that its a cool concept and it fits the theme so well done :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Man, absolutelly awesome entry. I love the chillout music that fits perfectly with the game. Playing this, I reminded games like Metroid, Another World, Flashback. Fantastic. Keep it up the good work!!

Anachron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Wow, this is your first game? Really well done!!!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Impressive game, delivers in all categories. Job well done!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Frustrating gameplay but amazing atmosphere.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Fantastic art, audio and tight controls but having a few hints in games as your exploring would be good, maybe just having a 'marker' where all the hidden collectables are so you know you're trying to find the entrance to certain areas rather than just running around rubbing yourself against all the walls hoping to get lucky :P Aside from that, this is definitely one of my favourite entries so far!

belva1234 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Really really Really, a nice game...I love the mood of this game, the audio and the graphics are also perfect. +1

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice mood due to the graphics and music. It looks awesome. Great job! :)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Amazing job for a first game.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Lovely graphics, well done!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:06pm

This game is pretty outstanding. Being your first game also just blows me away. As others have said, the jumping is a little bit tough, but maybe that's a good thing. I really want to see a full playthrough. I could not find the entrance to the last (I believe) dot on the left side of the center formation. X also appears to do nothing anywhere in the map.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:20am

Wow, this was a fantastic game! It took a little too long to complete, I think, but it was very awesome nonetheless.
The graphics were stellar, and so was the colour choice (mainly because dark grey, white, and blue are my logo, and favourite colours!)

Love it man, I really do!

I too program in GM:S, and I'd love to collab in this to make it so much more! I've been programming in GM for 9 years, and I'd really love to help :)
Once again, love it.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:32am

Really cool! Nice entry

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:55am

Beautiful! Loved the music, nice, atmospheric, I am really impressed. Felt like a prelude to some epic, mysterious story - I would like to see where that could go

Greg says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:24am

A decent overall game, everything fits together.

sensible says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:43am

go "rockrocket" go!!! amazing concept

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:52pm

this was my first ludum dare too, and my first "finished" game, so that makes this even cooler to me. Some jumps felt harder than they needed to be, but in general, it was great!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really great entry especially for your first game. A very neat artstyle combined with a nice ambience. What you could consider was making the player sprite more visible and the level geometry a bit clearer.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:20am

This is a near perfect entry. The mood is through the roof. I love the audio, my only beef with the graphics (which is gorgeous) is that the player sprite is a bit boring. I also like how well designed the game is. Figuring out what to was just the right amount of a challenge. The only time I got a bit stuck was at the very last "puzzle".

vicious_br says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:45am

Erro in dropbox :(

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:15am

Wonderful graphics!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:11pm

look forward to playing this if you release a Mac build

Integershift says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:20am

Really really enjoyed this. This game is amazing it has so much exploration and the music ties everything together the graphics are indescribable they are so good. Really well done with this game A few suggestions maybe consider making something out of this idea as It was probably the best LD game I have played so far also make the character more visible as it was hard to spot at first. Really well done for your first game. I really hope you make something out of this idea.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:25am

I've seen this one streamed several time, so I had to play it. Moody, puzzler. The character is hard to make out because it's so tiny, but there's a lot of game condensed onto one screen. I have no problem recommending this one. The graphics and audio are good and its fun once you sort out what's going on.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:25am

Amazing, I love everything about this

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:49am

the inputs didn't seem to work for me, so I can't speak to the gameplay. That said, the visuals and ambient sound was very impressive!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:51am

I didn't exactly figure out what the point of the game was other than collecting the orb things, but excellent graphics, audio, and mood!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:28am

Amazing job! I really liked the audio loop and moodiness of the piece. The jumping puzzles were fun to explore, but got a bit frustrating when you couldn't figure out where to go and when you were asked to make very difficult jumps in order to traverse through the space. The way the game unfolds without any explicit direction other than the mysterious entities that show you what they want was done extremely well. The jumping was also a little too slippery, and I feel like I could have finished the game quicker if I was able to control myself better. All in all, fantastic game, and I can't wait to see what you do in the next LD!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:27am

Really nailed the mood man! Great look and feel.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:16am

really nicely done.

Florent says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:55am

Seems a little bit to good to be your first game ever. Or you are very talented, well done !

gillenew says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I confess that it was fun to think about what I needed to do to get all the blue balls, great game!

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really like the exploration and the mood you've implemented here. Was really searching on how to find all the water bubbles, but some I have just no ideas on how you get to them lol

anael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Incredible graphics music and mood ! too bad the controls are so frustrating (jumping from asperity to asperity, specially under water). Wonderful art again, congrats !

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:59am

Worthy visual solution. Good job.

thiaguera says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice graphics, except for the character. It took me a long time to see where it was, even moving around. Maybe a little color adjustment would help. Or some big indicator at the start. But overall it's a good game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really loved the exploration and the graphics were amazing. Good work.

csanyk says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:47am

Impressive entry, especially for a first game ever. Keep it up!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:42am

This...is your first game? I'm just gonna quit now. I surrender. You've won. GG

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:42am

Also, please please make the character easier to spot at the beginning. My eyes are not this good!

sikosis says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:00am

Stunning graphics and audio. Loved every minute of it.

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice mood. I failed to jump along a single side.

01101101 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Absolutely gorgeous, perfect mood, but I got stuck after collecting almost all the dots, couldn't find my way into the other caves and couldn't interact in any visible way with the two machines/characters.
That's a shame cause I really wanted to see what was next... Maybe you could record a playthrough and upload it on YouTube or something? :)
Anyway, I'm in love with the art and general mood. Great work.

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:03pm

nice mood. Remind me of cave story.
some areas are a little dark (I had to put my nose on my screen to see there...)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Beautiful music and visuals. The mood is among the best. Brilliant work for a first time!

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:20pm

nice graphics, very good mood

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nailed the mood/graphics. Good job for such a short 72 hrs! I like the light & shadows effects in particular.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:57pm

The graphics and audio combined to give a really nice mood. Good job.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Great entry. I also had some problems finding my avatar at first, but after I understood it I was hooked. Love games where you have to understand you objective as you're playing, the mood and sense of mystery in this game was great!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Is there any particular reason why I can barely see the character I'm playing with?

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I would recommend not listing the "X" key as a control until players unlock the ability to use it and lessening the difficulty of the jumps in the upper left, in a low-information game like this frusterating your players *to* much is a big no-no.
that said, I am glad I stuck through it.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Wow, excellent graphics and music! The tough jumps in the compo version were pretty frustrating at times. That blue dot in the left side of the hill was *right there* and I was jumping at it like a fool until suddenly I managed to hit the right pixel ;).

I spent a heck of a lot of time rub-hopping against every wall I could think of to find the last S canister, but no such luck.

Well done! Excellent atmosphere, and an effort you should be proud of, regardless of it being your _first_game_ever_!

Lythom says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Very nice first entry ! Mood is excellent and supported by great graphics.

Tips to improve : I didn't go through the whole game thought because of the lack of feedback that is discouraging (how much collectable left to find ? Where are the hidden one ? Are the hidden one required to unlock what's next ? is there something else next ? What are the $ elements ?). I didn't find out all of that, this kind feedback is missing in the game.

Thanks for the game !

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I was playing in the not post jam version.
It was hard to figure where is the main hero at the begin. I stuck in the hole and couldn't jump out.
The best part are style, graphics and audio, this is top notch.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Really lovely music and graphics! The some of the platforms are awkwardly placed but it looks like the post jam version fixed a lot of that. Really enjoyed that!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Really great atmosphere with the gritty visuals and stark synths. Really enjoyed it ^_^

Dokthar says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nice entry, great mood and graphics.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Nice game, it's not quite evident to know what to do, especialy the last one before end, no indication anywhere... I look for something 5mn before I found by luck.
Good job anyway. ;)

erik says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:35am

OS X build isn't working for me on 10.9 unfortunately.

_ReadFile : /Users/erik/Library/Application Support/com.backterria.rockrocket/game.ios : No such file or directory

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:53am

I like the art a lot!

cmdr says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Phenomenal game jam game! I was really entranced by the music and how cleanly presented a fun and mystifying experience. This is the best entry I've found for LD 31 :)

Vandash says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:18am

Just amazing, really.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very nice! ;)

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

The mood, the exploration with the theme and the audio were exellent !! Nice Entry !

rojo says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:47am

Really nice looking game! Between the graphics and the audio there was some nice mood as well. Some of the jumps were pretty difficult, but not unfair. I wish the character stood out more - I had a hard time figuring out where I was or what I was controlling initially.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nice game! amazing atmosphere, one of the best of this Ludum Dare!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:13am

Loved the visuals and the audio. it was fun i didn't get too far. loved the game play overall 5/5 stars Great job man loved it. check ours out, it is really hard make sure you read how to play ahaha i have no text prompts :p.

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Very moody and peaceful though platforming is a bit hard. I like your game, keep going!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Really beautiful game! I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Dunric says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice!

stasss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Fantastic artwork, but gameplay a little confusing at the beginning

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Loved this! Some parts were quite tricky to platform to, but overall - great game.

rxi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Just lovely

freaknarf says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:06am

Super smooth and original graphics, good level design, ambiant music is relaxative and fits perfectly.Very good job ! Cheers!

DARKCORTEX says ...
Jan 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

so nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]