Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The escape is a lie?

by Strandypants - Jam Entry

The life on the factory was starting to be big a bolt in the crankshaft for you. One day you decided to sneak away and run towards freedom. Just follow the signs, get through the course as fast as possible, and maybe, just maybe, will you finally be able to breathe the all the fresh toxics the humans do. Good Luck!

Controlls are show on one of the screens to the right at the start of the game, if you cant see them it's:

Shift - Slide
Arrow Keys - Movement
Space - Jump
R- Restarts the game
Escape - Quits the game

Use your skills, wall jump and whatever you need to do to reach the end.
As I encountered some coding issues at the end, I was not able to put in a the kind of finish that I had planned, so as of now, this is a speedrunner.

Feel free to post your times in the comments to challenge other players.

Wall of fame:
ShellFish - 31:00:00
PsychoNull - 36:00:00
Robber - 43:43:42
Junuxx - 56:00:00
MrBadIvan - 35:80:00




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#320Graphics(Jam)3.65
#434Fun(Jam)3.14
#448Overall(Jam)3.26
#504Mood(Jam)3.03
#567Humor(Jam)2.46
#570Theme(Jam)3.49
#894Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

Both "Web" and "Windows" link to the same thing, are you sure you didn't link web to the wrong thing?

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Awesome graphics!

Strandypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Oh, thanks for noticing, there should only be a windows download for the game. I blame the sleep deprivation:D

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Awesome graphics, the mechanics work really nice and the theme fits very well :)

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice! What's a good time? I finished in 56 secs.

One thing that was weird is that you can jump up straight walls. I thought you had to jump from wall to wall, but up a single wall turned out to work too. Other than that, good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice game dude!!!

Strandypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys, love it!:D Yes, you can currently spam your way up a straight wall, but it goes a lot faster if you dont. The fastest run I've heard thus far is 20.23 secs.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Nice start.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Cool stuff. Graphics were quite nicely done, and the controls generally felt tight. Maybe could have done with checkpoints so you don't have to go right back if you mess up, but the game isn't too hard anyway so its not that big of a deal. Nice job!

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:21pm

yeah..funky little platformer! i made it in 43:43:42 must be an epic score..nice work! smooth sounds

becker929 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

This platformer has quite a bit of polish on it, particularly in the art and music. The wall jumping works really well too.

Dying was a bit problematic because there was no instant way of knowing that you'd died sonically or visually, and you were able to move around for a bit before the screen was reset. I also didn't think I should have died touching the side of the mallet/presser thing on the upper level. If you'd had time to do some kind of end-of-game animation that would have been nice, but I understand because I didn't have a game over screen either, haha.

Overall great job! I really liked the music.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Ha, I made it! 31 seconds or so. Nice game, glad it's not too hard. The wall jumping could need a bit of polishing, but that's really the only complaint I have. Very nice graphics, I really like all the movement in the level. Good work!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Looks nice I liked it :D

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Excellent graphics and nice controls.

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I tried a lot .. 36 seconds! haha I suck :P.
Cool game, I was expecting horizontal platforms to carry me on while moving, that felt weird. cool graphics and audio. GG

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:38pm

So frustrating! Kept dying to nothing! Cool ambience though!

Strandypants says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Please tell me where you experienced the dying to nothing part, I have not seen or heard about that before.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I like the music and graphics :D

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Very good mood and interesting game=)
My time is - 35:80.00

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:36am

funny game, very simple, like the visuals and the music, well done

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]