Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Digger

by lexi - Jam Entry

You are a digger, that found his way into an abandoned gold mine.
It is rumoured, that many miners have lost their minds and lives in this haunted mine in search for gold.



We developed this game entirely from scratch with HTML5 and JavaScript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#576Mood(Jam)2.94
#617Theme(Jam)3.42
#632Fun(Jam)2.88
#691Humor(Jam)2.22
#731Innovation(Jam)2.69
#752Overall(Jam)2.91
#832Graphics(Jam)2.52

Comments

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

There doesn't seem to be a lot of strategy to this game. I feel as though my decisions didn't matter. I think that the game could be made into something quite fun with a good amount of work. The mood of the game was pretty nice. There is a bit of a claustrophobic vibe, which is pretty great.

indigofiz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

It's a nice game. Maybe some music will help in bringing the mood out though :D

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

I really enjoy how easy this game is to understand. Within a few moments, I was able to easily understand what implications my actions had made, and was able to pick up the pace of my play quickly. Overall, it was a fun, tense experience, though the lack of sound effects left it lacking just a bit. Not a lot of humor, but I really don't think that held it back at all from being an enjoyable game.

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice tense game play, ghosts were pretty scary!

funkysquid says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:31am

Nice!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

Very fun game!
Add in some power-ups and it could be killer.
Maybe put easier enemies near your starting point? Those ghosts are quite persistent...

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

Pretty tough, but I definitely started to pick up some idea of how to properly avoid the ghosts. I love when you run into a ghost while digging - it's very much a "well this is awkward" moment as you sort out what to do next. xD

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

Neat concept! I seem to be really bad at avoiding the ghosts once I've encountered them.

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28am

The ghosts are kind of overpowered, every time I find one I die. I could not figure out how to avoid them

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Decent game. I wasn't getting sound- would be cool with some creepy music in the background. I always like the fog of war type effect. Some refinement to the graphics would have raised my rating there a bit.

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:08am

The game is pretty simple, some sounds would be helpful for better feedback. Anyway, I liked it.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I liked this. It's like one slice of Minecraft, purified.

pht59x says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:15pm

The game had some speed issue on my computer (to slow to move around). A music background would have been nice. With somme polishing, this could be a fun game, although not very original.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Simple but fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]