Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Beta Bank - A Paragon Pawns Production

by DiegoHenriquez - Jam Entry

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The playable build at the top of our page is the latest
version of the project, and the web link is our
submission version.

All versions are available for
download on both Windows and Mac!
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++++++
OVERVIEW
+++++++++

Hugh Higgins is a professional hacker, renowned throughout the world for infiltrating the most elaborate and sophisticated security systems. His recent operations, however, haven’t been too fruitful; a preservation protocol—the Safeguard Sun—has been disrupting his work. Having ascertained its location within a bank’s hosted beta, Hugh has decided to set out and terminate it.

Dive onto the information highway as Hugh’s robotic avatar, juggle between volume and visibility settings to avoid detection, and obtain the Safeguard Sun spiralling at the road’s end. Do you have what it takes to get the job done?


+++++++++
CONTROLS
+++++++++

W: Move Forward
A: Move Leftward
S: Move Backward
D: Move Rightward

Duck: performed automatically when Hugh’s avatar is idle.

Move the mouse over to the options panel at the top left of the screen for visibility and volume management.

Low Brightness: the highway becomes invisible, but enemy spotlights are visible.
Medium Brightness: moving platforms become visible, but enemy spotlights and stationary platforms are invisible.
High Brightness: the stationary platforms become visible, but enemy spotlights and moving platforms are invisible.

Muted Volume: Strategy Spheres will not approach you, but you can’t hear the System Stream.
Low Volume: Strategy Spheres will approach you slowly, and you can hear the System Stream faintly.
High Volume: Strategy Spheres will approach you, but you can hear the System Stream.


+++++++++
ENEMIES
+++++++++

System Stream
A massive humming beam that vaporizes Hugh’s avatar on contact. When it sounds loud and close, duck!

Strategy Sphere
Small orbs that hover to the left and right of Hugh’s avatar. When the volume is muted, they return to their default positions and leave Hugh alone. When the volume is high, however, they can hear his avatar and start closing in to eliminate it.

Security Spotlight
A light projector that moves in a methodical pattern. Hugh’s session ends if its light makes contact with his avatar—whether he can see it or not!


+++++++++
TEAM
+++++++++

Ryan Schmidt (@SchmidtSource) – Audio & Level Designer
Diego Henriquez (@DiegoNachoKing) – Programmer
William Lewis (@Fusion_W) – Modeler & Animator
Maria Diment – Texture & Concept Artist


+++++++++
ASSETS
+++++++++

SFXs – Various
Font – Renegade (Pixel Sagas, dafont.com)
Music – Modified "Moss" by Arastoo (freemusicarchive.org)

Original Composition
http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Arastoo/Warmth_In_Digital/03_Mossmp3


+++++++++
TOOLS
+++++++++

ZBrush
Unity 4.3
3ds Max 2015
Adobe Audition CC 2014
Adobe Photoshop CC 2014


+++++++++
SUBMISSION
+++++++++

In the submission build, the player isn't affected by moving platforms, so you need to manually keep up with them to maintain your footing. The camera tilts and rotates a bit the farther you go, too. Moreover, the moving platforms vanish when the brightness is set to anything other than medium brightness, so you'll need to step off of them before changing the brightness if you play the submission build.

We also didn't have time to implement a few of our animations and textures: defeated, falling and spotted animations for Hugh's avatar were not included, nor were the textures for the platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#365Innovation(Jam)3.25
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#521Graphics(Jam)3.23
#709Overall(Jam)2.98
#846Fun(Jam)2.56
#957Theme(Jam)2.60

Comments

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Love the art. Nice job.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very good idea, but there is no visual alarm when he ducks and with that camera its really hard to understand when the bar is coming, overall I like the idea.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Thanks, Alendro. Our team put a lot of effort into the art. If you happen to revisit the project later, we'll hopefully have our ground textures ready to show off.

We also agree with you, d3garcia. If we had more time, we would have tried to fix the way ducking worked to make it visually clearer.

We appreciate the feedback, guys!

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Very interesting concept - it took me a while to understand what was going on but I enjoyed the play between the game and the option on the side.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Much appreciated, madcapacity: we're glad you enjoyed it. There's definitely a lot to process before you can start a session, and juggling it all after the fact is still quite a challenge!

someone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Cool concept. A bit unforgiving though.
Would be nice to have key controls for the settings to make it faster to switch between them.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very innovative mechanics, and really nice assets! However, the settings were a bit too much for me to manage. Perhaps two levels of brightness and volume each would have been better. Well, that's just me. =D

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:55am

I like the different mechanics you add, but there was maybe too much at the same time. Something more increasing would have been better, with checkpoints.
From the theme, I don't understand how it relates, except that every screens are on one screen.
Arts were great.
Sad there was no music, mood could have better with it.
Still a nice game to play.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:55am

You can check my playthrough here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWk1GYBxqrE&index=6&list=PLmCAIfF6iKQWX1RhyAaKCdmk_61etZJ_9

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:34pm

awesome idea and graphics :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I am considering implementing checkpoints, although I'm still curious if anyone can beat it without using them!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very complicated description, but the time was definietly worth it :)

vidarn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Wow, this was interesting. I love the unique mechanics. Very challenging but one you got hang of it (and learned the layout of the level somewhat) things got easier.
I would have prefered to have a life bar, instead of immediately respawning as soon as you made an error.
Oh, great graphics by the way :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

fun but incredibly hard. excellent graphics

Dokthar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I just love it, Good job ^^

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Normal brightness makes it impossible, I can't see the maze. I also have no clue when the bar is coming and sometimes I'd just randomly die...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:22pm

@BtheDestroyer not able to see the maze on normal brightness is part of the mechanic. As for the bar you can hear it clearly on high volume and difficult to hear at medium at medium volume. :D i am planing to implement some ques to remind people to use the sound volume to hear the blue beam.

MonoS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:07pm

The game is interesting, but is really to difficult and there is to much on the screen.
Maybe a bit more of polishing and it can became a really good game

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:50pm

nice visual...

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Surprisingly complex, would really benefit from in-game tutorial/prompts, otherwise original idea and good execution.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:56pm

great visuals, well done

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I just falling down from the platform, and everything crashed.
But anyway I like this game. Charackter is great!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:50am

Intriguing idea! I've seen a few of these game where you can only see one type of danger at a time. I always seem to struggle really badly with them for some reason! This one has some nice features, including good graphics, nice ambient sound, and an extremely fast retry loop that doesn't make failure break your heart.

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Goodness this is hard, some great ideas though- integrating the menu system as an the actual game mechanic has a lot of potential. The mood is well fostered too; I'm constantly on edge.

gameattack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

It is probably too complex for me. It looks nice and it has a good mood but half of the time, I don't understand why I die.

StejkRobot says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:27am

its was ok. there wasnt much explanation to how the game worked though and i dont know if it really stayed true to the theme. But the art was nice!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I love the art! the gameplay is really fun! Well done!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

Whole game on one screen -- including options, which are also game. Nice.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

)))))

rojo says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

It's a really interesting concept - definitely feels innovative! I think it's a bit too tough at the moment, though. If you had three sensory modes total instead of six I think it would tighten things up a lot. I'm also not sure if I'm seeing a strong relation to the theme, but maybe that's just me. The audio fit really well and added some nice ambience, though! Also, in the future it would probably be better to embed the version you submitted until voting ends to avoid confusion - a lot of people don't pay much attention to the game description.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

It's fun and innovative, but a bit too hard !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]