Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Questionable Snowmen

by nine baobabs - Compo Entry

Simple game about knocking hats off snowmen.

Mostly an excuse to practice some win platform stuff, feedback very welcome though. My first game in C / C++.

Long-winded afterthoughts here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/08/immediate-afterthoughts/


Update 1:

To be fair you might want to rate based on the deadline release, even though not much has changed. I'd much rather hear your thoughts on the latest version than get any rating at all though!

Let me know your impressions: what did you like, what didn't you like, what was confusing or frustrating, when did you stop playing and what did you feel like then? Etc! Having playtesters is beautiful. You're gorgeous people, gorgeous.

Any ideas for simple changes that would make a big difference? (Maybe tips or tricks I could use next time around!?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Humor3.15
#404Theme3.71
#706Graphics2.84
#866Mood2.57
#866Innovation2.67
#890Fun2.71
#975Overall2.76
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

devshawn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Pretty fun. A lot like my game even :)

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

Liked the game, seemed kind of hard. So many snowmen and it takes so much to take them down. Maybe make it take less hits? Good job though

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Thanks for your thoughts! ^^

A tip for killing snowmen, aim for the hat. Though, it will still take a few hits to knock it off their head.

Unfortunately, there is no winning, just surviving longer, to no ends. ;)

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18am

Wow directly on windows.h! Not even SDL, SFML or similar! Not even classes!1! :P

But it works perfectly! Absolutely nothing to say!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Controls pretty well, fun to move around and kite the snowmen. Wish it was took less shots to knock their hats off.

Hammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Liking the way the drop down as you take each part out, and how you can try to aim for the hat to go for them in one but end up missing and knocking back a lower part setting you back again.

Meral says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

This has nice little details built into it. Like the snowman "dancing" when you die (?) and that they will leap for you once they get closer.

I think this is the first time I had to run away from snowmen. Do the freeze you to death and then party all night long? What has this poor fella done to deserve this? :P

At first I though there are just too many coming on too fast, but the spawn rate drops after a certain amount was reached. If you aim for the hat you can take them out quite nicely. It still takes one or two hits too many, I'd say.

With some nifty sound I think I could play this for some time...

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Haha, thanks Meral. Since you asked, the full story is the snowpeople high council of snowperson land convened and officially declared you (the player) friend to all snowpeople everywhere. They sent a welcome committee, but something got lost in the human-snowperson communication and this game is what ensues. (They were initially supposed to wrap you in a bear hug when getting too close, but jumping was easier ^-^).

Thanks for the feedback all, much appreciated!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56pm

THEY JUST KEEP COMING! Haha, very cool. The controls were easy to pick up and it was pretty satisfying to fight so many enemies at a time, if not challenging.

Also couldn't agree more with Fonserbc, doing this game in pure windows apis? Nice. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

The bullets definitely needs some more power because it's pretty hard to actually knock the hats off the snowmen and the lack of sound sort of ruins it but it's a very solid entry.

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31am

Discovered a bug with the snowball power, it was framerate dependent! So the faster your computer, the less effect your snowballs had -_-.

I tweaked the difficulty a little:
-hat is now one-hit kill (unless it's askew towards you)
-first snowman always spawns to the right
-should now take two direct hits to knock off a snowman piece (unless unfavorably askewed)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:21am

Pretty cool, simplistic as it is. You can sort of cheat the system by just being near the top and shooting the hat straight on.

Johnro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:53am

*BOOM!* Hatshot.

This game was a lot of fun! I liked the "Magical Frosty the Snowman" hat mechanic, and I have to say, it was a terrifying moment when I realized that a snowman's head, without the body, will still come after you.
I liked the graphics for the most part, but I do have one gripe: the bullet's shadow, for the first few moments of the game, looked like a second bullet. I kept trying to shoot the hat with that instead of the real bullet.
Also, the game slowed down a bit once there were thirty or so dead snowmen on screen, but that's a fairly minor problem.
All in all, really solid, fun game!

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:55am

Sound would've improved it a lot.

After figuring out the strategy for killing the hats the game became quite easy.
In the v1 version, I stopped after 116 kills since it didn't seem to get any harder.

Well done for making it run in that small of a .exe

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Thank you for the comments, very appreciated!!

srakowski says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Wow that is hard! I like how the snowman's head will continue on after it's body has been taken out. That was a nice effect. I like the style of the graphics. There were very few times that hitting the snowman's hat 2 times actually killed him. I think some audio would have been nice to have, maybe some quick sounds from sfxr. I think it really would add to the game :). Well done for learning C at the same time.

Also thank you for the kind words on my game. I am sure there are others out there like and better than mine. I think I am going to flesh out the idea a bit and try to turn it into a full game.

I also really like the title you put on the window, well done!

Warboys says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:39am

Simple but fun. I found it a little easy I suppose, as you could herd the snowmen together and endlessly run around them. As it takes so long to kill them, I found myself just suiciding because I got a little tired of kiting

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Neat, and very addictive! The game really lives up to its name, as the intentions of the hatted snowmen were quite ambiguous.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]