Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

-CHAMBER-

by ben_pxlplz - Compo Entry

A silly little physics game. You control a character who can push blocks around the world and match up colors. Try not to get hit by the falling blocks or fall on the spikes. Not to be taken too seriously :).

I put together a quick postmortem at:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/08/chamber-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#257Innovation3.57
#389Humor2.74
#587Overall3.17
#592Theme3.58
#598Fun3.05
#618Audio2.59
#718Graphics2.82
#814Mood2.63

Comments

shrapx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:38am

this put a smile on my face as soon as i saw the gif, its quite hard, and pleasing when i find matches that i can push into place

Elrobo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Cool concept. Took me an embarrassing amount of time to realize I had to wait for the blocks to get to my side. Probably tried jumping that gap a good half dozen times. Could probably get rid of the middle safe zone and just start the blocks from the left.

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very nice little game. I enjoyed it for a few minutes, avoiding the block is kinda hard :)! My high score is 17 :p

I really like the art style, did you use some kind of filter to make the gfx looks "blurry" yet precise at the same time?

demtool5 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

really fun and hard! :/

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

Love it! Can't get far though, I keep getting hit in the head :D

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Crazy hard, but a cool idea.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

I love the colors here

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Took me a little while to get the grisp of it but I had a good laugh playing it with my wife. She hated the falling tetris blocks :) Great job :)

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

Very innovative. At this point, the real gameplay elements haven't really emerged yet. But I think this could be a really interesting puzzle / action game if given more time.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Clever gameplay hook. Not too deep, but entertaining and has a nice amount of polish. Good job!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Interesting concept!

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55am

Simple graphic and gameplay! I like this! Thanks!)

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Good concept, and nice game. A bit hard but i think it's because i'm bad ><

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46am

Simple yet interesting! Looks complete. Very well designed overall :)

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23am

Haha I love it, this is so random :D

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50am

Really fun and challenging, great idea.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Cool idea but i think somewhat flawed. When you make a match the block disappears so you fall to the spikes. I couldn't figure out how to not die! Certainly has promise though.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Tetris platformer ? Hell yeah ! It's a bit too hard for me but great concept & game !

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very interesting! I like it!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Fun to play, but confusing at the beginning.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I liked the idea and was very fun. But the sensitivity of the character control is strange and could permiter control with wasd.

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice little game.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

LOVE VISUAL STYLE !:) also check my project mate.. if you like tower defense weird games x)

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I like your concept :). The game is quite hard though, and I feel like the characters contribution is small (the blocks often match by coincidence if you do nothing).

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice game! reminds me VVVVVV, i like the 8-bit art style. Best score: 19

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

oh no! I can not stop playing o_o

dorkster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Difficult, but great concept.

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Haha laughed my ass off trying to stay on the platforms when they lined up in color.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Controls are a bit unwieldy, but it's fun and unique overall!

KK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I always jump and got hit by those brick

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

my best 17/17 :(

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

It looks so easy, but it's so hard! D:>
Really cool concept. Well executed. Awesome.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This is pretty fun. It's almost got me hooked. And i think with a few alterations I would really like it.

I found waiting for blocks to reach me before I could start annoying. It took too long and as I was dying so often I felt like half the time playing was just waiting.

I think it would be good if I could pick up the blocks and carry them above my head and throw them. At the moment it just seemed like luck when I got one.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This was really fun! Gonna play some more :)

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Really fun :)

unnamed1334 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53pm

The randomness gets annoying at some points. Other then that I had fun playing it. I got a highscore of 27.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55pm

If anyone is interested, I put together a quick postmortem: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/08/chamber-postmortem/

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great idea, I think you could make the game even better by removing some of the what to me appeared as randomness.

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

I really like this idea! In practice, it's a bit too random; I think I maybe got two intentional matches out of the few minutes I played. Most games I started, I got crushed by the block over the left safe zone because the blocks on the spikes matched. It's also really hard to push the blocks around; maybe the game could have used a pick-up/carry mechanic?

This idea could really go somewhere! Just needs a bit more to it.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

It's very hard (or I suck)! With more animation & polishing, this could be a VERY solid game :) It's an awesome entry, though :)

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Very fun and difficult, and a nice graphics style too. I don't like the way you have to wait at the start for the blocks to sweep across; I think it would be better to have the blocks come from random positions.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great game, I love the interesting mix of precision platforming and problem solving. The graphics and sound are great as well. Simple, put the whole package comes together well.

The only thing I would improve would be to make the controls a bit more tight, less floaty.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice and simple game. Very funny and polished.

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Took me a little while to understand the mechanic but after that it was quite addictive. Weirdest tetris clone I've ever seen :)

randomdragoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I think it would have been nice if the game starts off with a row of blocks already fallen down, because you can't really start taking actions until that point anyway.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Neat concept!

Found it kinda hard to push any blocks up to match, spent most of the time dodging those falling blocks!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06am

Hard to play, but still fun and good looking. Good job. ;)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

30!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

Interesting! You've actually gotten something that's playable and is fun, heh. The graphics and sound are great; the only issue I have is that the game is pretty unforgiving...You really have to keep on your toes and make sure to jump through every time the blocks "come around" to where you are. Good work, though!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28am

I had a lot of fun playing this game, even though it was relatively simple! Good job!

I think the change I would most want to see would be some animation for the character. It's not too hard to do!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

I think I'm going to polish this up and call it 'Pit and the Puzzle Blocks'.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

A silly little physics game, couldn't be described better.
and I meant this in a good way.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

But that's great, one of the most engaging game I've played so far. I love that rythmic block dropping that makes it easy to anticipate, there's a survival feeling, sometimes you are in helpless situation, you take your chance and make one big jump. Very cool stuff. Could be easier though, I don't know how...

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:35pm

5* for Innovation. Hard to master, but after a while you take the control of the game.
Well made!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:34am

I had similar issues to GreenyUK. While I'm not too great at platforming, I was having a tough time trying to figure out how to not die. :(

I managed to get a high score of 16, but it was mostly due to sheer random chance in terms of the falling blocks, and I felt like I really did nothing to earn that score.

The art is well done, and the idea of pushing blocks around and matching them and avoiding falling blocks is alright -- there's just too much death potential. Maybe if there weren't any spikes on the floor?

scnoobi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:41am

the moving when not having to push anything didn't always work. felt quite floaty when playing. no way to move blocks by pushing them down with your weight.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice little idea. It's quite challenging, I like it. ;)

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Really cool idea and a lot of fun! A litle more polished and better, sharpher controls you really got a fun game here : )

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

It was okay, but I didn't really feel I had control of what was happening. Jump, push blocks together, score some points, get hit in the head. Could become something great though :)

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:38am

I somewhat like the concept and for a simple physics game I liked the pixel art and sounds. Just too hard to make it fun for long for me.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:04am

Cool idea and fun to play. Great entry.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:29am

Very cool concept. I think it's a little to hard at first. I think maybe if it was more of a vertical screen view that would help to see whats coming?

stasss says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very nice) Interesting gameplay, but maybe if brics wont hurt will be easier to play

Trite Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice concept. It's just too hard to actually push the blocks together without dying and the platforms are too far away from each other. Has potential though :)

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice game. Really liked it..

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:01pm

nice game, got 24 after I got the puzzle mechanic

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Lack of good instructions took me a while to figure out the basics(and don't know if there was more advanced never lived long enough)

mattstones says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Love the sounds! Wasn't quite sure how to play it though!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Interesting idea!

I thought the puzzle mechanic was simple and clear, and it was presented cleanly--it didn't take me much time to figure out what was going on.

With the speed of the movement combined with the ever-changing landscape, I think it would have been nice to have had an indicator to tell me where the next block would fall to give me a little bit more time to react.

Either that or googley eyes. Googley eyes would really take it to the next level.

Havi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Very cool and fun game! Also nice concept.
It was quite hard in the start but when I got the grip of it I really enjoyed it! :D

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Nice game overall. I would make the cubes starts poping on the same side of the player. This way we don't have to wait one turn to start playing.

garygreen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I really liked this. It was simple and a nice twist on Tetris. It was very tricky though.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Good idea. A bit too annoying because you die too easily.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Interesing idea. Mixing some of my favourite games on one piece of cake. Like it. Congrats :)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very cool, very well made, fun to play too. My only suggestion would be,if you decide to continue development, add some new game play features like an enemy maybe.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice tetris game, with innovative game play. Well done! :)

Shampop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Funny idea ! I think this is just a little too hard. It's hard to combine pieces, and basicly this is more juste random than anything. But it's still fun !

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:55am

Silly but great! Dynamic levels can be very rewarding, and the physics makes it quite a bit of fun! Adding some other guys to the level could be good, maybe some random hoppers or flying bats or somesuch. Anyways, nice job, really liked it!

pht59x says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:11pm

A platformer with tetris blocks. Why not? Love the sound effects.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Fun little game enjoyed it a lot actually still trying to figure out how I actually collected the score other than that it was a very solid entry.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Ok, when you are anticipating your next jum, and the blocks disappear because they match, and you've already jumped.... ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
Good game. Quite hard. I see many rage-quits in this game's future.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:17am

Very innovative! Nice game

Saf says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:00am

The idea is really good, but the game lacks agency.. i often feel i did not have have a fair chance before dying

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:06am

Nice idea. It's pretty fun/funny to be rushing around inside (sort of) tetris and it's harder than it looks.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This was pretty hard. It made good use of tetris blocks, and the platform mechanic, and it kept me coming back a few times. Perhaps add difficulty settings, because although it was good, it was also frustrating.

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Very interesting idea and decent execution! ps. when you comment on a game you could leave a slightly more detailed explanation on why you couldn't get the game to run. It would be more helpful. Just a heads up bro!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Wow, that was hard and unexpectedly fun! Thanks!

Gins says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

That was cool, but the difficulty is quite high :) would be cool if the blocks fell slower in the beginning so you can get used to it.
I can see a lot of potential in this, giving the character additional powers to manipulate blocks or protection etc.

Insality says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

nice concept, cool game as result ;]
gj!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Interesting ++

el-pepi says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Pretty fun and hard! I liked it!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice idea, definitely something that could be built on. Controls are a bit hit and miss, and its a bit difficult to get very far, but lots of potential here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]