Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Character

by Zi - Jam Entry

==== [DESCRIPTION] ==============================

You are a file on a computer desktop which has suddenly been given life. A mysterious notification appears...

This is a short adventure. There was a lot more I wanted to do, but the time constraint and a bunch of Unity bugs made it impossible. Lesson learned.

==== [CONTROLS] ================================

WASD (or arrow keys) to move.
Left click (or Z) to... well, click. :D
You need to double-click to interact with certain things.

==== [TIP] =====================================

Try to inspect everything, because you may miss something if you're not careful. :D

==== [KNOWN ISSUES] =============================

I am so sorry if you experience difficulty clicking on things. It appears to be related to frame rate, and I did not know this since I only tested on my own machine. =( Thanks for your patience!

Web players, press Escape if you want control of your mouse back. Don't worry if you don't see it, it's still there, just invisible when over the game area.

==== [POST-JAM FIXES] =============================

I made a couple of "typo" bug fixes (according to the rules) within a couple hours after the jam:

1) Changed Web player resolution to match the standalone and removed context menu.
2) Fixed a checkbox triggering a sound it shouldn't have.
3) Fixed music not looping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.57
Mood(Jam)4.34
Fun(Jam)4.38
Coolness91%
Theme(Jam)4.82
#6Innovation(Jam)4.55
#10Humor(Jam)4.28
#31Graphics(Jam)4.53

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

I always thought cookies are good, but this game made me reconsider :D Game is beautifull, it really gives you feeling you are in you computer. Congrats!

CoolChesire says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

I love the graphics, you should finish this!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

I'm getting an error on the Linux build link.

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

Easily one of my favorites out of the 40+ I've judged this evening. I'd love to see this expanded out into a full game. The polish already on display is superb. :)

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02am

Thanks, guys! =) ViliX64, the link, or the build? I will re-upload just in case.

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29am

Oh, it could be because I was using Dropbox. It is now hosted on a private site. Hopefully that will fix it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This game was very well made. I also found it quite humorous. It's a shame that it wasn't longer, but for the amount of time that you had, I'm impressed with how much content there is.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:58am

What can I say? <3 <3 <3

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

Funny, I really loved the survey! The graphics were good, especially the filter over the entire screen. When I first saw the screenshots, I thought you might've taken a picture of your monitor with a camera! I'd love to see a longer version of this.

Zayron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:15am

I had problems clicking folders and files. I would have to click 4-5 times for them to open. Other than that this was fun! :)

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

I apologize for the clicking problems, Zayron. I did not know this to be an issue until now. It appears to be related to frame rate and collision detection. =( The faster your computer, the easier time you will have.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:20am

Amazing! You should make this a full game. It's awesome!

theomg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:29am

Amazing game, everythig is awesome, the gameplay is fluid, the art and sound are great, really well done. Congratulations.

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:31am

Fantastic game. Tight mechanics, cool idea, and well implemented. Would love to see this as a released game.

Troilk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

Awesome, the best game I've judged so far! I hope to see this as a full game in the near future :)

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52am

Not sure what to say. this game really blew my mind by its simplicity... yet it was really clever (and good!).
You sir (mam?) get some five stars :)

Ozcr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

Really cool idea, really fun game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Fun all the way through! Clever game.

Skipi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

This is really good. I love a lot of the small details you put in there, like the clock.

I would pay for a full version of this game.

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

Hope you finish this game at some point! Love it so far!

Sayuri Tagata says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:15am

I just have to save it on my favourite pages... IT'S SO WONDERFUL AND SMART!The art is perfect and I love the way you made the character's lives XD

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:36am

Wow, great polish!

flatgub says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:58am

That.
Was.
Awesome.
10/10 would love to see it expanded

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25am

Best jam entry I have seen yet. This game was top notch in every fashion. This game had me laughing and the controls felt very tight. Well done!!

Trenaldi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:36am

Music is great, game is cute. Controls nicely. Fun. All the hearts.

-Your Secret Admirer

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:40am

Awesome game - want to play it MOAR :D

Rahazan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45am

Amazing graphics, I love the particles and small details.

4.5/5 (on average)

Crefossus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45am

Take all my stars. Everything was really well done and incredibly original, with great writing, particle/screen effects and was fun to explore. The refill of the hearts was genius.

The double click (getting started) and ending could be missed without a little guidance. I get that's part of the humor, but I was tricked out of it.

merzlot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:04am

There is an exit at the final screen! :D http://imgur.com/cbRRZw0
Great game, btw :)

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:21am

HOW ON EARTH DID YOU- .... I DON'T EVEN- .... HACKS! WALLHACKS!

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23am

Never mind. Just found a hole in the wall colliders. -_- I still don't know how you got past the FIRE though. >.> I'm watching you...

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:41am

Really fun, really interesting game, with unique approach to the theme. Liked it a great deal. Great job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49am

This was one of the best LD games I've played thus far.

This was a perfect score for me. The art and music was adorable, I laughed out loud several times, the gameplay was simple and enjoyable. The only problem I had with it is that it ended too soon! :c

Thank you so much for making this! :D

Zayron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:01pm

@Zi. I was on my slower laptop at the time when I played your game. So that makes sense. :)

realbogart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Cool game! :D

Rupert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33pm

The best one I have tried so far. Looks great and plays great. Only thing I think could be better is if you could aim with the arrowkeys instead of the mouse, but thats just my preference.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for the feedback, Rupert! If I ever complete this game, I will be sure to add multiple control options. =)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:58am

Nothing like beating the 1s and 0s out of cookies, eh? This was extremely clever, and I'd love to play more if you expand on this!

jackrugile says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:57am

This game gets a perfect score from me. That game just brought me so much happiness, thank you. I'd love to play an extended version of this. Gosh, incredibly well done!

Boberro says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:04am

<3<3<3

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:26am

Amazing game. Top theme contender for me. You nailed every category. Congratz!

McNick says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:30am

I absolutely loved playing this! It's adorable! And very well made! Great job, honestly one of the most fun games I've seen yet!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Awesome game! You managed to create a fun and engaging little experience with so few elements - very nice graphics and music. Congratulations!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Wow, awesome idea

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really a great game :) Like Animator vs. Animation ^^

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:14pm

excellent, love it, very creative, artwork, sound, controls, brilliant, 5 stars :)

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Amazing, very creative! Nice graphics and sound!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Another member of Grindstone commenting - so great! Love the concept, would love to keep playing! I died with only one Quickie left :(. Great work!

ps. our game:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44088

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I love your game. The idea and presentation are very original, the character sprite has 'character' and it all looks so good. Love the cookies/quikies and the readme notes. I want to have more adventures in this computer. 5*

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:04am

Thanks Grindstorm! I already played DisChord. It was amazing! :)

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:11am

That was really cute and fun! I'd love to see it fleshed out into an action... RPG... whatever it is? with a full story, maybe some puzzles or just generally more complicated unlock conditions for files. This thing is a good thing! Make there be more of it!

Graphics look great and consistent, you made really good visual choices. The only thing that felt a bit off to me was the mouse controls; it felt strange to have the mouse button click the pointer-sword-thing but not have the mouse position control the direction of attack. That is literally the only thing approaching a complaint that I have, though.

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:14am

Thanks for the feedback, lycrashampoo! I'll definitely rework the controls to be more intuitive if I ever expand this game. =)

alfadur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:41am

This is just awesome! Everything fits together pretty much perfectly.
Had to play it twice to find the exit from the End window. :)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:51am

Best game I've played so far, I love especially the <EVERYTHING ABOUT THE GAME> !! 5/5

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:34am

Fun game and cute concept, though wish the combat or other mechanics were developed more.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:37am

Outstanding entry! There's been a few games that play with the "one screen" theme like this, but this is probably the best executed of all the ones I've seen. Great graphics and sound, too!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:27am

Great work!

Scam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:22am

Fun! I liked it a lot. I'd also like to see this becoming a full game.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I would love to see and end but for the rest is an excellent game :)

skiddings says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:41pm

That was great!
The thing I would want is more!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Brilliant! Awesome them usage, cool gameplay. I didnt manage to finish it, but I really like it a lot. In the top 10 LD31 entries imo. Congrats.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:07pm

This was totally awesome. Really innovated based on the theme to make something totally unique. This was a lot of fun to play, and you should totally do more on this. The mechanic was really cool.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Yay this is so cool!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:49pm

I would love a longer version because this is just amazing! I liked the humor on the survey :P

even if this game is unfinished (somehow), it felt finished because you said it will end in the game!
also I like that the game has a bit of game play to it, not just exploring.

I really think this game would sell if you make a good version of it. so please let us know if you are planning to.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:57am

One of my favourite entries so far, would love to see a post-LD version of this !

Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:22am

The music, omg its so happy, i really enjoyed playing the game, and i wish you could have done more too :D

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:54am

I loved this game! So many little touches that added to the experience. I just wanted to explore everything. I enjoyed the nods to zelda at the beginning when you pick up the cursor as your attack (pretty clever). The way that you moved around and interacted with this was extremely intuitive since it's all based on normal computer interactions. Every time a window opened up, I was delighted to find what it contained. Even though you didn't get to finish, I still feel like I played a fun game. The combat was a little strange since it felt like I was not taking damage when I should. Not complaining though since that second combat was a little on the difficult side (reminded me of those rooms full of blue knights in zelda tbh). Having the time in the bottom right reflect the real time on my machine was a nice touch. The post effects to add the graininess and slight fish eye distortion looked really really nice, and the overall look of the game was fantastic, especially the animations on the enemies and attack. There's so much potential here and I really hope you continue this project to make it into a complete game! Thanks for creating this and letting the world see it!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Psst - You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r50pc-W4ln8

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Good take on the theme

Vaclav says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I love this game :) I wish you continue it.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Love everything about that game :3

Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice little game.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:05am

Yeah, I'll echo all the comments above about the art, and loose controls.

Fun tip to beat the boss: Run back to home base. It prevents the spawned minions from bothering you too much except the dog. : )

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

Hysterically funny parody of Windows!

Alter says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

The best game ever!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

Hey, this was pretty neat. The incompetech sound sort of spoiled the mood but otherwise it was really cool. I liked that there's a "secret admirer" and that the text files sort of lied to you. It reminds me of a game I made once (but was much less polished than this!)

Cool stuff.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:01am

This was adorable. I also had some problems both with clicking and collision detection, which made the Quikies screen basically unwinnable, but this game was so charming that that didn't mar the experience.

t4u says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

The best game of the jam (equal only to slime quest). Wins on everything. Shame I found it out 16h before end.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Wow, that was adorable and really well made. I pretty much loved everything about the game, except maybe for the end, but just cause I wished it was longer. Amazing job overall!

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Saw this only now that it got second place. IT IS SO AWEEESOME!!! I will love you forever for doing this!
- Daniele

Kuupu says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

AWESOME, this 4th wall breaking of wonderful
sorry I didn't played it during the jam =/

Zi says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Thank you so much everyone! =) I will be making this into a full game in the near future!

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 11:18pm

This is hilarious to most people, but to programmers in general because I'm the escape character XD XD XD

Zi says ...
Dec 31, 2014 @ 8:51am

Gandalf1209, haha, I'm glad someone got that reference. I think for the logo for the final game, I'm going to make it something like:

\E

Chaoseed says ...
Jan 2, 2015 @ 1:12am

Haha, cute! Excellent graphics and animation. The "puzzles" were nice, they kept me intrigued until I got to the end "For real this time". The survey was especially amusing.

Maybe if you expand this game, the hero eventually faces the final boss, the Control Character?

Lane says ...
Jan 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

For real this time?? Don't tell me whats real and whats not!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]