Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Lonely Realm of Tom Thaum, the Space Wizard

by JJEvil - Jam Entry

Gamepad/KB & Mouse supported,
SEE CONTROLS GRAPHIC BELOW.

FORMATS - Windows, Mac, Linux, HTML5

----About the Game----

A funny little 2d defend & build game.

You are Tom. You are a wizard that lives alone on a planetoid deep in space. An unanticipated meteor storm has destroyed your tower, the focus of your power. It threatens to destroy your home world. Can you rebuild and save your tiny planet?

COLLECT the shards of your broken tower.
DEFEND from the onslaught of meteors with your shield spell.
REBUILD the tower to increase your power.
OUTLAST the timer. The storm ends at 0
CONTROL the rotation of the planet with your footsteps. Keep your tower upright.

Tutorial Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11k0oOyDuuQ

Will you save your home or die in space?

----

Two of us made this from scratch in 48 hours using Construct 2 & Spriter.

Pressing keyboard "p" or gamepad "start" to pause the game and display the controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Innovation(Jam)3.60
#305Audio(Jam)3.20
#366Humor(Jam)2.85
#416Fun(Jam)3.17
#430Mood(Jam)3.14
#432Theme(Jam)3.62
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#584Graphics(Jam)3.10

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07am

great work, highest score 844, took a short while to get used to at first, but stick with it, its a neat little game!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice and weird. Unfortunately I had a bit of trouble with the controls. Cool concept though.

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

It's kinda hard, but I like it. The music is good. Nice game!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

You can pause the game (Keyboard p or gamepad start) and view the full controls.

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Not sure what the attack did. High score a bit on the positive side :)

colludium says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I enjoyed. Good job!

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Love the "you shall not pass" wizard! Kinda weird (that's a good thing) but maybe too hard.

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice game, love it

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Did not get is first, but then it was fun
Nice :)

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

That was pretty cool! Unfortunately I wasn't able to build the tower all the way up, but it was cool while it lasted :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Fun game! The controls could be a bit more fluid and the orientation did cause me to have some issues, but once I got used to it, I played it more than almost any other I've went through so far. Really nice concept!

Olive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I love the art and visual style of the game. It has a simple, crafty, mixed media, papery feel to it. I like the story concept a lot. Reminds me of the Little Prince 50 years into his future. I found it hard to read the controls due to the low contrast in font and background color. Also I was bit confused, maybe because I have poor memory and I can only remember three controls at a time but it was difficult for me to intuitively know how to prevent the asteroids from the destroying the planet. Seems like a really cool idea, wish I knew how to play!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Liam, my highest score is 640 now. I'm going to catch you.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:40pm

It is impossible to read the controls. I died a lot trying to figure out what to do.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great work. I had fun playing! Grats!

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Well done. Rather tricky, but entertaining.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

I really like the ending screen. "Just another corpse in space now" hehehe
Unique idea!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

well done. love the gamepad support. played for some time.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

Took me a minute to get the hang of it, but once I did, I couldn't stop! Nice job!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Thanks everyone for the feedback and comments. Sarah & I wanted to make something that felt like a full game. It's got quite a lot of replay. I still haven't beaten Liam's high score yet.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Very funny game and interesting gameplay. I wish the planet was more centered so when it is upside down I can see my tower.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very cool!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Lovely graphics, a bit difficult to understand what you have to do. Nice work overall.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Had serious problems with controls.
Music/sounds are great.
Game looks nice, but text is unreadable.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

@Tangible Games. I added a full screen browser toggle. It should help with reading the text. If you press "p" on the keyboard, it'll pause the game and display the controls.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Fun and humorous little game. Controls were confusing at first and I lost when my tower went off screen, but overall this is a solid entry!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Awesome game! Really enjoyed it. Scored 126, couldn't keep up with those meteors!

Controls is a bit tricky but overall it's a very interesting game.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

You have to be careful. The tower will turn as you walk. If you're careful & jump a lot, it'll stay upright but it's tricky. Glad you enjoyed the game!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I'm finding that playing with a keyboard and mouse is actually a bit easier than using the gamepad. Might beat Liam's score yet.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

As you hoped, I really enjoyed this game. In fact, I enjoyed it far more than I'd expected! I love the whole system with the building and defending! I didn't use the attract function much because... I don't know I just felt uncomfortable with doing it XD. Anyway, great game and thanks for sending me the link!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

@RougeRogue The attract really drains you will a lot. I put it in there to reach the high orbit pieces, but you have to do it sparingly and time it right. Sometimes you'll get a big cluster and draw them all in at once. That's when you can get a good score at the end.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

*your

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I really enjoyed. Nice game!

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Fun Game. Took a little while to get used to. The Gui is hard to see on the left.

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I like the idea, but the controls on my end are a little wonky. I got stuck in an infinite walk loop more than once. It seems like a cool game, but I can't seem to play more than a few times without something going crazy. Might be my connection or something.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

@Boracho. I was having problems playing it on the page window earlier. Mostly because I was using the middle mouse button to build and losing window focus. Try it full screen, and if you're still having trouble it's available for full download which will solve connectivity issues. Thanks for playing it. I had a lot of fun making it.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39am

The art is epic.

I had a tough time reading the controls on the side there.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:25am

This is fun, challenging, looks good, and the controls are pretty smooth. Well done. I'm bad at this game, and could never protect the tower, but it's a lot of fun. Great job.

Kiwiboi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Great entry, solid fun gameplay and cool concept :)

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

took me a while to understand the game and then some more to read the controls layout, then some more to see how it works.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:03pm

soundtrack is nice :D
doesn't sound like my planet is facing apocalypse but still there is no bad time to dance, is there ?

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Really cool game. I loved the idea. The bad is that totally unbalanced. Wizard loose power too fast to be possible to do anything... I'm still playing it and trying to perform better. Great job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I liked this one! The art is really charming and the sounds are nice. The interface could use some polish and it took me many tries to actually understand. Overall though, great job.

Also, I couldn't get the web version to work in my browser, Firefox, but the Windows version worked fine.

rantt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:33am

Fun game, I enjoyed it. Great job :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:51am

Probably the most frustrating game I've ever played lol. The concept itself is really neat, I love the idea behind it... but the balancing had me pulling my hair out. Extract costs way too much Will and I have no idea when it will even work (if noticed some indication as to when it would actually grab something, maybe it would be ok). The tower itself I got to like stage 5 or something but then there were no tower parts or Will spawning so I had to just stand there and watch it all die.

Maybe I'm completely missing something though. If it was balanced it would be amazing, I think.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great entry! but pretty weird and difficult to understand, at least for me! good job anyway! :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Very odd, I liked it. Was cool running around the planet and I got into a rhythm with the meteors after a while, perhaps felt a little frustrating when your building kept being destroy, but then again maybe that was the idea

JJEvil says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:20pm

There's a stretch in the middle, right before the last 120-90 seconds where's it's helpful to have the tower destroyed. You gain will from collecting the pieces, and you can fill up, rebuild and heal the planet before the onslaught.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Not exactly clear what the objective is. Is it to survive as long as possible? Is it to construct the tower to it's best condition? And I think the audio is a little broken, because I still hear the construction sound effect after the timer ran out, and the game ended.

alabebop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really fun to play! The graphics remind me of the little prince and the audio is really nice!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice! Love 2D defense game ! Check my defense game too ! x)

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:46pm

very original gameplay and graphics.

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Controls are too strange and game is too hard, or may be it's just me - I'm not very into this type of games. I liked your music choice though.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:30pm

great music , nice!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Pretty fun little game. I liked the mechanics with your wizard being able to jump higher und thus collect more shards when upgrading your tower. However, it got really hard and a little frustrating with higher tower levels, because one can't see the meteors below and to the right of the planet and with the tower rising higher I found it almost impossible to defend it and also upgrade it more. That I did try for quite some time means the game is really fun.
Graphics and audio are cute and fitting, good job overall!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:32am

Hm, very nice concept! Well done!

paperweight says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:18am

pretty good!

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:42am

Wow, this is not easy!

Well done.
I would have liked a more obvious animation when he can't build, I always tried to build without noticing I didn't have the material. He seems to play the same animation wether he's building or not, and the build count down is too hard to ready or notice in the heat of the battle.

Other than that, great work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:46am

I'd love to play a full version of this with a good tutorial level, storyline mode and more content. This is a really solid little game here -- I'd probably pinpoint this as more of a prototype for central game mechanics and testing play than anything else. This game really should get some post-LD attention. :)

resty says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:22am

pretty good, I love the art style in the game.

BCSGame says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I liked it, had no clue what to do with the keyboard, but the controller made it winnable. Only thing was, when the tower rotated to the bottom right, I couldn't see things hitting it.

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I get its for the theme and all, but I feel too much information is off screen - maybe tower planet should have been smaller? At times the top of my tower was off screen at the bottom, so my ability to protect it from meteors was incredibly hampered, made the whole process of trying to build and protect the tower seem a pretty futile effort. I think if I could see what I'm doing this would be a pretty fun game.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Interesting concept, little bit hard to manage defence against meteors and build in same time, but I like the one screen planet =)

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:13am

Interesting game, love how there is defense, the music is great it differs. Definitely an interesting game. Good Job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:29am

Oh man! I lost just 11 seconds from the end. I never quite understood the spell mapped to E, but otherwise I really enjoyed myself, and agree with Olive that this does seem like a sort of time-shifted Little Prince story. Very nice game. Thank you!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:51am

The red spell is an attract spell for pulling in the higher up tower shards.

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:33am

It took a little while to understand what was going on, but once I did, it was pretty fun. Nice audio, and cute visuals. My main complaint was the length of the game. If you continue working on this, I'd suggest making the game a bit shorter, or adding some more content. For a while, it did seem to get a little repetitive as the clock counted away.

A nice LD entry :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:07am

Fun game that reminded me of the little prince which is always a nice thing. Liked the defending your planet aspect and the different magic you had to use.

lemmily says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Too hard for that enjoyable feeling. Hard to understand how to actually protect the planet because the character feels very sluggish.

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Hmmmmmm, the premise really drew me, but it wasn't very "fun". I think it can be attributed to it being too hard and there not being enough emergence in the play - none of the systems affected each other. So if you're building you have to stop and go stop a meteor, if you're jumping you can't shield. Nothing felt particularly smart and a lot of the decisions are kinda made for you.

Not being able to see meteors half the time is discouraging.

The premise is great though, I believe there's something great in there :)

darthballs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:52pm

its aight
stupid wizard keeps hitting himself in da face and won't block dem meteorites and the planet keeps blowing up
if i was the wizard i would probably make sure i had unlimited shields that were bigger
also why does he care about this backwater piece of crap planet in the middle of nowhere?
overall eh

scias says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I love the fact that this is a complete game (of course you can always improve what already exists and implement new content), so well done on that! I also think that this game kept a consistent quality level across all categories. (This is the first entry where all categories have received the same amount of stars.) If you were to continue working on this game I'd recommend letting the player learn the controls though playing the game instead of having a list of instructions in the game screen. Well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Lots of fun! It's kind of hard to decipher the instructions for the controls while you're playing, though.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I found it pretty difficult to get to the meteors before they hit the planet, just seemed like there wasn't much time before they showed up on screen and hit. I could only reach a few of them to block with the shield. well done for 48 hours

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Difficult game to try to figure out but good idea pretty innovative game.

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very nice atmosphere and the character is great!Keep up the good work!

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:40am

Interesting concept with an epic purpose. It's beard-tastic!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:59am

Took me a short while to figure out - but after that - I had fun! I loved the idea. A mixed sense of progression and a sense of impending doom! Great work - I loved it!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:31am

There are some asteroid that you just cannot possibly intercept... Better controls and difficulty curve would make that game much more enjoyable.

The concept is pretty cool, don't get me wrong, but some hand-holding for new players would be nice.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I like the game - it's like a new take on the tower defense genre. Fun pace to the game. I would consider rubberbanding the pacing of meteors to fit the amount of power the wizard currently has, so the player doesn't end up inexorably overwhelmed. Though if that's your intention, no worries! :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Pretty fun game once you get used to the controls. My only problem is that the text on the left hand side is very ineligible at the start of the game.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Very fun and innovative, I sucked at the controls a bit though. Made it to about 90 seconds left on the timer before my planet exploded. :P

Good use of the theme, and the audio is freakin' awesome.
Very nice job!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:27pm

@CliffracerX - I've learned one valuable lesson from the feedback. Let Sarah make the big decisions. Everyone loves her contributions (music, art, soundfx) and find mine frustrating (controls, gameplay). Or perhaps it's the combination that keeps people playing it, lol.

MonoS says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I didn't like the game so much.
The sfx are a bit annoying adn the rhythm is supper slow and made me boring.
I also lost a few times before understanding what to do

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Nice twist about "tower defense" mechanics! It's something worth working on! There are also few "polish tweaks" to be done like tower got rotated the way its peak went off the screen or the fact i didn't know what to do at the beginning.
PS: Little prince reference :)

pht59x says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:25am

Visually appealing. Nice sound and music to begin with. But I got left wondering what to do...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]