Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Abelian

by merrak - Compo Entry

You are trapped in a one-room maze, with the exit only a short hop away. This should be a quick escape, right? But the room is shifting!

Navigate back and forth through increasingly difficult challenges in the one-room maze. Is there an escape, or are you doomed to retrace your steps for all eternity?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#311Theme3.80
#431Graphics3.29
#439Fun3.20
#445Overall3.29
#576Innovation3.10
#577Mood2.91
#642Audio2.56
#742Humor2.23

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

Cool art style! The dynamic level generation is fun to watch. The sound effects are harsh but I like them especially the sound that plays when you die and the game ends.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Inertia makes it very difficult to get past just a few levels. I constantly end up in a hole. :D

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

the physics of the character were a bit hard to manage with the controls, also it was REALLY loud for me. That's all I could think of in terms of things I didn't like. Thanks for making it :).

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

Solid game. I like the random, unforgiving nature of it. Pretty hardcore.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Great idea and great execution. I love the transitions between the levels. I also like the audio, but I find it a bit hard on my ears. I'd try quieting it down somewhat.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Nice innovation, but the game felt like all you did was spammingly make a mad dash across the room. The sound effects were also a bit annoying. Other than that, good job.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

Good game. Interesting mechanics, though a bit simple, but the random helped keep it interesting. Really nice entry. The sound was a bit rough though.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03am

i liked it but found the difficulty of the levels a bit random and the sound effects to be super harsh (maybe tone down the volume to about 50% of what they are now?)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57am

I love the visuals. I'd like to be able to continue though.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

A little loud, but i liked the art style

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I like the concept, the game could be better though if the controls were more polished, the character moved like sack of bricks and jumps just as poorly. The tight time limit in some of the rooms with lots of sawblades make the game way more difficult than it should be

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The transitions between "screens" was really cool, I liked that effect a lot. The sounds were also very juicy as well, great character feedback. The art style was simple yet affective. I really liked it, nicely done! :)

LMT says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Very nice game. Maybe the sfx are a bit loud, but i really like the level changing mechanic and the game overall.

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Cool, I like that it's different every time I play.

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Really nice entry. I think the transitions between levels are really smooth. I couldn't play much because tiny little lag spikes were killing me like crazy. But it was really neat.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

I love the concept and the level regeneration, looks awesome. It was a bit difficult for me, but I think that's my problem, not the game. Nice work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09am

I like the generated levels, yet the difficulty scaling doesn't seem consistent on retries.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really cool concept! Enjoyed!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:56am

Simple and fun! I like it! I like the sound effects and the clever room generation.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:22am

Hm, interesting stuff. Not all that innovative, as such, but very playable; the graphics definitely have a nice old school vector feel! However, the difficulty...I started to get bored going through too many rooms that were pretty much the same, and then suddenly shots started shooting downward at high speed--it's really hard to avoid those! The second room I encountered with them, I lost. Good work, though!

pkenney says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28am

Awesome presentation of the levels setting up.

Super hard, and then a time limit on top! But your retry loop was fast enough and with the random content I was always seeing new levels, so I kept playing.

Best score was only 895, so I wans't very good, ha. I'm not even sure that play was my best run, I might have just had the easiest generation that time.

Great presentation and good design choices made the mechanics shine.

I would agree with the others who thought the heavy momentum was a little too strong, but it was fair. Just made it a lot harder.

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:34am

I like the visual style. Randomization helps keep it fresh to some extent even though it makes the score a moot point as not everyone has the same experience. Sound design was a tad too aggressive for my taste.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:51am

Cool game! My biggest complaint is that I died a few times because you can't see where the red ball is going to bounce. Adding a block for it to bounce off of or making it bounce on the ends of the screens would have made things a lot clearer

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:52am

It looks and feels nice, i liked this level generation (or pseudo random?)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:53am

This game is pretty awesome and hard. Have you ever played "I'm sorry about forever"? Great LD28 entry by a nice young sprite, in which cruel platforming meets otherworldly, next-level game design.

http://blog.ivybaumgarten.com/sorry-about-forever/

Needless to say: this is one of my favs. Out of curiosity: what is "abelian" about this game? I'm only familiar with the group theoretical sense of the term, but symmetry is something.

Do you have other games, a website, or twitter? Get in touch (I'm @arrogantgamer)!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:59am

Neat take on the theme, and a really cool visual style! Well done!

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice game! The controls are slick and the graphics are well handled! I just felt that the Timer makes the game too difficult to be replayed :)

jpmit says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I loved the art, the level transitions and the sound effects.

I didn't like going back to the beginning after dying, I would have preferred to replay the level.

Great job all round!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]