Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ERROR: Could not load graphics

by Renaldo - Compo Entry

A fail while booting the operating system forces you to play with no graphics, in text mode.
"ERROR: Could not load graphics" is a text quest to find the VGA exit.

Controls:
-arrow keys: move the character
-space bar: interact with the objects

It's my first entry to Ludum Dare. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#44Humor3.76
#124Overall3.71
#265Fun3.42
#272Mood3.27
#321Innovation3.46
#363Graphics3.39
#914Theme3.29

Comments

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Great entry! Is it always the same? The ending was somehow not a surprise--but funny all the same.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:36am

I though this one was interesting. I wish I'd had more time to play before rating - pretty good! I found the concept very humorous.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Good work

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice ASCII map making, and the swirling graphics at the end of the game were pretty cool too. It would be nice if all of the objects had popups, to maintain consistancy, but otherwise this game was a short but pleasant experience.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:13am

Short and sweet. Reminds me a lot of this game 'Temple of Apshai' that I played a looong time ago ;)

peeweek says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Great game, with a really nice ending. At first the game can be a bit confusing about all these doors opening and closing but really worth the try :)

Really good work on this one.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Hey, dude, great entry! Your game have a very nostalgic art!

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:23pm

very funny, think I got the bad ending

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:24pm

very funny, think I got the bad ending. Not voting for graphics though. didnt find any

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Very good entry, very creative stuff here :D i love the Copyright things you find xD Greatwork :D

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Cool Game, love the graphics

Louisload says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

creative and simple idea for a explorer type of game :D
some items as well as the ending were very funny!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I love my final score: 404
This was fun to play.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Fun little adventure! :)

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I like the ASCII graphics

rjhelms says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really well executed take on the theme & graphical style.

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Cool idea and a nice presentation - good job!

A few things confused me but honestly I liked the confusion, it was part of the exploration process.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:06pm

ASCII art is great! I like this entry

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:24am

I like the ASCII representations, especially the human and tree! This is a fun way to experience a story.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Fun concept, I would have liked some more mechanics in the game in order to give it a bit more purpose. Having the goal of for example trying to fix the error in the game would have been really fun!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Not cool Bad Luck Rock! Wow, one of the higher scores I've given out. This was extremely well-executed. You should be really proud of this. Awesome.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:22am

That was awesome! I enjoyed the surreal journey and the ending was satisfying. It would have been cool to see some choices to the player feel more like they are exploring. The gameplay kind of reminded me of ZZT in a good way.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I wasn't able to run the game, and so I cant really rate it... but it looks pretty cool! Great idea as well

<3

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Sweet!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Ascii Rules !
Found some item (mainly chest) that didn't do anything while trying to interact with them (not already opened, no text on the bottom, no nothing).
The end was ... surprising to me, and kind of frustrating. But it make me smile !
Good job !

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool game ! I didn't know what to do after getting the gun. The texts are fun and well written, great job on that !

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice, and with just a bit of wit for humor.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very funny and charming entry, now I know to fear the bad luck rock. A bit short, but I did really enjoy what I played. I wasn't too sure how it fit the theme, however. Good work!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

This is a really cute setup. :) I dig the console adventure game feel and there were some funny objects to find. Short and sweet, but nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]