Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BREAK

by someoneman - Compo Entry

BREAK is a 2D Metroidvania-lite platformer centered around the concept of BREAKing the boundaries of the game window.

By collecting gems, the window will become wider and taller, allowing access to more areas. Additionally, power-ups grant more traditional Metroidvania effects such as increased jump height and resistance to certain hazards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Theme4.53
#26Innovation4.24
#55Mood3.75
#92Overall3.78
#133Fun3.65
#134Audio3.47
#579Graphics3.06
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

Excellent! Only problem was that I ran out of monitor space as the game field stretched out vertically :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice and crisp pixel art. Good job!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Really cool concept, liked this a lot :)

Kinda reminded me of "Monuments of Mars" from Apogee.

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:41am

The game started in the middle of my 1080 monitor and ended up stretching beyond the bottom, so I couldn't finish. There was no apparent way to move the window.

geckojsc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:24am

I was hoping someone would make a game like this! Very nicely done, the controls and movement give lots of precision so that the game is not too frustrating. The map / progression is very nicely designed. It's a little weird not having realistic gravity, but it works well considering that jump height is important.

Kind of reminds me of VVVVVV :)

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice start

Renaldo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:36am

Great work! The game was very cryptic and counter counterintuitive at the start, but it all changes while you play it. You get compelled by the mystery of what comes next.
The game gets very difficult after a certain point. I really wanted to know how it ends. I'll finish it later!

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

People with problems with running out of space: WASD moves the game window, its in the README D:

Cool idea! Controls feel a little weird with the floatiness, but I see why that is needed for the end stuff. Good job.


One prob: I think its possible to get into a dead end if you go down to the laser area before you collect all the gems at the top, can't seem to get back up due to spikes. Had to restart to do it the other way and finish properly.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

Your game might have been my favorite, it was AWESOME!

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:17am

Terrific game! Fun platforming, and the floaty jumping and falling made it challenging and interesting. I loved the ending

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:39am

Wow, great idea! looks and plays great!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:19am

excellent use of the theme, very original, one of my favourites bravo :D

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I liked how there was no window frame, and that it started really small. I liked the way the game screen's expansion was well thought out, never leaving you confused about where to go next. At first I didn't like the weird floaty jumping, but then it was actually used very well to add a lot more variety to the challenges. For example, floating down slowly and dodging left and right, or having to hit your head on the ceiling first and then moving sideways on the way down. And, also I was immediately able to make the jumps correctly, because despite being low gravity, it was still very responsive and controllable. The art is simple but has a consistent theme, and hazards look... hazardous with that bright green. I think I would still prefer something a bit more detailed for the art, but hey its 48 hours, so it was actually a clever way to have a strong theme and get it done in time.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Hello there. I like that it's made with Clickteam Fusion 2, I made my game with it too!
I started with a small moving squere (the screen) but I can't find any gems or anything at all. When I wanted to open the Clickteam Fusion 2 it said: Invalid format. :(

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:10pm

wow, my favourite game so far, incredible. just my time of game

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Excellent concept, I kinda like it. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]