Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Attack with Stealth

by svarther - Compo Entry

Greetings, this is my first LD and I worked in this game, made using Unity3D, Blender, Photoshop and sfxr.
The game is a shooter with aerial perspective where you use stealth mechanics to kill the enemies.
All the game is on the same screen and scenario but in the higher levels it will have alterations.

Controls:
WASD or arrows to move
mouse left click to shoot
Stealth activation after 3 seconds without attack, when you are stealthed you can't see the caracter so you predict her position.

Enemies don't attack you on stealth and they will distract a seconds when your stealth is off. Attack when stealth is on and their barrier in bad position.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#510Innovation3.19
#696Graphics2.86
#768Fun2.86
#780Humor2.17
#894Mood2.53
#899Overall2.86
#965Theme3.22

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This was quite a weird experience, but game was actually quite fun! Keep it up.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice concept. I do need a method to know where I am in the dark.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40pm

They point player direction very quickly but I like the stealth idea... good game

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Hahaha. At first glance I thought not seeing the player was a terrible idea... And then the floor started to go away. Brilliant and fun ! Great job

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very cool concept, I like the idea of having to try and predict your position before you take your shot, I enjoyed this one.

It's a little difficult to tell what will kill you and what wont. I kept dying randomly while stealth, I assume from falling off the edge or something :P

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Hmmmmmmm

I get the idea is that you might fall off, and that's part of the gameplay, but I don't find that satisfying.... Unless there's actual one-screen multiplayer, being completely invisible is more frustrating than fun...!

Shiskatchegg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Great concept, and good graphics. However, it is difficult to know why the mission fails when you get out of the scene, specially when you are invisible. Good job! :)

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Wow, this is surprisingly fun. You need a lot of spacial awareness, though :-)

Leo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I could get until the level where the ground rotates.

This game is rather frustrating. I don't die as often from the enemy bullets than I die from falling into the void emptiness. When you are invisible you have to guess where you are otherwise you lose.

IMHO guessing where you are and staying stealthed to avoid enemy fire are two nice game mechanics, but I'm not sure if combining them is a good idea. Maybe it was just the way you combined them that made the combination frustrating.

I see you used Blender to make the graphics. You couldn't get the animation rigged right, but the light effects are cool. Given that you don't use 3D movement isn't really necessary in the game, I think it would have been a better idea to do it in 2D.

Good concept, bad execution. Next LD work on playing and polishing the game more, rather than doing 3D graphics, I'm sure you can make something great then :D

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

A bit hard to distinguish wether you are about to be seen or not. Cool game though.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I like the concept, some helper for moving while being invisible would be nice! I like idea that first I have to plan my moves, to cheat enemy.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Lawls, that was a surprise! I was like what, a bug? Caught me off guard that I as the player can't see myself, thought that was pretty interesting!

It's pretty tough though! The turrets seem to react really fast, the interval between the bullets really makes it tricky to get back into stealth without being hit. Definitely wouldn't mind playing more though, it's really fun.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nevermind, I'm such a noob, I thought the condition was to stand still without shooting. ._. It was just to not shoot. /Facepalm.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Robots are hard to destroy, but it was challenging. Good game.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Lol this stealth mechanic requires a lot of spacial awareness, and is a bit frustrating, but also funny and challenging. The game is great for a combo entry, hope you develop more mechanics & different enemies.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

All it needs is a way to see where the heck you are hiding

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Interesting concept, hard to grasp for me for some reason though.

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I was completely lost. What's the goal of the game? I have a gun, but there's nothing to shoot at. I can't even see myself. Some of the comments talk about the ground falling; I must not be patient enough because I tried playing for a while but I never saw anything happen.

mattpattie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22pm

quite enjoyed this one. nice concept ;)

Yarek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I like the concept is really unique. You need to hide from your enemies but you must know where you are all the time and that is really challenging. Good job :)

Zayron says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I think I fall off the map and bugged out but other than that this was fun.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Hey you've got some good stuff working here. I feel like it could benefit from more feedback when you are getting getting hit or hitting enemies. The stealth is an interesting twist but you need to see some indication of where you are.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I really like the concept, but it's very unfair when the stealth mode kicks in. I don't know where I'm standing! It might be worth using shadows (like Unity shadow blob projectors) to indicate where the player character is standing during stealth mode.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Alternatively, change the layer on the character, and swap it during stealth mode and combat mode. Then setup the camera to ignore stealth layer.

svarther says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:16am

Big thanks for the feedback, you are all welcome. I agree with a lot of your comments and I will try consider them for next versions of this game or anothers. Thanks a lot!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]