Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Floppy Screen

by Jayson - Jam Entry

Warning this game is hard - Some comments from down below :P
*****************************************************
took me a moment to realize that EVERYTHING kills you, thought it was just the binary at first.

got about halfway before I was destroyed.

I really dig the style and the challenge.

it was (and is) dastardly hard :)

The game is really hard at some point.

grinding my teeth and giving up

*****************************************************

Linux and Mac versions UNTESTED. As it is Unity3d, I decided to give it a try. Use at own risk :P


Reunite the screen with its PC.

So here is my first ever Ludum Dare. I like the theme, it really put me out of my comfort zone and I learned a lot.

I did everything myself, except for the music.

Music: DST-Home http://www.nosoapradio.us/ CC3 License

I bought Pixel Maker PRO on special and used it with my Galaxy Note 3 and its stylus or pen to create the graphics.

Sleep now, play later :D


Controls (Also in game instructions)

Move: a,d / left, right
Jump/Fly: space / mouse click / up / w

Toggle Music: m
Toggle Sound: n

Quit: Esc X2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#125Theme(Jam)4.03
#233Audio(Jam)3.36
#242Fun(Jam)3.40
#277Humor(Jam)3.05
#420Overall(Jam)3.30
#437Mood(Jam)3.13
#572Innovation(Jam)2.93
#763Graphics(Jam)2.70

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Flappy bird maze thing? Awesome! I actually really dig the concept!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16am

There might be a bug here. I can't see the player sprite.

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30am

@ben_pxlplz - Which version? Web or Windows?

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38am

@ben_pxlplz Web version resolution might be too high, you can't see the player unless you scroll down on some screens.

I lowered it. Please use ctrl-F5 to reload the web player completely.

Thank you for the feedback :D

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48am

took me a moment to realize that EVERYTHING kills you, thought it was just the binary at first.

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51am

@Raptor85 - the floor doesn't kill you at least :P

rudivdw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

Epicness my friend, got about halfway before I was destroyed. Nice going!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32am

Everybody hates a blue screen... very clever xD

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35am

I really dig the style and the challenge. It's good that you can restore your "health" otherwise it would have been insane :P

Recon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Very good gameplay, but next time work a little bit more on graphics.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Really cool! Only thing: your highscore does not save. But nice work anyways.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Get one screen in one screen to its screen on your screen :) Hahahaha :)

At least you put in two lives, or else it was (and is) dastardly hard :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

A sort of flappy bird with a floppy!
The game is really hard at some point.
At first I thought even the floors would kill you, but fortunately was not.

Esjaji says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

The style is a very nice touch! I also really love the challenge, even though I'm absolutely awful at the game; I got about halfway through before grinding my teeth and giving up, but it was a fun little romp nonetheless!

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

And here you guys see, what happens if you combine Flappy Bird and a maze.

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Nice pun, nice design, very well done :)

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Blue screen Windows SO... KKKK. Its very fun.

MaddeStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09am

Fun, but too hard for me!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Yep, it's hard, but it's not super frustrating. It does take a bit of time to figure out that everything kills you, and I'm really glad that you have a point of health you can go through.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:32am

Nice take on Flappy Bird. I feel like the consistency of the flapping makes it much easier than actual Flappy Bird, where you would always start plummeting really quickly without another tap. Health and repairs also make it a little easier.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Good entry here. Nice use of the theme and well presented. good work! (I didn't beat it but I had fun!)

Jayson says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:33am

I really appreciate all the feedback. Thank you for playing and being such an epic community.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Wow, that is difficult... Never got past the third tier, but had fun trying.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:33am

Web version seems to be offline? At least the site doesn't load for me.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Worked now, it is indeed rather difficult but made it through about half the map, so I feel like I've accomplished something today. Thanks man. :D
Not too bad for your first LD, good thing you settled for a relatively simple concept, it seems you managed to finish it instead of being overly ambitious and not getting there in the end. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]