Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Core

by MrSun - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry. It's a pretty simple game. Dig into each core and jump to the next one before the screen gets filled. My high score is 20.

Made in GameMaker: Studio. Sound effects made with cfxr. Music made in Logic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#28Fun3.95
#36Innovation4.17
#67Overall3.83
#140Theme4.03
#201Mood3.38
#333Audio3.08
#391Graphics3.35

Comments

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

I really really like the concept for this game - just a shame that it crashes so often (to the extent that it signs me out of Wordpress and I have to write this comment again from memory :P

Took me a while to get that first jump right, but when I did everything made sense and looked wonderful.

I'd suggest for the first time that they do each maneuver (e.g. dig/jump between cores) you have a text prompt on the screen to help. I remember not being sure what I was doing the first few playthroughs (my partner is on the other end of the line on Skype and she initially sounded confused as well).

Another thing; it'd be neat if the cores would swell and shrink (to make them harder to reach as you went on) and also the possibility of multiple cores would be pretty cool.

This is a great game and you should be proud of what you got done. I hope you'll consider continuing development on it!

Thanks for making this!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

Really amazing game! Awesome concept!

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

A very unique game I must say. Have yet to see something quite like it. Was a little challenging at first to get the hang of it. But once I did, it became really fun!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

rate 5 stars over all!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Cool game! A little bit hard, but still fun.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Awesome. Very innovative and pretty hard.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Woah.

I actually really love the presentation right down to the square browser window. You get into this weird do-before-thinking trance when you play this.

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Fun concept! Reminds me a lot of Super Hexagon. It was a lot of fun, the controls were precise, the graphics were simple and the way you applied the theme was clever. Nice work!

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Really nice concept. Can be a little tricky getting the jumps right initially but with a bit of practice it gets easier.
I love how recursive it is too, with a bit of polish this could make a decently addictive mobile game

graebor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Nice job, especially for your first LD entry :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

A really simple and fun concept! I love the minimalistic art. Gives it a nice sense of style. Great job on this one.

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

I like the concept a lot. Clever mechanics, I found it a bit hard to jump into the next circle but that just maybe be due to my lack of game skills haha. Great job!

(also, Web version didn't crash on me, so woot!)

huntj88 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

by far one of the best games ive played today

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Solid first entry! Really nice concept, graphics are simple but effective - minimalism done right. Hard as nails but not unfairly so.
I didn't have any issues with crashing that others reported.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

Wow. Just... Wow. It reminded me of Super Hot, if you polished it I think this game could go somewhere! Congratulations!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22am

Very fun! It's like the hacking game in Mass Effect!

I'm definitely nowhere near getting a 20 though! I think my high score was 6 ... :(

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Great idea, good fun, well matched graphics and music.

Quite hard, as others have noted!

leo_gri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I've made it to 8 ! (and I'm not done with this game !^^) Very fun to play. It's really fluid and beautiful :)

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:06am

This is just as impressive visually as it is technically. It is a little strange that the game goes beyond the bounds of the web player, however. This has a very Super Hexagon type feel and thats a good thing! Would love to see it on iOS!

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00am

Wow that is so cool. And great use of the theme!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Awesome game. Really hard... Loved it!!!!

LMT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really awesome game. I love the music and the gameplay. Perhaps the graphics are a bit too minimalist for me

LabOne says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Controls should be reversed

harko12 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great Job!

MaxguN says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Oh, a hard arcade game, great ! Loved it, congrats on making that nice game :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:00am

was confusing at first, but hella-FUN when I got into it! VERY VERY addictive! LOVE it

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:29am

Great concept and execution! Perfect level of challenge for me :) The jump height and controls seemed well tuned, and I really liked your use of minimalism graphically.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:11pm

excellent, very innovative, trippy mood, good challenge, well done :)

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:56am

It was really good!

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:01am

This game is awesome. I can't think of much to change - but unfortunately I can't think of anything to help you expand on the idea either. It's the perfect contest entry, but will be challenging to move ahead with. Great job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:17am

Liked:
- Excellent innovation! Very cool idea, I think it has a lot of potential.
- Graphically solid and unified, with complementary arcad-y music
- Good difficulty curve. Always feels like you could do better (doesn't go from trivial to impossible in 2 seconds)

Disliked:
- Controls didn't feel perfect. Felt a bit jittery at times, not smooth.
- It's missing... something. I don't know what. I really like the idea of the game, but something was holding it back from maximum fun. Maybe it just needs some polish. Like, making the jumps from core-to-core a bit easier, or preventing the sprite from going off screen as the cores expand.

Overall: very cool idea. I'd like to see a version 2.0 of this idea, because it has the potential to be really fun and really addicting.

OFF says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:50am

Truly amazing!
Simple idea, simple control and a lot of fun.
It's like Super Hexagon but it work pretty well and in only 48h.

My only critic are on the music (it lack of the epic feel of the Chipzel song), and the theme it's not purely abstract, and graphics like SuperHexagon, and there is not a graphical theme like a real digger with a Spelunky look for example.
The jump is too rigid to give us a freedom feeling, maybe by allowing the jump to go until the other side of the circle.
And the crossed square is not the better choice as an avatar.

The fact that you can also only dig at one spot make the game maybe too rigid, allowing to dig everywhere but with more ennemy will already give more flow to the game.

But still a really fun playable (and it's not usual even here) game.

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Very interesting game mecanisms and great pace.
congrats.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Really challenging and fun in a good way ! Not bad for a first ludum dare!

MrSun says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone, especially the criticism! I do plan on continuing to work on this game in the future, so it's all going to be super helpful

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Very cool take on the theme, and quite fun too! Minimalist art works really well with the audio, it's all very cohesive.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:59am

5 Star Innovation! Very fun! Awesome game, well done! Could definitely see this as a (popular!) mobile game! Such a simple concept yet so fun! Make it a mobile game, do it! :)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:54am

Good use of the theme, fun to play.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Excellent game ! The music is a bit annoying but this is still pretty good.

Stending says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Awesome concept! Loved it!

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:26am

Hard. I diskike the default keyboard mapping. Else it's a finished game. Good job.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Really neat mechanic - I liked this a lot. Sort of reminds me of Super Hexagon, except way more crazy and disorientating. Would be nice to have more things added than just the spikes.

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

Hard! Loved it, because of that & the visuals. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]