Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Turn a cave!

by Night - Jam Entry

Hello guys!

We finished work on our game and now... Tadamm! Let's start! TURN A CAVE!

This game is about adventures of one strong young dwarf in deep mines near his native village. His main task is to collect gems in that mines. Each gem make village habitants happier, because dwarves can buy meals for it.

So, you are starting with random oriented different types of mines tracks, and you need to turn them and make appropriate path to gems and weapons. Yes, weapons! On higher levels different monsters, guarding jewels, will appear! Fight them and take a reward.
But be aware of time! On each level you have limited amount of steps, and if you run out of time – KABOOM! caves will begin to ruin. But you have an opportunity to escape – find a safe place with torches and wooden floor and stay on it! You'll survive after fall of stones and continue your adventures.
In the right part of screen you can see panel with game data and messages. Read them and you'll know all necessary information about game walkthrough. Also you can see here, if any monster guards a gem – just point your mouse on gem and read.

---Control
You can rotate tiles by RMB and walk by LMB.

---Known bugs
Because of the random nature of game's mechanics, you can get into a no-win situation. In this case try to use BLAST button from a safe place.
Game is very slow on Linux Firefox.

Feel free to share your high scores in comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#233Innovation(Jam)3.51
#408Humor(Jam)2.75
#468Overall(Jam)3.24
#521Theme(Jam)3.54
#555Fun(Jam)2.98
#708Graphics(Jam)2.80
#791Mood(Jam)2.62

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really cool! The idea is pretty sweet and it's fun to play. The only complaint I would have is the ability to move more than 1 block at a time. Other than that, nice work!

Logun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

It is cool, i like the simple controls. it s pretty sad that our dwarf can't follow a longer trip on his own, clicking on every square is not very fluide but i suppose it s maybe hard to develop that in 3 days ^^
Great anyway

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

This was pretty fun! Stayed playing it for quite a while...

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This was fun, but the music might be a little too agressive for the theme, I think. ;)

Dejsan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Wow, like the game! But music is terrible and can't move more then one block, but anyway game is cool !

Night says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Thank you for feedback! Moving to more than one block was in our plans, but we didn't have enough time. ^__^
Music was added to game right before publishing from some free asset. Game is not judged in audio category. I'll try to ask organizers, if they won't might to turn it off now or change for something more suitable.

playvue says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Fun! But, seriously don't like hte music. I don't thikn it fits at all. Definitely love the use of the pipes mechanic for caves! Are you not supposed to be able to rotate the cave under a gem? And, it'd speed the game up if you could click anywhere the caves are accessible and have the player find his way there without having to go tile by tile. Good job!

superfrog says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:14pm

too slowly ... but with potential.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:14pm

nice game, well done

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Very nice and smart concept, controls is not so good, but I think it's ok for that kind of game

madcapacity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This was a wonderful puzzle mechanic - great job!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I don't understand what to do.

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Interesting interpretation of piper puzzle =)

Night says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Asaratha, right click - rotate corridors, left click - walk from tile to tile, if they are connected.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Interesting idea. Combining Pipemania with a mining setting is neat! Decent graphics too. Some more direct control over the character would be cool. Nice job anyway.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:20am

I love games with random generated levels. To have a not solveable situation is okay for me, cause its a prototype. Runned it on Ubuntu Firefox, game speed was not as bad as expected. Very cute dwarf ;) Cannot say anything about sound, cause I was sitting in a seminar... ohhh you deleted sound at the ratings.... goood ;) Like it to play games in a browser without the need of using plugins. Good Job!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I found this quite brilliant and legitimately fun. It reminds me, of course, of the board game Labyrinth.

If I were improving it, I would:

* Either allow long-distance pathfinding (click anywhere for which there is a visible path and the character will go there automatically), or show a visual indicator as you mouse over tiles that reminds the player that the four tiles adjacent to the player are the only ones he can gainfully click on.
* Show a clearer end-result/threat. In the end I stopped playing despite enjoying the underlying mechanics because I didn't feel an ovearching purpose.
* Eliminate "dead end" tiles. There are enough dead end situations without them: that is, corners and straights often conspire to make a path impossible. I don't think dead ends are necessary, and I think they slow down the game and amplify the risk of unwinnable situations.

The name, by the way, rhymes with "Tourniquet!", which is kind of funny.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Interesting puzzle game. The pace is a bit slow, but the conecpt quite promissing. Reminds me a bit of "Dare to Dig!" from LD28.

alfadur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nice idea! Apart from dead ends the generator does a good job on creating challenge, I feel I had to do just about right amount of backtracking to get where I tried to.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice game mechanic. I liked it.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07am

I awarded you a trophy. This post explains why: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/13/my-picks-for-ld31s-top-10-best-beards-manly-mustaches/

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:16pm

It's a pretty neat idea, but it felt like it lacked audio - my only other major gripe was the movement - you couldn't move more than one square at a time, and you couldn't rotate counter clockwise. The text didn't really make you notice it, but that was a minor issue.
Overall, a fun idea that could do with more polishing.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:00am

A bit too slow for my taste, I must say. Clicking on each tile to move is a bit boring.
Also I saw a reference to some music in other comments, but I had absolutly no sounds (played in chrome).

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:17am

Great mechanic! Loved how if you couldn't get straight to a diamond, you could try and excavate around it with diminishing returns. First feature you should add is pathfinding (and perhaps WASD movement); not being able to move more than one block at a time creates a LOT of friction.

gana0 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Interesting puzzle game concept! It was a little hard to tell where caves ended or simply didn't connect, especially when standing on an end.

Shampop says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Control are pretty annoying, but i liked the idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]