Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of King Pistachio

by gquibao - Jam Entry

"The Adventures of King Pistachio" is a Platformer, where you have to kill spoons, jump ice cream platforms and avoid fireballs... Really!

Theme: Empire Game on Ice Cream

"The Ice Creamgdom is being attacked by the terrible Snowman and the only hope is that the old Pistachio King bravely fight and destroy the Snowman and all of his Spoon Troopers."

← → (Move)
↑ (Jump)
Spacebar (Attack)

The Team:

-Gabriel Quibao
-João Pedro Mantovani
-Leonardo Millan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Humor(Jam)3.30
#424Audio(Jam)2.91
#455Fun(Jam)3.11
#504Mood(Jam)3.03
#632Graphics(Jam)3.00
#658Overall(Jam)3.03
#932Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1019Theme(Jam)1.70
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Good concept. graphics and audio work together.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Nice graphics and good controls, it's fun to play with air control :)

Collision with the enemies felt a bit too unforgiving though, nothing major since we can avoid them.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Neat concept, I love the art. It's so happy, minus the fiery death raining from the sky. I think it would be great if you lowered the amount of fireballs, and maybe improved collision a bit. I always felt like I was unfairly killed.

Good effort though, and congratulations on its completion!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16am

Haha, nice. Kinda absurdly difficult, right?

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

Oh my god ! This game is so hard xD
Anyway nice job :D

jocamar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

The control feels good but like other have said the collision feels a bit off. The graphics feel good for the kind of game it is. It may be a bit unforgiving with the moving platforms and the fireballs but then again, some games are meant to be challenges.

hd_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

I would have enjoyed this more if the hit box was fairer. Sometimes you could phase into the ground which made jumping messy.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04am

Funny art style. I like the king's animation when he gets hits. Sometimes the double jump did not seem to work though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

omg this game is so hard, awesome though xD

jrap says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I really like the color pallete here for some reason. great job on the game btw. but man, those pretty colors...

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:47am

Well polished game :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice and polished. Super hard to kill the snowman. A few collision bugs (I got stuck in the ground quite a few times). Not very forgiving with 5 lives total :) but I actually enjoyed the challenge quite a bit! Nice audio. Pleasant graphics and good controls make it a nice platformer. Couldn't quite see how the theme fit though. Great job nevertheless!

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16am

About the theme thing, I actually made a "joke" changing the words with ones with a similar phonetic, it's written on the description, Empire Game on Ice Cream.

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:20am

Looks like you guys had a lot of fun making this! Found it a little bit too difficult to get very far in but enjoyed the nice colors while it lasted. Also some weird collision bug where i was halfway through a platform?

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05am

I like this. It was fun. I don't see the theme at all, but it was fun.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:40am

The controls were alright, I could move King Pistachio around pretty well, and jumping/attacking wasn't much of a problem. I'm not so sure I enjoyed the constant barrage of raining fireballs, as there were just far too many of them and it detracted from whatever other activity I was trying to preform. It made everything harder, but not hard in a fun way -- just harder in a more irritating way. I wanted to focus on making jumps and it was hard to time things to jump and land on clear areas because the falling fire negated both areas and I ended up dying either way. :(

The idea is cute, it's very CandyLand-esque. I liked the idea of the Spoon Troopers. The music, while fitting, is fairly repetitive, though I didn't find it directly annoying.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:03am

I had a lot of fun playing through this. The platforming was very simple but the addition of the fireballs falling from the sky made things a _lot_ more interesting. I had to constantly be looking in two places, but dodging the fireballs really forced me to think about positioning a lot, which was fun. The art was very simple, but it was immediately apparent to me what everything did, including the falling platforms. The timing and movement on the platforms and fireballs was done really well. I never felt like it was totally unfair except for on the last boss which I was able to figure out after a few attempts. The collision detection was a little wonky (which I used to my benefit) i.e. you could jump through a platform and then be inside of it, which made the game quite a bit easier than it probably should have, but it also made the game feel a lot better, especially since I died a lot and had to restart. The earlier levels were still fun to go through since I was experimenting and getting better with the controls. Thanks for letting me play your game! Hope you can come back and do another LD!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:01am

Fun game, fun characters. I'm not sure how the theme is applied. The collision is a little wonky where you can get stuck in platforms coming from below them. The fireballs are a nice challenge.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:27pm

haha I love the drastic sound and animation when you die. It made me laugh. I had fun playing it! Good job.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:00am

Darnit, I'm a sucker for super-hard platformers, even if the double-jump is broken and the platforms are like gelato (e.g. you can slide into the middle). Ah, well, given you some high scores.

rzuf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Your interpretation of the theme made me chuckle. :D
Your game is incredibly frustrating! Double jump and broken collisions made it a lot easier though. Amazing piece of art, this game!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:26am

Wow, what did I just play ?? I liked it, I love the strange world you created. The collision box was quite unforgiving (and unfair sometimes) also the levels were long enough to put a checkpoint in the middle, otherwise, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]