Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Glitter Pixel Will Save The World

by wooltech - Compo Entry

A big adventure for a tiny hero - you are, literally, a single pixel. It's the only way a game this big will fit on a single screen!

Collect powerful items, gather the dead pixels and, if you can, SAVE THE WORLD!

WASD/ARROW, SPACE if you collect the gun.

Most of the gameplay was planned in advance, but the fog-of-war was a last minute addition, but I think it adds a lot to the feel of exploration in the game. I generally use Unity these days, so it was nice to do something with Flash for a change. Took a while to get back in the swing of AS3, and I learn some things I wish I'd picked up a few years ago.

It was my first time entering Ludum Dare, and it was fun.I unsure what to do with the theme, but finally settled on a platform exploration/adventure/collection game and the best way to fit an entire game onto one screen was to make the hero a single pixel.





Probably not great timing, deciding to do this when I'm in the middle of moving into a house, but I can worry about that next week! I expect to keep working on this game now the Compo is over and release a fully realized version sometime next year.

(Edited as embedding a game on Kongregate seems to divert you directly to their site.)

UPDATE: Added a Respawn key as some players report getting stuck in the terrain. (Hold R)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#37Humor3.80
#45Theme4.32
#64Audio3.76
#107Overall3.74
#108Mood3.57
#145Fun3.62
#260Graphics3.57
#327Innovation3.45

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:11am

I've never Heard a pixel speak before, nice game!

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28pm

insane hahahha loved it :)

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

I love this idea! Innovative way to make a giant world fit on one screen.

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Wow that's so cool! The tiny pixels - and audio effects! Nice

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very cute audio! You should include a magnifying glass so you can see the part you're in better. Love it!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I love the game but constantly focusing on a single pixel can be a bit tiring for my eyes (I'm still recovering from the compo weekend, so that could be why)

Other than that detail the game is great: music and sound effects are really cute, and the metroidvania-like mechanics work perfectly. Congrats! :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I felt compelled to finish this. Even the precision-platform-hell before the lift activator. Unfortunately, I got stuck in a block and couldn't get out and couldn't face refreshing, and spending another twenty minutes trying to get the lift activator. Precision platforming with a single pixel is hard.

Otherwise, great game.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Hop Hopp BOING! Great game

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Easily the most adorable pixel I've ever seen.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31pm

cute game, well done

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

@GeeItSomeLaldy - Thanks for pointing out that you can get stuck in the landscape. It's a surprisingly large world so I didn't have time to QA the entire map.

This seems to come under 'bug that stops players completing the game', so I've added R to Respawn if you get stuck, but left the map as it is.

@everyone else: thanks for playing and commenting!

berkano says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very cool! My eyes hurt now!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

What is this, game for ants? Just kidding :D Great game, i only had hard time findig the pixel i was controling :D

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

Outstanding game! I love how you used the theme to create a real meatroidvania on a single screen. The game is challenging, has a very good depth for a 48h made game, feels very polished, fun to play, and very funny audio. 5/5 everywhere :)!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30am

This is really great, but it's so hard to control! Fantastic idea and great job fitting so much into such a small space.

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice voices :D , fun game, Great Idea.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23am

That was really cute! But damn, I lost track of where I was with such small graphics

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29am

This was really cool. I'm always a fan of saving dead pixels. No major complaints other than finding it hard to determine what was hazardous to me and what wasn't until it was a bit too late.

TravisChen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23am

LOVED IT!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34am

The sound effects really humanize the pixel. That was a nice touch. I think the controls are a bit slippery, its hard to aim your jumps correctly. But it was fun to play! Thanks for the game, and well done!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35am

Great work! Nice job getting a whole metroidvania on one screen! I love this.

It would be neat to have a bit more than just a Ukulele play the whole time though.
Generally it's kinda finicky to pick up dead pixels, other than that, GREAT entry!!!

GGraca says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:36am

Awesome game! You really followed the theme and you added fun and nice audio to it.

Check out this one ;)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44am

My eyes hurt now, but it was worth it :D Very awesome, love that game.

Omer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05am

Wow this is cool, some great attention to detail put in! Nice job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

I was so engrossed, I let my tea go cold. You can use that quote when you release it ;). I'd definitely buy this with more worlds/progression. Maybe make the movement a bit less 'slippery'.

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

the details are amazing and the sound is fitting, the screen could be a bit bigger though

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45am

Really cute little pixel! I Included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bpNoFf0QyBM

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:23am

The voice was cute and I thought it added a lot of character to the player. The game felt kinda slow though as I kept getting stuck on random pixels in the level. This also made the game feel really long and I never finished it. Got the lava shield but quit before making it through the volcano.If it had half as many upgrade items and fewer pixels to collect before beating the game it would've helped.

The level felt like you went through the world with an eraser the make paths. It might have been better if you used a more clear approach to the levels instead of this rough 'cave' like level.

It didn't help that the checkpoint were so far away from each other. Also if you made the background and walls darker it would've been easier to find your pixel.

-AlucardX60

Winterblood says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50pm

My eyes!
But I did eventually save the world :D Struggled to get the drill because the framrate varied between blisteringly fast and almost unplayable on a ~1minute cycle. That could be my laptop though...

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Really cool Idea. The audio was quite hilarious.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: using cached page]