Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Game System

by Catwheel - Compo Entry

Thank you for Purchasing the New Game System Entertainment System. To start having fun, please insert your favorite cartridge.

Play with mouse and gamePad(recommended) or Keyboard and mouse.

Controls:
-Use the mouse to interact with the GameSystem and Cartridges.
-Use an xInput(xbox controller style) gamepad or the keyboard ("A button" = left ctrl, "B button" = left Alt, arrows to move) to interact with the games.

If your having trouble, try turning the game system on.

If you are still having trouble, I wrote some hints ^^. Here is a link: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1d4C9N-I0A1VSbdtfEWId2mltkMERgbHDG91yZfe3o2M/edit?usp=sharing

When you have beaten it, you will see a black screen with the words "Ludum Dare #31" on it.

Constructive feedback, always good!

Changlog:

The scripts that teleport the player were fixed so that the player no longer teleports ahead frames.

A collision wall was placed at the edge of the party room.

Blinders were added to the side because some players said they could see the level behind the screen sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#177Humor3.19
#221Innovation3.63
#256Theme3.86
#393Mood3.12
#560Overall3.19
#598Fun3.05
#618Audio2.59
#626Graphics2.98

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Had trouble opening the mac version. Looks pretty cool though!

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

I win! I was about to go crazy being unable to get past the trees in Green with the music in my head, but then I played blue and realized what was happening :P Great!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very solid for a first submission! Very nice concept :-)

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

I'm stuck on the dragon (red game). Liked the cartridge system and retro mood.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26am

Depending on the resolution, you can actually see the game to the left and right of the purplish background;

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Couldn't figure out how to get past the salamander / dragon in the lava mountain, and I fell out of the world after the party room in space man. I did like the idea, however.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Well, I managed to win. Somehow...

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

That was very confusing. I beat all three and got the win screen, but aside from the space one, I'm not really sure how I did it. The mechanic of changing cartridges didn't really seem to add anything, but the message about turning off the power when you unplug them with the system on made me chuckle. All around not bad, it just feels like you need some more time for polish.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

Actually really cool. I liked the puzzle to it. The lava mountain bug was something of an issue, because it basically meant that you could skip the whole thing, but I felt guilty for taking advantage of it so I started over. The puzzle was really cool because it was something that you could almost stumble across the solution for. The start of the spaceman cartridge was really cool, but I would say it should probably only be a little faster, since I ended up playing thru each a couple of times until I figured it out, so just got really impatient with how slow the spaceman drifted.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

Thanks for all the comments! If you are getting stuck please let me know where so I can put some hints in ^.^

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

looks weird on widescreen resolutions, you can see the full bitmap of each game behind the screen on the left and right. I liked it overall, clever take, but the jumping and slow walking kinda frustrated me at times.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Beautiful little game, I got the spaceman lost in the far-right nothingness but all turned out ok :D

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I win!!! I like the concept well done!!

AGausmann says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

A very good game! I wish I could have figured out how to win, but my tiny brain can't. :)

hd_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Cool game, I didn't get it at first until I read the comment that you could switch cartridge without turning off (also probably why some people don't get how they won).

The controls were irritating at first-- stick to one control scheme.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Interesting mechanic, would've worked great in LD30 (Connected Worlds)! The graphics and audio weren't that great, but overall, I had fun.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

Good concept, though the games themselves felt a bit rushed.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I love how the game system works. And with sounds it is very nostalgic. The games are little tricky but very good job anyway.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Great Job Cartwheel. Really dig the way this is put together. A solid entry with a lot of appeal :) Takes me back!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice use of the theme, I would suggest to change the name of the windows download to something more descriptive.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:59am

hey, I'm unable to get the web version to play. The unity player loading screen comes up but never does anything. Might be a problem on my end, but figured I'd let you know.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:05am

Good play on the theme!

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06am

I think it's cool that you put together a virtual system. a few people used the theme in this manner and it's cool. The games were hard. Couldn't figure out how to beat the dragon or what to do after the party room. It could be very cool if you made a collection of mini games and there was a meta game on top of that, like something in the world the console exists in that is the reason why you're playing all these games.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02am

The webplayer is not loading for me either. I'll try the windows version but you should check it out.

JonnyGinger says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:59am

Pretty good, but had some trouble getting past the dragon thing that blocked your path on the red cartridge. Amazing job!

pfitzner says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:35pm

You know, this was pretty decent; took me a minute or two to figure out how to solve it. Clever.

I did hit a glitch, however; I had it open in fullscreen, and it. Would. Not. Close. I had to shut my computer down to close it.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice idea.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:26am

Clever design! I liked this very much!

Erhune says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:31am

Took me some time to figure out you could move between game without loosing your items. I guess I've been raised too well, and always turned off before switching games ^^

Good job finishing this game in 48h, that's quite a lot of different content you have here!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Dont works in Mac? congrats, dude

Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Damn, I was instinctively turning the game system off before taking each cartridge out, I wouldn't want to damage anything! ;p

I really liked this game! The graphics were well designed, and that on noise was just perfect. I can't really say much about the use of the theme though, since I did something pretty close. Switching between the game worlds was pretty clever, though I wouldn't have figured it out myself without prompting.

The only annoyance I noted was sometimes the game would eat jump inputs, though that was a lot less of an issue once I realised that tall tree wasn't just a really hard jump.

All in all, a good showing!

NPException says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Really cool concept, I really enjoyed playing your game! :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:28am

Actually a really good idea. Reminds me of the old trick with Sonic 2 and 3, where you could go to the debug screen in Sonic 2, then take it out with the power still on, plug in Sonic 3 and you'd have access to the debug screen.

Another thing: the games themselves reminded me of was those weird pirate creations that come on the powerjoy and other NES clones. They share similar music and, no joke, the EXACT same sound effects. It's pretty uncanny!

The music was grating and just bad though. Sorry. Otherwise, cool.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:08am

Fun game. I thought the interaction between the games was a nice twist.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:38am

RETRO FOREVER. +1 would retro again.

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Very cool idea! Gameception :P

Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:43am

Playong on a computer on a computer... well done :D

codeapparat says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Very nice idea and great interpretation of the theme. That items only carry over to the other games when you DON'T turn off the console between games may make sense when you know what's going on, but is way too arbitrary of a condition otherwise and will likely get the player stuck and frustrated. Thus, getting rid of the ability to turn off the console would actually be better, in my opinion.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]