Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BACON DEFENDER: Ninja assault

by flegmatical - Jam Entry

*** NOTE: PLEASE CLICK WEB LINK ABOVE, OR FULLSCREEN TO PLAY! Embedded window is too small. Thanks! ****

Defend the king's bacon from ninjas! Ninjas with no arms even!

Controls:
WASD for moving
Mouse for aiming and shooting

Note:
Your score multiplier increases every 5 seconds.
It is reset if you take damage, or a ninja manages to bring bacon from your crate to the edge of the screen (red ninjas).

How much can you score?

Everything is created by me. I opt out of audio, as it is a track from before the compo. This was my first Ludum Dare and a lot of fun! I didn't get to finish the game, as I would like to have added more enemies, a more tower defense wave-like gameplay, better AI, more weapons, more music, sound effects etc.

I used the Phaser javascript framework for this. Awesome framework!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Humor(Jam)3.00
#644Fun(Jam)2.87
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#681Theme(Jam)3.35
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#738Graphics(Jam)2.74
#923Innovation(Jam)2.22
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

Hey flegmatical,

Good job on your first LD! I know you mentioned you opted out on audio, but it would've been so much better hearing the sound of a machine gun tearing them ninjas away!

Also, +1 for using Phaser; I use it too. :)

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This game is really cool, its quite funny as well, this is an awesome first Ludum dare attempt too.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Thanks guys, glad you liked it. Agree on the audio, it pained me to deliver without any sfx...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Pretty funny! Good work.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

VEry good game, but I found myself under the bacon box all the time rather than moving around, overall its a fun game

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

First LD? Pretty good man! You have the same problem as me, I also opted out of audio, and I also put in a Robert Del Naja track that didn't quite fit :P

I think it was pretty smart! At first I was like BLEH run into a corner and shoot across the stage - that got me typically like 50000+, but then I changed tact and moved to the middle and shot left and right...

So my biggest complaint would be design-wise, there are no incentives to move around. The best thing you can do is to stand next to the box and shoot left and right and occasionally up at some dude jumping.

I really like that there seems to be AI and they'd dodge bullets by air jumping. That's a really nice touch.

Oh and the fact that the multiplier is show way up there in the corner means having to take your eye off the action, which sucks. Incorporate it into the game so you don't have to move your eye too much. And it's tiny.

Good one :)

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I love it! Really fun, somewhat buggy too but it doesn't detract from the fun factor. Killing those pesky bacon ninjas felt very satisfying.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:04am

Hey! Thanks for checking out Natquik and leaving a comment. I really liked the mood you set with the music and lighting. Even if you didn't make the music during the compo, it was well chosen.

As far as improvements go, I think being able to fire while moving could be smoother and since the jump is a little awkward, you might want to drop the collision on the bacon box.

Otherwise it's a fun game and I'm glad you got to share it. Congrats! :D

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:37am

DEFEND THE BACON!!! XD Had a good laugh about the game ;) It is very basic. I think a bit more variation in the enemies would have been nice. Currently the best way to play is to just stand besides the bacon box and shoot left and right. Maybe if the enemies would shoot back it would be a bit more tricky, as you have to move around to avoid being shot.

rantt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:29am

Great first Ludum Dare game, always like seeing other phaser games :) I missed the sound fx but still a solid game. Good job, nicely done

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice one, really funny. I enjoyed it :).

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Hilarious fat ninjas, running away with bacon x) ... !!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]