Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

My Way Out

by victorafael - Compo Entry

My way out is a game where you must fight to regain the control over yourself after having your mind controlled by a entity.

I explore the concept of a Whole Game inside a Screen, by never removing a main element of the game. All the levels are built only re-arranging the blocks and changing colors to express the feeling over the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#322Theme3.79
#371Audio3.00
#397Graphics3.34
#409Overall3.33
#523Mood2.96
#581Fun3.06
#727Innovation2.90

Comments

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

WOW! Awesome job! It was a little too hard for me though, but then again, that's not saying much. :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

The block shuffling effect is really cool!

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Visually very nice. A simple platformer that works pretty well. The option to mute the music might have been nice since it just repeats. Also that snowman enemy is brutal. Took a lot of attempts to get around him.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

The audio is really cool and I love the block animations that build/destroy the level. My only complaint is that the gravity is way too slow; feels like the character is floating

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

The platforming feels a little slow, but other than that, amazing!
I really love the block shifting effect.

victorafael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

In my defense... the game is on the guy mind! Gravity works on another way there! :P

just kidding.. you guys are right.. But now I think I should have made variable gravity along the levels :(

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

Really great job with the animations!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

I love the way the platform are build between level! Great job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Wonderful music and really cool level design in a few areas.

Floaty controls make landing my jumps difficult.

The worst part about the game is that the 3D platforms make it really hard to tell where youre going to land, or if there is a gap, depending on the angle. I would recommend just going full 2d with it or have a camera that moves with the player to help show the platforms.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very good job, the polish was good. A little unsettling and counter intuitive with the lack of boundaries, but still responsive enough to fluidly play, once I got used to it.

priska says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28pm

awesome!! I love it!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Great game, I love the transforming worlds and the overall presentation. Everything is super smooth from the menus to the animations of the characters and environments. Only thing that I had issues with was the floaty controls, but that's fine for a gamejam game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

This game was nice. I loved how you put a perspective to all the blocks. Also all the blocks moving like that was super cool.

Ace says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I love the reusing of the blocks animation, looks really nice.
The music is a bit repetitive though, but that's understandable.
The controls felt slightly sluggish though, and the gravity was a bit low.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice. Really love the transition effects, not so keen on the other spritework though. Gameplay is rather plain and balnt, but it works.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Love the level transition !

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

nice job. ty for you game.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:01am

Cool rearranging effect. Nice game! I enjoyed it!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:04am

It's a cool concept to use the same blocks to construct each level. The platforming controls are a bit floaty. Since the gameplay is controlled entirely with the keyboard, it would be nice to be able to navigate the Menu/Retry screen with the keyboard too, instead of having to switch to the mouse. Nice work!

victorafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:48am

yeah! I only saw the need of keyboard menu interaction when I saw other people playing... but was after the deadline so I couldn't change! :(

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Love the building effect, seriously.

The design of the stages is pretty cool also, congratulations!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:23am

Very nice! The block movement was really really cool. I also liked the boss fight at the end. But man, screw that snowman! A recommendation for the future in a game where you die a lot: don't make the user have to leave the keyboard and go to the mouse to restart. Just play the death animation and restart it for him! Or let them press "R" or something to restart. Oh and I want to thank your attention to detail for allowing me to kill a mage at the end after the first jump and only fight the boss twice instead of thrice! Good job!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice idea with blocks utilisation :)

01101101 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Nice work! Controls are good even if the jump is on the floaty side ^^ The angled platforms are original.
I find the graphic combination of pixel art and "realistic" 3D a bit weird though.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Solid game, i find the controls kind of slow but its okey :3 Great work :D

gana0 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Neat visuals. I liked the combination of 3D blocks and 2D characters, although sometimes the blocks became a little confusing as to where you could land on them. Since the blocks are angled toward the outside, it was a little hard to tell where the end of the block was based on my 2D character. The jump and movement felt a little slow to me. The block rearranging animations were cool and the sprites were great as well. The music had nice atmosphere as well. Overall, a very nice platformer with cool 3D and 2D effects. I felt that the physics could have been more responsive or faster.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]