Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Santa's Last Stand

by GameStudioLive - Compo Entry

Play as One Of Santa's Elves, Defending yourself against a clever army of angry Snowmen! This is a 2D Side on Tower Defense where you are able to shoot the Snowman and lay down painful utilities to fight against the attack.

You Must Install This: http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=40784


This game was made live for 48 hours on http://twitch.tv/gamestudiolive.

Controls
===============================

Click on The Snowmen To Shoot When having your gun selected!
Press 1,2,3 to switch between your Gun, Barricades and Turrets. Click on the Location where you want to build your barricade or turret.

Try Not to loose, but more importantly have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2217Coolness17%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

It was really fun watching you make this man: Well done, and im glad you got it finished.
Enjoy your well earned sleep :D

frokes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

Cool game Ollie! I would have increased the range of the turrets but its nice how it is!

TheNeonHydra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

Awesome game, awesome stream. I had a lot of fun :D

GRsni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

Knowing the effort you have put in the making of this game is enough to congrat about the result. It's true there might some features that could have been improved, but nonetheless it's a really fun game to play.
Keep up the good work, Ollie!

Naith says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Great game, man! I've had a lot of fun watching the development of your game. Good job! :)

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

Cool game. I see you couldn't live without the snowman. #noman!! Good use of the theme.

scorer55555 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02am

Finally a download :D the game turned out really nice

Hellmight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Hellmight is Best mod

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Pretty fun once I got the hang of it. I'd be interested in seeing more tower defense elements, more kinds of static defenses and such.

Shooting doesn't have any punch to it. The entire game never really feels like I'm doing anymore more than just clicking on pictures of snowmen.

Note: you left Pompeii in the download, presumably by accident.

Psping says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Ollie this was really worth the wait. Even if my finger is now dead :D
Game definitely becomes impossible after a while, but that can't be helped with such a short window of time to test it.
Overall i think it was a good game that stuck to the theme and gave me some fun for a while.
PS i couldn't find the cheese D:

bigkidnuke says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Good game! loved watching u make it on twitch

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Good work!

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Really nice game and I also enjoyed the stream.

davesoft says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great work mate! :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Really well done!

Niyox says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Good work man,I know it's very hard to make a game in such little time.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:04pm

A nice concept! Clicking on the enemies felt strangely unresponsive, sometimes I could quickly destroy a snowman with three consecutive clicks, and sometimes I needed to click 3-4 times for one hit to land. This made the game a lot harder, but also somewhat frustrating.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really cool and fun, nice game! :D

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Damn fun game bro :D great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]