Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Escape

by wildfield - Compo Entry

A simplistic puzzle game about escaping from enclosing AI. Time moves only when you are either moving or drilling. Beware of walls. Reach the exit.

Controls:
Arrows or WASD to move.
X + arrows to start removing walls (After that it just requires time)
R to restart
P to pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Innovation3.62
#405Fun3.24
#731Mood2.73
#749Overall3.00
#753Theme3.45
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13am

Minimalistic puzzle game as it should be. Thanks!

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Wow that's really very difficult. The fact that it's not tile movement based makes it a bit harder than it needs to be because I kept getting stuck on the corners as I wasn't quite totally past them. Add to that, pressing an arrow key even when not actually moving still advances the enemies and I was unable to beat the first large puzzle. Pretty cool game though and a lot going on for how minimal it is. The drilling means the solution takes some thinking.

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very interesting puzzle game. Player movement led to getting stuck on things a lot though.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very good idea, drilling input wasn't working perfectly but still a really challenging game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

wow.. thought I was stupid when I could not beat level 3 ... then I found out about drilling ;)

btw: the big one is actually the last one. (source: I won :) )

I agree: grid movement would have made this easier to play. but nice anyway!

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Wooho, I beat the game in just 53.75 sec :) Simple and fun little game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

Not bad. The graphics were overly simple, and the mechanics were pretty plain, but it was fun and challenging. It became significantly easier once I realized that tapping a direction moved you much farther per enemy movement than holding the button, and it was way too easy once I figured that out.

triplefox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

You can cheat and outrun all enemies by tapping the arrow keys instead of holding them.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Once I figured out what was going on it was really fun. Simple yet challenging.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06am

This is a really good idea, but I began experiencing a lot of the same problems doitle was.

Enemies were advancing too quickly, I couldn't really coordinate drilling with moving as the monsters were perusing me, so I only really made it to the 3rd maze. I really wanted to continue, but I didn't see a solution to my problem.

Either or, this is a great beginning to something larger. Maybe fine-tune the movement a bit more and make the drilling mechanic uninvolved with moving? :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This is a really cool game and a great example of how a minimal graphical style can be very beautiful.

I think the controls should only allow discrete movement from one grid square to the next, instead of free movement. Accidentally moving farther than you intended, or accidentally trying to walk into a wall, can be frustrating. The drill mechanic could also use a visual representation so you know it's working.

I really enjoyed playing this. Thanks!

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:33am

58.22 secs, the drill controls were a bit iffy and the movement sometimes moved different speeds but otherwise decent puzzles.

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Had a feeling it could have a few more levels, had a few bugs too... But overall a very nice idea!

jpmit says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Interesting idea. Got difficult rather quickly. Was fun while it lasted though!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

fun to play but maybe too short. I think that 1-2 more ennemies behaviour/color ( static path / dash when see hero ) and you would be able to design 10 nice levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]