Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pail & Shovel

by Junuxx - Jam Entry

It's a sandbox! On a beach!

If your flag is swallowed by the waves, you lose.

Not all of the features we planned were implemented, but we still think it's pretty cool for a first LD submission. We had planned stuff like animals and kids walking around, collecting items to craft decorations for your sandy palace et cetera. But the physics took a lot of time to get right.

We did get nice rolling waves and dunes, terrain manipulation and erosion, a good interface with a lot of potential for expanded features. There is only a loss condition and no way to win, so it's now more of a survival game than a typical sim. But we had a lot of fun making it and will probably continue to add some of the additional ideas we had! Give it a try, we hope you'll enjoy it.

Note: I continued working after the deadline and added the web player later. It has some bugfixes, improved performance and additional building tools. To keep it fair, please base your rating only on the original Windows build :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Innovation(Jam)4.33
#36Mood(Jam)4.00
#62Graphics(Jam)4.37
#80Overall(Jam)3.85
#180Theme(Jam)3.92
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#381Humor(Jam)2.82
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26am

Great job my friend!I'll open it when i want to relax from now on!thank you

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00am

I'm seeing lots of potential here! call me crazy but this should have at least a mode where you can't lose, because this is very relaxing. Would love to play this on my iPad.

NuSan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Perfect mood, realy beautiful. I would love more space to build something big ! I dont understand what are the interaction with the kids. Keep up the good work!

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:32am

@NuSan: The kids are there mostly for flavor now. An unimplemented feature is that they would collect stuff from the beach, like seashells and starfish, which you could use to decorate and reinforce your castle.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50am

The graphics are beautiful, and so tactile! A free play mode where you can't lose would be great. I hope you do continue work on this--it has great potential. Well done!

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53am

Didn't really understand the concept of just keeping the flag afloat. Other than that, its really fun to mess around and make a giant pit of water and such. Neat emulator I could mess around in for a bit if I got bored. Keep up the work and feel free to contact me when more things are implemented, I'd like to see this go somewhere.
Good submission.

Rupert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It looks cool and the sounds are really nice. But there is not so much to do. I could not get the web version to start, probably because of my browser. Nice work!

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:18am

I think there's something here but I couldn't quite get what I was supposed to do. I might give it a try later. The first time I played I died really quickly. The second one I stayed alive but wasn't sure of what I was supposed to do. It seems to have potential, but I just couldn't understand it completely... or enough, to have fun with it.

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:37am

A very relaxing and peaceful game. Would love to see where this goes. Continue, please!

ghRibacki says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

I'll be judging the submitted version.
It is very relaxing and the physics are very interesting, but it could be more elaborated on how to build things with the sand.
I was a little confused as to why the flag was almost out of the screen... Maybe it would be nice to have it on the center so you can build stuff around it?
The dialog between the kids is really funny and got me interested! Can't wait to try the post-jam version.
Congratulations on your first submission!

uvwar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:41am

Awesome! More, more! Trying to get the webplayer to load but my internet is going at snail speed. The windows download was still very intriguing!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:55am

Looks like an interesting game but I could not get the web player version running at an acceptable speed. Will try the windows version if I get a chance.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20am

Very cool concept; it's fun even as it is now! Would be fun to see what the final game would have looked like. Great job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:26am

Interesting game, nice graphics. Well done! It's indeed very relaxing unless you get to retry the game and the flag gets placed almost in the water, you loose, again and again. :D

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:28am

This is a good idea, to be honest I didn't enjoy the gameplay that much but just the idea made me smile.

Soron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:19am

Sand! Sand sand sand sand! SAAAND GAAAAME ^_^! I like digging in sand :).

Pretty nifty start you've got, it's a shame that you didn't get more in for the LD itself. I do look forward to future changes, though :). (also, perhaps you could say what license you want to apply?)

Larzan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:05pm

So glad you added a web build, i had a tab with the rating page open ever since i saw you post and a preview image!
Love the concept gfx, some chilling music would have been great too, but well done.
It could need some more play testing for the events i guess, but the waves and the 'sand deteriorating' works really well, i was surprised to see what happened to the rest of the screen after i was occupied saving my flag for a while.
Great game, love it!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:40pm

INTERESTING..
NICE GRAPHICS..

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Cool game! Though I'm not very sure what's the strategy behind it... The people's sound effect is cute!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]