Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

I have monsters in my head

by Kaiziye - Jam Entry

In I have monsters in my head, you play as a little girl that has to deal with her phobias. Avoid monsters and traps, and if it get too scary, just close your eyes.

Controls :

Arrow keys - Move
Space key - Close your eyes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Hey, this was pretty difficult but I really like the idea. It became quite a fun timing puzzle to try and guess when you think it will be safe again.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13am

Its a nice idea but I seemed to be getting some odd input lag. The game would sometimes pick up button presses very late.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

This is pretty neat! I like how you have to evaluate if it's worth the risk to keep your eyes closed for longer or not, since - if you keep them closed for a brief time, you know where you are, but if you keep them closed for long, the world situation changed a lot, meaning you might die as soon as you open them.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice concept and it was a bit hard. Nice audio, it fits the game.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This was a nice idea! Collision boxes were a bit too big in my opinion, though.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:22am

Innovation 5/5: Pretty innovative!!!

Fun 4/5: Fun, but difficult.

Theme 3/5: Simply it's run in a single screen.

Graphic 5/5: Cute retro style.

Audio 4/5: Great sad/scary music.

Humor n/a: Without humor.

Mood 4/5: You created a good atmosphere.

Overall 3/5: Good simple game!!!

paperweight says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Very cool idea but super hard and a few times I don't know why I died.

anokta says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:38pm

whoa, brilliant concept, loved it! wish you had more time to explore the mechanics more. great job overall!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Actually a clever idea. The point is that you have to maneuver around holes, while you can blink 'through' enemies? There's room for interesting strategy there, and I like how you get different waves of enemy types. The monsters are animated well, too. One problem is that since you have only one life, it's very unforgiving...I would have liked an energy meter or something to let the player get used to it. (Also, the game says "move with WASD" but that doesn't work. :P )

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]