Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

I've Seen This Room Before

by gelisam - Compo Entry

You are in a room. The only room in the game. There are stairways going up and down, but somehow they lead back to this same room. The architect must have been a fan of Escher paintings.

As you walk up and down the stairs, you start to notice strange details. Was this wall here before? How come I've never noticed this shiny golden key, lying there on the floor, begging to be picked up?

It's a mystery. I suggest you continue going up. Or down; they both lead to the same room anyway.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#55Innovation4.08
#121Fun3.67
#136Theme4.04
#182Overall3.63
#194Humor3.16
#759Graphics2.76

Comments

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

Good job, fellow Haskeller! It's nice to see people trying to bring Haskell to mainstream game development!

I couldn't figure out how to get past level five, but otherwise you had the right idea.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very good job! Reminded me of The Stanley Parable for some reason

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01am

Clever puzzles, got to use the brainmachine on this one

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great execution of the theme. It's clever that the same level changes to become a new level. I liked the simplicity of the game a lot. I tested the Mac version and unfortunately I think the textures don't load? They're just primitive black and white shapes. Or is that on purpose? OK, clearly I didn't make it past level 5 either but I did enjoy the concept a lot.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

This is a great game - I really love the interesting puzzles (although I couldn't get past the second puzzle)

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10am

Cool idea.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Nice concept - I really liked how you could step back through levels. I couldn't get passed level 5.

Graphics did not load for me on OSX, all the bmps in /images were not found.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

I really loved the puzzle design. Really nice work.

gelisam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

@ruthiepee, the black-and-white images are a fallback version in case the textures aren't found. Since you saw them instead of seeing a crash, I'm glad I put them in :)

For the textures to be found, the working directory must be the same as the executable's. Try opening Terminal.app, navigating to the folder and running it there using "./ludum-dare31".

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Just FYI gelisam, running it from Terminal worked for some reason. Thanks. Game was still fun without the graphics though. :D

dorkster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great job. It took me a bit to understand what was going on, but it was a nice "ah-ha" moment when I figured it out.

I couldn't get the Linux version to run, but the Windows build worked just fine in Wine. Below is the error I got on Linux:

./ludum-dare31: : ATUSHûHìH-Ó : Error 43356896

gelisam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

@dorkster: Wow, that's quite an incomprehensible error message! I suspect I might have packaged too many .so files with the executable, causing some interoperability issue with the so files on your system. Deleting the duplicate .so file should help, but this message doesn't help us very much in figuring out which.

gelisam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

To those who gave up because the puzzles were too hard: here's a walkthrough.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_S2D_-qNV4U&list=UUj3bTCRO7WUVBQLtOhnc6Sg&index=1

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24am

Love it! Could not get past level 12 though... tough!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:30am

Really innovative use of the theme. Good puzzles!

max_peabody says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:31am

Around level 12 it broke and wouldn't let me move up anymore :(

Great level design, though, and I loved how you made use of the theme.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:35am

I (eventually!) made it to the end. I kept getting stuck with not *quite* enough keys, but I persevered until I figured it out.

Great level design!

One suggestion I would make is to make the transitions between "rooms" feel a bit more... transitional? Right now it feels like the player is transported to the top, rather than walking down stairs to the same room. If that makes sense.

Good job, overall!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Lovely game i enjoyed this one, This was very innovative and i loved the puzzle idea! Great entry! gave me a good laugh with my friends!

Cosine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Clever take on the theme. I'd like to see more done with the concept, with more than just doors and keys (possibly boxes that you can push around?)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This was well done, nice job! Really liked the transitions between rooms.

ibilon says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great level/puzzle design!
Managed to go to level 12 before getting stuck and having to watch your walkthrough.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Character is great! ))
I'm not sure that I've dig in gameplay

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Great innovation and very good puzzles. I don't think I've played a puzzle game with this mechanic before, and it was fun figuring out how to get past the tough levels. I have no complaints, other than the fact that you've made me crave more puzzles!

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:59am

Very cool game! Loved the balance between "rewinding" to exploit duplicates and accidentally undoing your own progress. Cool ending idea. Would love to see more!

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:03am

Fun puzzle game, took me a while to solve it. I enjoyed it, great job :)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:02am

Fantastic game, and great use of the theme. Going back in a time is a fantastic way to solve puzzles or just fix mistakes. Well done!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:53am

Interesting idea, but didn't get how to go past level 5 :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:36am

i see what you did here - very clever - awesome game

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:17am

I would love to see you draw this idea out more! Did someone say Haskell? :D

iShadow says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Very good game! Very unique and fun to play.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:09pm

the penalty is harsh, greate game!

Raxsus says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Pretty fun, funny, and interesting. I don't think I finished it though.

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:16pm

that is a clever game! Second puzzle took me a while.
I like the end too.

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:10am

Some really clever puzzles - loved the mechanic of being able to move back and forward between the different levels. Would be great to see more levels and a visual makeover, and some audio.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

nice game good job

Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

Great idea! The puzzles were interesting, from a conceptual level, and didn't outstay their welcome. A very nice use of the theme!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really challenging game! Graphics really do fit the game. Good job, especially for a compo. You must be a very smart guy to be able to design these levels.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very nice game!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Love the idea of going back in time to complete future levels! You should definitely expand on this one.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]