Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mobster Massacre

by Shpuld - Compo Entry

You have found yourself in the dark and dangerous downtown district. The local mobsters want you dead. Collect better weapons to (temporarily) boost your abilities to fight back, avoid their punches and you will survive some rounds.

Run around in the small (one screen) district with right click, shoot with left click. Handling both moving and shooting with mouse only generates interesting system where doing the both requires some mouse dexterity.

Game is running on FTE QuakeWorld. The game code is completely in QuakeC, the engine source code hasn't been touched by me. You can find sources and everything related to the engine from fteqw.com

You can find the Mobster Massacre source code in game/gamecode folder, or download it separately from the source link.

SMALL UPDATE:
Added linux port in, also fixed 1 small bug that I consider typo tier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#316Graphics3.49
#435Audio2.91
#503Mood2.98
#528Theme3.62
#578Overall3.18
#633Fun3.02
#760Humor2.20
#925Innovation2.55

Comments

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Looks cool, but it does not display the character nor any enemies for me (Win 8.1).

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Didn't see character models completely but could play. Nice font. Did you make it yourself? Good job!

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39pm

As said above, character and enemies are invisible

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I'm sorry, would love to rate because it plays quite well, but the game doesn't render charcters or entities for me either (Windows 7).

The game feels good though, the controls are tight, the sound is pretty cool and the graphics are great too. Real shame I can't get it to run properly :(

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Looking good, but please remember there also users that are using keyboards.
And why the mafia comes only with fists?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I really like this entry, The character doesnt display for me, nor do the enemys, i can only see either if i fire.

I assumed this was designed into the game and loved it tbh, it added a certain level of difficulty to the game and made sure i was focused.

Great game :D

Shpuld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Guys I have no idea why the characters don't show up :( I developed the thing on windows and never noticed such a bug.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

The map looks quite good, Also the concept is interesting. Since the characters are invisible, I think you could add a mechanism for detecting enemies before shooting.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Same as the other player, I'm just a floating gun fencing off invisible enemies :(

Shpuld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Ok, I suppose trying to fix this kind of a bug is ok, since I didn't even had the chance to encounter it previously. Try redownloading it if you had the bug, removed a single line from one shader file.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27pm

All player models are missing on WIN 8.1

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Great game! Sounds are outstanding, graphics looks great and the controls are very neat. I'd welcome some object in the environment. It looks very empty now.

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Solid topdown gameplay. As mentioned by others; Some shooting enemies would have been nice. But the shooting, and the different weapons, felt satisfying.

I know there's keyboards and all, but I rather liked the mouse controls. Moving and shooting at the same time with a simple few clicks felt smooth.

Elendow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

Love the font. The game is a bit repetitive, but cool at all.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

Good simple shooting fun. There's not much reason to walk around the level, and the standard pistol is as good a weapon as any, but i liked it.
No technical issues for me. But the graphics were a bit dark for a windowed game.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

Solid game. Quite a unique way to play. Gameplay could have a bit more variety. All in all well done.

taviandir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31pm

neat little game. the enemies' pathfinding was a bit wonky tho :p

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06pm

reminded me of my childhood :D really miss these types of games! good work, good gameplay. well done.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Solid entry. The movement seemed weird but once I get used to it I loved it. The gameplay is actually pretty good. With some shooting enemies this could be really funny game with good replayability. Also **** for the imaginary "Uncommon Technical Solution" category! Good job :-)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Great visuals, good sound (except the lack of music, would really add a lot I think) and, well, a really nice font.
It just seemed the pistol was the best weapon to be honest, after two rounds of running arount frantically to always get the shotgun, I just stood around, shooting guys with the pistol, which was much easier. :P
Also, it would have been nice if each enemy left a small blood decal on the ground, letting you see your "progress".

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Nicely made, nicely rendered, quite fun :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice game! I love the gameplay! Well done

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:58am

Works well for me, slight graphics issues with the mouse cursor but nothing major.

I really enjoyed this take on the overhead shooter. Good job, especially as a compo entry!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:04am

I liked how you could click somewhere to move and then shoot as your guy completed the move on his own. Its a clever way of eliminating the need for WASD to circle strafe, and lets you get away with just a mouse.

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I like the mouse only control scheme of it. Weapon spawns could be a tad more frequent since the ammo on them is very low anyway. Overall fun game.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:26pm

There are a lot of similar games to this on this LD but the control and approach on this one is very cool. I liked the clock to move and shoot better than the twin stick approach of other games. Could have used more enemies and variation BUT a very decent effort. good job!

lxd1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Cant see characters,

ceosol says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Awesome game for the amount of time put into it. Best part in my opinion was running away and shooting behind you. That made me laugh :)

I saw a video on "game feel" for shooters. I think the pointers said in the video would apply here. There were at least 20, but I'll only list a few: bigger bullets; faster enemies; less hp on enemies; faster respawn.

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Was a lot nicer than I was expecting. Good graphics, gameplay was well aided by control scheme. I did enjoy. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]