Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

I don't like Sectors

by RonnyEGT - Jam Entry

Take the challenge on surviving the longest in this crazy fast-paced reaction game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#392Audio(Jam)3.00
#468Overall(Jam)3.24
#484Fun(Jam)3.06
#509Innovation(Jam)3.03
#682Mood(Jam)2.79
#725Graphics(Jam)2.77
#754Theme(Jam)3.24

Comments

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

Hard to control, hard to understand

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Really hard game, can't get past 10 ! Nice concept though.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I'm completely addicted to your game ! I'm hurry to see how much other player can score.

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Thank you lot! Yeah I had in mind that this perhaps was going to be a challenging game (Just like many of the other games I've made), but with some practice, you'll get the hang of it and probably join on taking the rankings within the game :L
(PS: you may look at the video in there, it might help you figuring out an easier tactic by the way I'd play it, just a suggestion)

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Hard game, but I like it, it reminds me to super hexagon :P.

XTremEive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Pretty much everyone said hard... So yeah it's hard, and a bit confusing too (at first). Nevertheless it was fun and catchy.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very compelling. I really rather like the music. I got a decent score (>80) on Easy, and I may return to attempt the same on harder difficulties.

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

It's decent and pretty fun, but gets dull really fast. Something that would help it is to make restarting put you right back into the game instead of having to go though the menus again.

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice game, good fun. I liked the menu controls in particular!

Davision says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Norton deleted it after I started it. Mentioning it is a threat.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Good work!

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:58pm

@Davision, it's harmless, + anti-viruses will detect almost every game as a threat, because they've been rarely downloaded (Because they are all new), but that doesn't mean they're a threat :V

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I like how the menu design meshes with the game's controls. Incredibly difficult to pick up, though. I feel like introducing the patterns without a break of all black sectors in between makes it hard to differentiate danger and safety fading in and out.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Nice little arcade game, quite challenging. It took me a long time to realise that the "red flash" with the ticking sound didn't mean I was taking damage.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Whoop made it to insane highscores! This is very polished! simple idea, well executed. A bit Super Hexagon? ;)

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

People keeps mentioning "Super Hexagon", I guess it's time I take a look at what is that about xD

Verz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32am

It's a nice concept but a bit hard for my skills hehe :P

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:24pm

hard to understand whats happening...

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The difficulty here isn't inappropriate - that's okay with me! Although my own LD game are all a bit too hard for folks and I think I lose some votes that way, so maybe don't listen to me. ;)

But I think a quick reflex-twitcher like this is good if it's hard. The initial moments of learning did confuse me but then I got the hang, and I could see how it puts your brain into that mode on the edge of panic where it's trying to stretch forward and see what's about to happen. Very cool.

I probably would have gotten addicted to it, except for one fatal flaw: the retry loop. Less than a 1-second error instantly ends the game, and it can happen IMMEDIATELY when you start... but then I have to type in a name and then navigate through two levels of menus to play again. I would have played a lot longer if the retry were just a single keypress, and it would remember my name.

My friend was railing on me the other day: "Dude, think about it - the second the player dies, that's his emotional low point. That's the time he's going to decide whether to jump back into your game, or stop playing for either this session or the rest of his life. You gotta make sure you put the effort into making him want to retry and not quit!"

Please excuse me (and tell me) if there was a faster way to restart and I just missed it.

That's a tiny thing though and I don't mean to be critical! You've got a nice game here. Good work.

GFM says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:59pm

As everyone else said, it's hard. But that's not a bad thing for this kind of game. :)

My only complaint is: no controller support? >__<

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Oh that's actually a very nice point and I'm glad you've pointed it out, perhaps a "retry" selection might of had been ideal for it, however I was struggling to think about how to make most of the displays, like: there's the name there, and what if you want to restart without entering a name? or doing it by entering a name? I actually planned how it could be done now, but too late to make an update now as the voting began already Dx, although, one doesn't really have to type a name to retry, you can simply press the "Bk" and it will throw you straight back to the menu, but yeah, I'll plan on putting a retry on after the voting ends

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I didn't have the full 72 hours available for the development, so I'm sorry for not having controller support as I thought it wasn't so necessary, specially that it only requires the direction keys, perhaps I think it would be harder with a joystick :L

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Ronny, let me throw an idea at you for what the player should have to do to retry in your game:

Nothing.

Why stop it at all? The consequences of death are just that your score goes back to zero. If it were my game, I would have it so that when the player loses, instead of his square turning red, it turns red and smashes to bits that fly off the screen while you show his score briefly. Then a new square is assembled in the center and he's already playing a new game before he knows what hit him. The only consequence of failure is a very short delay for him to take a breath and watch his score reset. Make him hit a special button to NOT just keep playing.

That's a bit extreme (tho not as extreme as what I did in my own game this LD for the retry problem), and a more conservative plan is just pause it and have him hit space.

Check out a game in this LD called "iceman" and you'll see a nice single-keypress retry loop on an ultra-difficult game. That one I did get addicted to even though it was even more difficult, and a huge part of it was the ultra-quick retry.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice graphics and music :) As everyone mentioned game is hard but not impossible and I think that with practice high scores are possible :D I think that it would fit on mobile platforms because it can be played on short sessions.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:32pm

like the colours!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:58pm

didnt understand how to play, and the resolution was way too low

Nokifict says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:14pm

pretty good game, but so hard XD
the consept is good anyway :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:56pm

The game was tough at first, had fun with it though. Like the menu design.

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I don't get it, explain?

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:30pm

nice game litlle bit diifficult

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Challenging, fun little game. I Included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3dnkCRJktbw

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]