Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Pong Invader Stuff

by PentaHelix - Compo Entry

In this game you play through interpretations of classic games, somehow with the same character, and all of that on the same screen. If that doesn't sound like fun I don't know what does.

Made by Jakob Kuen (@pentahelix)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#559Fun3.08
#673Audio2.50
#677Humor2.33
#710Innovation2.92
#723Overall3.04
#739Mood2.72
#841Graphics2.65
#1045Theme3.04

Comments

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Can't run it :(

It opens a console window, but it closes so fast I can't quite read what it says. It's an unhandled exception of some sort. I think it says "failed to load library: std.dll".

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Cannot Run. When I click on the exe it opens a command prompt for a split second then closes

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Same for me, Unhandled exception when trying to run it.

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

This looks really fun -- but I'm getting the same issue, cannot run it.

PentaHelix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

I'm on it

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

Sorry, no have windows...

ViliX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

The same as the others :/

Skills641 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

can't run it

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

It does sound fun, but I can also, not run it...

PentaHelix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27am

Should be fixed now

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

I can confirm it works now. I finished in 168 seconds! :D

I liked it. Everything was very functional. Controls felt a little loose on the platforming section. I felt like by the time I got used to the fall jump and the sliding the section was over. I really liked the transformation from the guy to the plane.

PentaHelix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43am

Haha the transformation took a lot of time.
Thank you!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Pretty awesome game!

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Not bad :3

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

fun but a little hard at jump.....

Zabuza says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

Doesnt work... console flashes for a second then closes.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Can't run it either :/

PentaHelix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Which version doesn't work?

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I liked it. The transitions was cool. I got 148 seconds, beating all the bots! :D

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Pretty cool! The concept was interesting, and I liked the transitions between games. The progress in the top left was nice to have, and the high score system was a smart move, because I might go back and play it a few more times now to beat those bots!
The graphics could have been better. It was clear you were trying to go for pixel art, but there wasn't much continuity between sprite resolutions. Some pixels were bigger or smaller than others.

pfitzner says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I really liked it; the transitions between games were smooth and the graphics looked nice. I also didn't have any issues with the controls.

One thing I think could be changed would be to make the timer visible before the end; still, good game all around.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:05pm

That platforming section was frustrating - friction seems too low

NPException says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very nice concept! :)

Wiering says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:37am

If you're using HaxeFlixel, why not compile a web version?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]