Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

LD31 - FuFuFuel!

by hectorhon - Compo Entry

Finally! First entry ever! First time "finishing" a playable game in such a short time!

The original intention was to build a survival defense kind of game, with simple graphics but focus on strategy and macromanagement. I guess I was overambitious, though. Most of the planned features never made it into the game (complex targets, level-up weapons, etc.) It's way past bedtime and it's freaking Monday tomorrow...

Enjoy the game, post your scores in the comments! (Didn't manage to implement the high scores table, awww.) I'm sure I'll find time to build on the game post-jam. (After rating the games, of course!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#281Theme3.83
#666Fun2.97
#673Overall3.09
#698Innovation2.94
#715Mood2.75
#840Humor2.00
#1025Graphics2.33

Comments

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I felt that having only three missiles at one time was too limiting, neat concept though.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Three missile systems, the missiles fire endlessly. I started out with five at first, but the player became invincible instead :X

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I could certainly see where there may have been thoughts of more features. The upgrade system is quite interesting and makes for good gameplay. I tried 3 or 4 different compositions to see which one was the most effective.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I enjoyed the upgrade system but the lack of ship mobility didn't feel right to me. I wouldn't mind seeing more of this given more time though!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very good attempt for a first ludum dare, keep up the good work. Menu works great and adds some progression. I would like to move though, adds a bit more interaction. Or let the player fire himself. But its a general problem of the genre. Artstyle is well done.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Really like this! Nice upgrade system, and the limited controls make it build tension. Maybe the difficulty curve is a bit too steep.

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I like it, good job. Used 2x homing and basic got up to a score of 22.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice! Gets quite interesting once you've tried a few upgrade options. That basic gun though, I can't hit anything with it! Takes me ages just to get the first couple of coins.

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Nice, but hard "retro" style game.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43pm

@Cake_Catastrophe That was the intention, actually, to steer players away from manually controlling ("micromanaging") the tower. The game I had in mind, it could just progress on its own, something like Defcon by Introversion Software on realtime, leaving players free to perform daily tasks.

But I guess there's still a lot of work to get there :P

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06pm

like how you've merged resource management with a shooter, well done

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Fun game. Maybe takes a while to long at the beginning to get into it.

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I like the game! Keep up! ^___^

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Great first entry! I managed 10 to get 10. I would love to see this developed further

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Neat concept, average game, and I liked it! A bit hard to aim, but thats okay!

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Good idea. Nice Game.

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

As a first try is a very good game, the mechanic need some improvement though.

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

this is a nice entry, mixing both concepts of a shooter and of management. i like this idea :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Great job on a first entry. Liked the way you added the management aspect to the space shooter and the simple visuals worked well.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice little game, had fun! :-)

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:59pm

good concept...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]