Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Frosty

by trenchgames - Jam Entry

Stay Frosty is a stealth / shooter game.
You are a highly trained sniper, deep behind enemy lines.
Your mission is to take out the enemy command structure.
Officers are your highest priority targets.
Avoid detection by the enemy, eliminate your targets, don’t let anyone get out alive.

The Team:
Daniel Ries
Michael Kaiser
Tim Lewis

Music created by DeceasedSuperiorTechnician (http://www.nosoapradio.us/)

Tools Used:
Unity Pro
Maya
Photoshop
Audition
Visual Studios
Rain AI
FreeSounds.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#55Fun(Jam)3.84
#94Overall(Jam)3.82
#135Mood(Jam)3.64
#165Theme(Jam)3.95
#214Graphics(Jam)3.86
#292Innovation(Jam)3.40
#416Humor(Jam)2.74

Comments

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

The controls are a bit annoying but otherwise its pretty good. I like the way you shoot.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53am

..awesome game!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

Nice little game. =) I like how you have to take aim every time every time you want to shoot.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Wow, had a blast with this! Simple and fun idea!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

This game is great fun. Good job!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

Great game with good atmosphere. It is difficult not to die, though, but I guess it is the purpose.

jarry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

Love it !

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Awesome stealth game.
Really great mechanics.
If front-end will be improved(I know it's a jam) this will be really playable game.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Loved it. Difficult. Simple. Great gameplay. Felt like getting spotted was basically game over. Not sure if it was just me but I really couldn't hit anything on its way to an alarm.

BCSGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07am

Great idea and stuck to the theme quite well. Looks great and sounds great. The lighting looks to be spot on and appreciated the accuracy mechanic.
If I had to knock anything it'd be the movement scheme. I kept running around in circles forgetting to move the pointer. Just didn't feel intuitive. I'd suggest setting the mouse for movement (point-click or hold and follow mouse style) and the spacebar would switch off movement for aiming/firing.
Overall one of the better ones I've seen so far. Awesome job!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Cool.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

I'm confused about the controlls. The game looks really professional as for a game jam. Good job. I also like the music.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Love the name! I enjoyed playing, although I had some trouble with the controls. I would like to see either strafing and walking back, or play up the sniper element and allow hiding places and blinds to fire from. These are just my two cents, overall a solid entry, nice work!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24am

Excellent game, I just hope the player could go faster or have a run option, other than that all mechanics are awesome. Great job!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

awesome dude, great game!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Really good on every point.
I had a really fun time playing it and the level design is well done.
Really nice work :D

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

solid concepts, awesome mechanics, nice GUI!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Haha I'm terrible at this, I think I might be too impatient for stealth games ;) Very cool though, and I like the name ^^
I had no issues with the control scheme, but my one complaint is that the sfx could have been a lot better (the dog bark is sooo repetitive). Also I would have felt more baddass if the sniper shot was extremely muffled. Which reminds me, I loved the aiming mechanic!

alfadur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Some quality sniping mechanics in this game! It would be nice addition if the sniper had to escape somewhere after completing the mission, since right now it's a bit easy to get up close to the target and shoot without caring for consequences.

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Great to see another stealth game in this LD (I made a similar game, albeit more focus on the sneaking and not on killing).

Thinks I liked:
* The graphics and indicators of the guards vision
* Sniping mechanics
* Different types of enemies

Things I didn't like so much:
* Movement controls
* That I have to start from Level1 if I fail a mission ;-)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow. Really cool. Best game of that type I played yet. If the controls would be not forward/backwad but just control player independantly of direction he is looking it would be perfect. Very addictive game.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Good work!

RT_Jester says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Have you guys posted this on Reddit? You'll have our upvote http://i.imgur.com/ye5nOg8.gif

RT_Jester says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21pm

We made this for you guys! http://imgur.com/CehfaNW

local minimum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I really like what you did with the lighting. And the assets all looked great.

I died quite a few times in the beginning and it was a bit annoying having to wait for the level to reset. I wanted to fast click, space something back to get to try it again.

I think the controls were OK, though I missed quite a few shots and died from not remembering how to walk. When I finally got the hang of it a bit and survived to kill off many it kind of became apparent that the difficulty progression was rather reversed. It started quite hard and then for a long time (since I'm not that good of a sniper) it just kept getting easier until it got really hard again. Maybe there's another spawning mechanism possible, with smaller waves of enemies and have the waves go per shots fired or time or something so that difficulty in the beginning works more intuitively.

I was also surprised that several features was possible to walk through for the enemy (like the house and guard tower).

But in general a really well made game and I enjoyed playing it!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:46am

This is fun!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Really fun! One of my favorite games so far! Fits well with the them too. Good job!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Nice game, very fun to play, even if the aim-machanic is not very well done, at least in my opinion.
But the idea is fresh and it´s very well executed. I would love to see you guys upload the source-files

Crosstales says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I wasn't a good soldier ;-)
But a nice game, looks polished and has great graphics/sound.

Very well done!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Good music and interesting bouncing aiming reticule

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Really fun! The controls (choosing the direction with the mouse) can be a little tricky at first. Excellent production sound and graphics. Well done!

Riocide says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:54pm

shooting mechanic has a good concept but the controls are a bit flimsy...Music could have been chosen better

SivGoose says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Interesting game idea, The size of your game is too larege to see the whole map on a 15.5" monitor, perhaps make it smaller so more people can enjoy the game.
If you fix this problems the game will me much more enjoyable. I think its a fabulous game other than that small problem

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]