Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BounceEmUp

by Kuality Games - Jam Entry

Smash, shoot and bounce in space. Bounce em up is an arcade physics based local multiplayer shooter!

*Please look at the instructions*

Controls:

Player 1:
Movement - A, D
Jump - W
Shoot - Spacebar

Player 2:
Movement - Left & Right Arrow Keys
Jump - Up Arrow Key
Shoot - rCtrl

You can increase your speed by bouncing off the walls and RAM your enemy!
But be careful, it will also damage yourself, so play smart.

You can shoot rockets and plasma! (IN SPACE!!)
Feedback is much appreciated, have fun playing the game!

Music by: The Spin Wires


Find - Kuality Games - on Facebook!

*UPDATE: Uploaded a higher resolution web build.*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#131Audio(Jam)3.64
#157Fun(Jam)3.55
#160Graphics(Jam)4.01
#251Overall(Jam)3.51
#329Theme(Jam)3.72
#342Mood(Jam)3.27
#365Innovation(Jam)3.25

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

awesome, great gameplay and amazing graphics!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05am

Good Graphics ... Looks like fun... need to give more info on how to play...

Inateno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

really nice remind me one of my game.
Tried alone but I can feel how much is it fun with a friend ^^

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32am

looks cool but no idea how to play, its broken. shooting does not work. and player one always wins, rather its a tie

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Nice! It's a solid little game, feels really tight to play, and gives the feeling that it could be fairly competitive if you got good at the mechanics. I like it.

Joel 2724 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

very good pretty real imajenes

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

hart to control (good way). Like it

pkenney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20am

Looks and sounds fantastic. I wish there was more direct control. The jump is a tiny hop in midair, and the side to side movement is mild compared to inertia. I have no idea whether my rockets are ready to fire.

That lack of direct control made it quite hard for me as a new player. I did play local multiplayer and we had to agree to stop shooting each other to explore the movement and figure out how it worked.

But it's slick production and I did have some fun button-mashing.

jsscjss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Visuals, controls and sounds are amazing! No lag, everything is very smooth. Love it!
note: I wish I could shoot more

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice. Creative.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Solid game, smooth. Nice graphics, nice sound. Well done!!!!

kaa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Very cool!! Beautiful graphics, physics and nice sound effects! Interesting gameplay

jamajk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

great game! bit lack of control feeling, maybe bit bigger level would help.

Brassawiking says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

A nice twist on a arena brawler!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

amazing :D

FPS-Art1st says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:08pm

These people life-streamed the entire thing, the game play is fun! Personally though I'd have preferred a higher firing rate and object velocity to play a role in damage output to the other orb.

The orbs look cool, I think if the visuals had an hour or two more polish they'd be awesome.

I can already imagine the game with unlocks such as rocket boosts! :D

There are a few interface bugs that shouldn't take long to fix. But most of all, this is a fun mini game they can be proud of.

iShadow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Superb game! Liked absolutely everything. It's like more aggressive Super Smash Bros.
Awesome entry!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Yeah! Badass turbo deathmatch pinball! B)
Would definitely play a game like this on a console with a friend!
Graphics and sounds are pretty good!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Thanks for this game :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:01pm

pretty neat brawling ball game! I played it by myself, but I could see how fun it would be with 2 players some kind of indication when you reload would be the only suggestion I have. nice work!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Neat!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:29pm

This game is incredible. I would love to see online multiplayer, but i suppose ping would be an issue

Crosstales says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Very nice gameplay and good graphics/sfx.

Great job!

paperweight says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, good work!

OFF says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really well made game, the physic is really perfect and the sound effects are gorgeous.
But actually in order to perfectly be in the theme, your game could be describe as a pinball fighting game, and by imagining the same idea inside a real pinball would make, in my opinion an insane game.
Still a really fun game, but imagine futuristice pinball fighting game of robots.
Perfect! ;)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice concept,fun and simple. I loved the song in background.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Since I'm a billy no-mates I couldn't really test this game to its fullest, but it seems really fun. The graphics are excellent, the feel of the game is pretty satisfying. The whole mood of the game is just intense and action-packed. Good stuff.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:29am

Unfortunately I didn't have a second player so it ended up being Right Hand vs Left Hand. :) Right Hand won!

This handled REALLY well. The controls were good, nice and smooth. There was a lot of quality player feedback, and I felt like I could sit and stay for awhile. :)

Definitely something worth working on post-LD. Power ups, different levels, and just more content in general will make this game super-awesome! Solid foundation. :)

Tino says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:27am

That was quite a bit of fun to play! Impressive to see what you managed to create in such a short time frame. I'm sure that your game dev future is bright indeed. :)

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice visuals, nice music, I'll try this out again with a friend :) [my multitasking skills are failing me on this :D ]

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Super visual and sound, and really cool to play!
Awesome work!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Frenetic game! I like that entry. You just need to blow your opponent, once, and twice, and again, and again. Before I played this one, I'm absolutelly relaxed. Good work :D

kipelovets says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice multiplayer game, can't wait to play online multiplayer version ;)

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Wow, I was really impressed with this one. The screenshots do it no justice. The handling is fantastic. It's so satisfying knocking the players around. The bouncing is handled perfectly and the players are super responsive to the controls. The sounds is also really good, as well as the visuals. Particles were spot on, shadows and lighting were great. Would be neat to have some sort of tutorial level, and a round end / begin function would be a great addition. Varying characters could also be really good. I ended up playing by myself right hand vs left so some sort of simple AI would be crucial. Hope to see you continue with this one. Nicely done.

skiddings says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Cool game, nice local multiplayer. The interface was a little buggy, it didn't decrease the number of hearts after someone died.

rabbit says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Really fun game. I like that you dont have to aim. Its sort of liberating.

Played this with my friend for a while and had a blast. No pun intended.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:02am

I really liked it! Cool and punchy gameplay, well-done and professional-grade graphics, cool music, this seems really polished!

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Had no second person to play with but I played against myself :P Fun game to play on stream and would be even better with a second person. Art was really nice as well I might fetch a second person and try it on stream again great game.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Though I wish there were more moves that you could do besides floating and shooting, this game has GREAT graphics and is very well implemented! Awesome entry!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Good arcade gameplay. Looks incredible.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very well polished, and I loved the screenshakes during the ramming and shots. More control to cause bouncing would be nice. As an example, pressing down might cause your ball to bounce higher.

In my personal opinion, the bounce was the best part of the game, yet most underutilized.

ynots says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:25pm

nice...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]