Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Balls and Blocks

by monsieurvinou - Jam Entry

* DISCLAIMER *
Since I'm not an expert on the framework I used to make this game, I couldn't make a web version of it. Since it's with air, you have to actually install the game to play it. I really hope some of you will take the time to do it and give me feedback.
If not, I totally understand. If we had to install every game we give notes to for the Ludum Dare, nobody would play any of those games!
* END OF DISCLAIMER *

This game is pretty simple.
All you need to do is collect the most balls in the time you have.
Each time you collect a ball, you get 5 more seconds on the clock.
Each time you collect a ball, a block will appear in its place.

There are 4 types of blocks :
- Blue block : It's a platform
- Black / White blocks : They are platform, but you can disable/enable them with the "Switch" button ( Tab, Shift, Q, W, E, B on XboxController ). A white block cannot be walked on, but the black ones can. When you switch, the white blocks become white and white ones become black.
- Red Block : If you touch them, you die!

It's a quick gameplay game, the graphics are pretty poor ( mostly blocks of color ) but I'm pretty proud of my stickman animation!

Preview video :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3z5HWCRaCE8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#410Audio(Jam)2.95
#675Innovation(Jam)2.78
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#739Humor(Jam)2.10
#752Overall(Jam)2.91
#765Theme(Jam)3.22
#846Mood(Jam)2.50
#883Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice music! I like the idea, but couldn't get used to the jumping. I missed nearly all the blocks...

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Nice work, I like the idea of switching the level design, it's quite interestin.

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24pm

The physics are wayyy too floaty for my liking, which kind of spoils the game. The music is good, and the mechanic is decent, and probably would be fun if the controls were tighter.

jpcote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

Nice game however the controls were awful to me. Never got to grab more than 2 circles...

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:50am

CANT DO THE JUMPING THING PROPERLY...

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really quite difficult because of the floaty controls.
I made a similar mistake with mine!

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I don't know how to open the game. :(
The game looks nice and easy.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:48pm

really nice game

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Really dug the music and animations. The game play was really fun. The controls could be a little tighter but really nice work.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]