Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Encadenado

by Deal With It - Jam Entry

Avenge your father...
Mexican style!

Shoot with z,x,c and turn with arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#50Humor(Jam)3.86
#95Fun(Jam)3.73
#240Mood(Jam)3.42
#343Overall(Jam)3.39
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#437Innovation(Jam)3.13
#537Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Haha, nice backstory. Well done but gets hard fast.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Hilarious game!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I liked the artstyle, a bit of humor was good to see too. The only thing I found a bit less is the game itself. I'm all for a simple concept, but I found this a little.. lacking innovation. Other than that, nice graphics, nice mood, well done!

Grehg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30pm

The quick narrative at the start works to set a humorous tone. It gets hard quickly.

gugulchic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Waiting for a sequel...

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nice work, I love the way you could make a music game out of those QTE! Speaking of music...

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Was fun, got hard all in one go. Enjoyed it. Consider adding projectiles of the color when you press the buttons.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Lol, this would feel awesome with guitar hero controller)))

InHelli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

cool :)

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

el mexico!

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:19am

Haha this is hilarious. I want my friends to play this.

That said I have a couple suggestions. I think it would be a lot less frustrating/confusing if the controls were 1,2,3 instead of z,x,c. The latter also might be a problem with non-qwerty keyboard layouts? Second, it took me forever to realize that multi-key enemies coming from the left have their keys in right-to-left order. This would be solved if you would highlight the first key to be typed. Finally, I think it would be nice to see your current score.

My high score was 26. I probably suck at this.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

Why is this so much fun!? :D

The only problem I had: I had to get used to the controls. After a while, when the combinations start to come, I didn't really know what order I had to press them. Apart from that, pretty fun!

oscalbal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Fun game, but I feel like the tags for the multi-key kills go in the wrong direction. It would be more intuitive for me if the went from left to right and they seem to go from right to left.

oscalbal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

By the way, this works on Linux too.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very fun x) I think I might have some trouble with double tapping of the key the game required. Like "Z-Z". Maybe it's just me.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I did 27 points:)

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice idea, and funny backstory. A bit of work on the fighting implementation and it would be awesome.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice backgroundstory, so sad I can´t strike a 2. chord ;)

NPException says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I like the mechanic and the nice art style :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:03pm

The game is nice and plenty of fun. Love it :D

scias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:43pm

This was a cool little game. The only thing I'd recommend working on gameplay wise, is making the notes sync up with the music. Well done!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Good game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]