Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Channel Surfing

by RockhopperGames - Compo Entry

A game about old TVs. Browse a handful of simple channels, and interact with some.

All actions are performed with the mouse.

When the static gets too harsh, click on the antenna to fix it.

My first Ludlum Dare, and I was learning ActionScript as I went. If I'd have some more time or practice, I would have added more channels...

The retro TV class is from Flash and Math: http://www.flashandmath.com/flashcs4/retrotv/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#12Theme4.55
#142Humor3.30
#178Graphics3.76
#178Innovation3.72
#208Mood3.36
#546Overall3.20
#612Audio2.60
#855Fun2.76

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

A very neat tech demo.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Its Crazy but fun as hell to surf those channels, Theme 5 stars:D

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really nice! Perfect use of the theme.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Nice way of using the theme, hadn't thought of it!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23am

Very nice pixel art! Especially when you die while playing the platformer game.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great use of the theme

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25am

Channel 9 give me lol.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25am

Could play that penguin jumping game for hours. Interesting game - reminded me of my childhood, somehow (sad, I know). I REALLY wanted to turn on that lamp next to the TV, though.
-Steffen

Scam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

The dancer/fitness instructor on channel 4 gave me a big grin. Funny take on the theme and I would have wanted to see more channels.

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41am

Oh man nostalgia! I really like the retro TV framework for a series of minigames, and having to futz with the rabbit ears was a perfect touch. If you get more time to work on this, a full-on adjustable-rabbit-ears minigame would be awesome!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

I thought of this idea when I was trying to decide what to do with the theme, and thought, "Nah, that wouldn't work." You, sir, proved me wrong. Great job. I love the penguin too.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44am

Very interesting, like it. :)
Playing pinguin is fun. :)

skonkan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

Love that you can play some channels :D

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

It fit the theme very well. Nice game.

C63Industries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I enjoyed many of the little details of this. Clicking on the antenna, the rockhopper game, the ☃ weather channel, and so on. Nice graphics, great variety, good use of the theme.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

This is great! Surfing the channels was pretty cool and then when I realized I could play some of them it kind of blew my mind. Doing those sick penguin dives! Also the weather channel was pretty funny! I know you didn't have the time but I really wanted more channels, there were so many! Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! Being my first LD, I wasn't expecting such a positive response! ^_^

@Blue Thumbs Gaming: That's such a good idea! Now I feel silly for not thinking of it!

@lycrashampoo: I was definitely thinking of that as a possibility, somthing like having different channels needing different positions, and maybe some hidden channels you could only find if the antenna was just right. Sadly, I didn't have time though...

bobombe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great performance, your art is very bood ! I liked the penguin game^^

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:58am

Wish I could turn the lamp on and off lol. great interlace and static effects.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:43am

Fun interpretation, and I love the art! The static effect is very neat, especially the pixel filter. Also the penguin game was sweet! Well done!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:57pm

O jogo do pinguim é muito bacana... Gostei demais de como você abordou o tema!

Parabéns

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Wow. nice old TV :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52pm

loved it!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Interesting little game, good job :)

cardboard says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:54am

This is very nice! The graphics style works very well to give the game a nice, monotonous, channel-surfing-afternoon kind of feel. I like the channel variety, and the interactive channels were neat; I especially liked the penguin one. This game lets me experience the joy of continuously changing the channel and finding that there is literally nothing on (after channel 25 at least). Also, this is a great interpretation of the theme.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Interesting interpretation of the theme, and good job on the "old TV" effect.

Lokiman says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Haha! what a nice idea about the "game" inside the TV :D Had my fun surfing the channels :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Look great! My favourite chanel with man against the bugs drama xD

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

Channel 9 was my favorite. I kinda wish that LD-related number channels had had stuff, but I totally get the time limitations. Good job!

piotrevic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:38am

It's really distinguishing. Nice graphics and concept

gana0 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I really liked the graphics on the TV. The RGB effect as well of the static seemed very authentic. The TV remote controls were very solid and seemed to function exactly as how a TV remote should. I also thought it was clever how a lot of the channels (especially the higher ones) had nothing on them. Very true to real life. The static and rabbit was a clever function too. Interesting concept and ideas, but I'm not sure if there's enough "game" here. The penguin game is fun, but a little bit unintuitive and grows old pretty quickly. Very good use of theme, graphics, and other ideas, but not enough "game" for my tastes.

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Very clever. A win condition would be nice, or some form of progress, however 2 days isn't much so it doesn't matter.
Love that you worked on little mini-games and the antennae was a great touch. Would be interesting to see on mobile. (Hell, maybe even use mobile as a remote, for giggles.)
I hope you polish this, it's really good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]