Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Water Inside My Screen

by ehonkong - Jam Entry

First attempt at Ludum Dare!!!
Let's invade all the phones!!!
You play as a water drop trying to enter the mobile central processor and destroy it!!!
Control-Arrow key to Rotate the phone!!!

Leader&3D | EHon Kong
Programmer | Arthur Chow
Artist | Fred Eric K

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#309Graphics(Jam)3.67
#437Innovation(Jam)3.13
#861Fun(Jam)2.53
#878Overall(Jam)2.73
#2296Coolness10%

Comments

nnf0130 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Web can't play?

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

It's a nice little game. Control with a mouse and reference background may improve. Good interpretation of a theme.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

Lol the water drop rolled out of the phone.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

Very nice clean graphical style!
I agree this would be better with mouse control.
The ball is a little slow for my liking.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Controling with mouse would be nice, the controls seems to be reserverd for me , you should make it able to reverse them

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I feel like the movement of the water balls should be a little faster but this is a nice interpretation of the theme, solid graphics!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47am

Tried to play this a few times and my water droplet no-clipped through the phone on the second area once I touched the last water droplet. I think the game needs to speed up and might need a better control scheme.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

The game's a little slow, and I found the water droplet hard to see. The phone should probably be horizontally aligned so you can get up closer to the screen.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:03am

Cool idea, but I felt gameplay was a little bit too slow. I liked the smartphone screen concept, I think it's a pretty clever take on the theme.

Alic Szecsei says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49am

Water droplet rolled off the phone and vanished, and the gameplay is kind of tedious - the controls didn't feel too responsive on keyboard, maybe having a mobile game that uses actual rotation would feel more natural and less frustrating - I found myself forgetting which direction the keys actually made my droplet move.

Cool idea, though!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I think I'm the 20th voter, which I think means your game /just/ got enough votes to receive a ranking! Lucky!

You should probably play & rate more games next time to make sure your game gets through!


Regarding the game, I think the controllers were a little weird. Seems like they should be reversed! Also yeah, the game was a little too slow. Try experimenting with different speeds until you find something that works right.

Good theme idea though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]