Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Detonator

by jonah1nine - Jam Entry

A classic snake game with a twist. You need to eat the bombs before they detonate. You gain points when eating bombs. You get extra time when eating the time(red) bomb.

Controls:
Arrow keys - to change direction.
Space bar - to accelerate/speed up.

Have fun! :D

EDIT:
Thank you all for the comments. I really appreciate it. Apologies for missing crucial features.

I've had a busy weekend and put up the game on a monday evening after work. Also, this is my first LD. Will definitely do better next time. :D

#LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#292Innovation(Jam)3.40
#484Fun(Jam)3.06
#606Audio(Jam)2.37
#658Overall(Jam)3.03
#681Humor(Jam)2.24
#816Mood(Jam)2.58
#923Graphics(Jam)2.16

Comments

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

It would be better if I could tell how long before a bomb blows up. It is difficult to know if I can grab it.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

Hey, that's totally innovative! The style is pretty cool too. Would love to see this game polished. I got a score of 14 :D

By the way.. You need to fix the embedded page, it's not showing correctly (click on view own entry to see; probably best to just remove).

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Interesting game. Check my game too: President's bodyguard simulator.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Exploding snake! Nice dash of concept on a classic.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Cool take on the snake game! I like the idea that they are bombs.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Pros:
- A new twist on an old classic!
- Responsive controls

Cons
- Hard to know when bombs are about to explode (a visual or audio cue would be nice
- No indicator for the edge of the screen (in my browser, both the screen and the screen edge are white)
- Death is very abrupt

Overall, nice innovation. With some polish this could become an addicting little game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice and interesting how you gave snake your own twist.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This needs an indicator that shows when a bomb is going to blow up. As it is it's kind of frustrating. Well done on the technical side though.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice twist on the snake game, would be nice to know when the bombs are going to explode

piotrevic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Haha, so much fun, pretty innovative concept

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02am

Neat idea! Some sort of indicator before the bomb goes would be nice.

Larry says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:06am

It is an interesting take on the snake game. I also think some sort of indicator on the bomb to tell time left would be helpful.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:31pm

The bombs sometimes spawn and there is no way to reach them in time. Don't put it on a page with ads. Do elaborate on the game a bit more as the concept was interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]