Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Memory Link

by lurumdurum - Jam Entry

Memory Link - Team Durum

Memory Link is a 2D puzzle platformer.
After activating all four generators you are able to link different levels together in order to create new paths.
Navigate between levels by moving either from one level to another, or by using the main menu.
There are multiple memory fragments scattered around all levels. Can you collect them all and unravel the mystery?

It's a pc-game, but does support a Xbox 360 controller.
Because of time limitations we don't have it for different resolutions. Unfortunately 1920:1080 is required!

Team Durum
We are 3 students (2 first year Game development, 1 Computer Science). This was our first game jam ever.
We used C# with XNA to develop our game. For sounds we used http://www.bfxr.net/ which is an awesome way to create short sound effects.
We had nothing prepared and all work was done during the jam.

EDIT (09-12-14 17:45):
We have added the download link to an installer which will automatically download the needed dependencies! For whoever still wants our release build without installer, you are still able to, but you might need to install the dependencies manually. Links for the dependencies are below.

EDIT (09-12-14 11:02):
There seems to be an issue starting up for people, installing these should resolve the issue. These are just some Microsoft frameworks!
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17718
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=27598

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#424Mood(Jam)3.15
#485Overall(Jam)3.23
#509Innovation(Jam)3.03
#604Humor(Jam)2.38
#682Fun(Jam)2.82
#687Theme(Jam)3.34
#808Graphics(Jam)2.58

Comments

esaygin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05am

Complex!

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42am

Could not start the game, it crashed (win7-user, no controller plugget in)

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48am

Hi. I want to try to play it. But when I unzip archive and launch .exe nothing happened. Also I found .pdb file in archive. Maybe you uploade debug build?

sarfish says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Thank god there were checkpoints.
It was a bit frustrating sometimes when you're getting a memory and he's just saying things like: "What am I doing here?" - sentences like "Why is dirt on my hands?" were more interesting and worth fighting for :P
Overall an interesting entry. I liked the idea very much.
(For me it worked without problems, win7 user, no controller)

Prox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00am

I have launched the game but I can play due to a resolution problem. I am 1366 * 768 and I only have 1/4 of the entire game view.

Deal With It says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11am

Cool, really hard. Like it

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I completed it and I loved all of it. Love the link mechanic, all of it. Amazing.

Faults:
Game started on my secondary monitor.
Collision is too mean.
Controls are a bit whacky at times, very easy to overshoot things.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52pm

No technical issues for me. Ran well.
Really Cool idea and nicely presented :)

KickBack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02pm

No Mac/Web build?

Looks interesting but I can't play it sadly, no windows machine nearby.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Hah, my team has a similar theme to yours, though we went the casual game route and you went the metroidvania route. Your game is much more complete than ours. I like it - but I thought the platforming was more punishing than challenging, and judging by the way the character sometimes clicked onto platforms, you had trouble with that as well.

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32am

Woooah super cool! Would've loved to see more uses for the level linking mechanic - i think there's only 1 yellow ball that actually requires you to link levels :(

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:39am

That is true, however some do get easier using it. But the main problem for this was time. Developing the levels was quite the challenge and took longer than anticipated

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Cool game! Unique concept well done!

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The jumping felt weird.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really awesome, this is such a sweet concept. Linking is such a great mechanic. Nice work!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:38am

That was so freaking amazing!. The mechanics in this were super unique and awesome. The controls were tight. The atmosphere was great. Amazing work.

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The platforming is very unforgiving! Sorry, I didn't play the whole game because it was becoming so frustrating. Perhaps all it needs is for those little platforms to be more sticky. Really nice interpretation of the theme, and the music is fitting for the mood.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:51pm

its nice to play..

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:25pm

100mb download?? I suggest you either make a web build next time or reduce the size...thats wayyy too big!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:54am

Very (very) very challenging game, but great entry :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Amazing entry! The mechanics, the controls, the platforming was really great and how it all fit the them was awesome. Superb job, guys!

Please ask for confirmation to exit. I hit the back button on my controller two times and lost all my progress. Yes, I'm the stupid, but yoy know... better make stupid safe hahaha. The worst is that I was going for the last memory :( Now I'm pissed, so I'll try it later.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice metroidvania game :) ! Clever level design, good job !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]