Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Shooter 31

by cachila4408 - Jam Entry

** CUBE SHOOTER 31 **

CUBE SHOOTER 31 is a MULTIPLAYER ARCADE CUBE SHOOTER with TWO exciting game mode!

CLASSIC: destroy all black cubes!

TIME: how long can you survive without shooting?

But this is not all! Gather 3 friends and play together on a single keyboard!


** CREDITS **

Created by Luca Andrea Raho and Andrea Sgarro

Music composed by Robert del Naja

Font Visitor created by Brian Kent

Special Thanks to Cristian Urbini and Valentina Zanasi

Made with Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#432Theme(Jam)3.62
#606Overall(Jam)3.09
#680Graphics(Jam)2.88

Comments

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I only played alone, so I can't comment on the multiplayer experience, but what I have played was good fun. The time mode is perhaps a bit pointless; a struggle to live very slightly longer than you otherwise would, but the classic mode is an absolute blast.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Interesting. There is a simple concept with a basic graphics, but I like it. Music is hypnotic. Thank you for this contribution ++

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Very minimalistic, good use of the theme. I liked it, I played with my wife and she won... :(

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Another top down shooter. Idk man its just more of the same to me.

alyphen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This gets incredibly chaotic very quickly.
Impressive physics for a 72hr game, and a nice, fairly original concept. It's simply drawn, but that's all it needs.
Just add some online co-op so more people can play multiplayer. Local co-op is quite amusing if you have friends, but it's good there is a single player mode.
My only complaint is that there isn't much replay value unless you're a highscore chaser.

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Good game! Simple, but fun. I love the way you give the instructions on the screen - it follows the theme but also works very well!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

The game looks pretty INDIE. Thumbs up :D
Have a look at my game, it would be nice to merge our concepts.

madameberry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30pm

The controls were super unresponsive and weird.

Zanaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Hooray for asteroid type shooty games! (also what I went for.)

I really dig this! nice music and clean graphics!

Didn't get to try it multiplayer yet, but it's nice that it's there.

I experienced some slight oddness with rotation, where much like a car steering wheel, the character/ship/cube was resisting, and when I let go, spun around back to some arbitrary 'default' position. Maybe that's intended, but it felt a bit weird.

Other than that, good stuff! :D

cinderous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Reminiscent of Asteroids, love it! Didn't get a chance to play multiplayer but classic is great fun by yourself, I dig the music choice as well.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Fun little shooter, I enjoyed it, didn't have the chance to play 3 player but had fun with it by myself, cool mood music.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Nice clean look. I found it best to just hide in the corner and randomly shoot towards the middle.

I would have liked it if the bullets ricocheted off the walls instead of just following them.

Good job!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Controls feel a bit clunky (movement could be faster, as could shooting), and the game feels *really* unforgiving. On the other hand, multiplayer is really neat (this also compensates a lot for the unforgivingness with reviving) and the graphics look really polished (or just a smart style?). Also the cubes spawn really quick, but I guess as devs you get used to that :p

dlowe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

The controls felt really slow to me. Multiplayer was neat, and the music is very nice. Thanks for the game!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:32am

Controls can be improved but it's a nice idea!

mboaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very very nice :)

Krz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Good concept, I feel it would be better with a mission such as get to a score of 100 to get to the next level.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:18pm

This game is a very good game. its a fun shooter game :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Is it possible to get a native Linux export? There's no Unity web player for our platform :(

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Basic game. Nothing bad to say - nothing special to say

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Fun and simple game. I liked the clean/minimalistic look.

reheated says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Cool style, I like how it's played on top of the menu. I preferred the time mode. It's more about planning a safe path than quick reaction speed or aiming.

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Like the music and graphical style. Gameplay could use some kind of feedback effects upon things dying off and bullets hitting things. When they simply disappear it just feels kind of meh. Nice work though.

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:26pm

It's not bad as a concept, I think there are a few things that you could have done for more fun factor :)

1. Feedback - I don't know if my shots have any effect. I thought the larger blocks were indestructible. You should visually reduce their number per hit. That would make it feel better.

2. Sounds! Any kind of sounds would work :) Don't just leave it out :) There are a lot of free sound resources around the internet :)

3. The movement is VERY sluggish. Yes I get that makes dodging harder, and you want hard, but this is almost unfair most of the time. Giving speed + momentum makes people feel better about being in control. It's a concept called agency :) It's good for players to feel in control :)

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Its a great concept to play with a friends in the same window ¡Great job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:52pm

single player is very fun. better than your average shooter. it has an interesting relaxed yet hard feel. like the enemy sprites showing their health. i feel like they should decrease as you hit them.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice concept - would have loved some extra SFX

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:40am

Very fun! I enjoyed both modes, the high inertia makes for a lot of close calls. Good onya!

Conk says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Art is scarily similar to mine, but it's simple black enemies and coloured players, not much you can do there :P Really fun, got 4000 before being completely over run!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

It was really hard to get the game at the start. But once we got it everything felt really slow.

When you get hit by a shot you are forever doomed to be turning ever so slightly, making everyone press their buttons even harder.

With a little work it could be a great game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]