Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Border31

by wavertron - Compo Entry

***FULLSCREEN mode recommended, or hit the WEB link***

***To Complete the Level*** You need to go inside the spinning green box when it goes Bright Green. The purple target will disappear.


So how does this hit the theme? Pretty simple idea: You need to shoot the Purple Target, which causes the Red Border to expand. Once the Red Border is pushed out fully so that it surrounds the "Entire Game in One Screen", the Green Exit activates and you can jump into it to complete the level.

"How To Play" instructions are in the game, or see the 2nd screenshot.

Well, its my first time participating in LD. Was fun. Pretty happy with the result considering I was hungover on Sunday :D

Artwork: yeah its a bit meh. But I had fun with the mechanics, shooting arrows, rebounding or duplicating. Some nice little ideas I think that could be developed much further.

Sound Effects: I think I was channeling a little bit of that old Robotron game. I remember playing it as a kid on a very old Apple IIe. Pretty happy with how the sounds I generated fit to the feel of the game.


**Tools**
IDE: Eclipse Luna
HTML5 Game Engine: PhaserJS using the integrated P2JS physics
Sound effects: Created in BXFR.
Game Art: The mighty Inkscape (and GIMP for the BG)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#63Innovation4.06
#113Theme4.08
#157Fun3.59
#227Overall3.55
#646Mood2.84
#649Audio2.55
#837Humor2.03
#909Graphics2.55

Comments

wavertron says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Note, this game is not friendly to Mobiles. It will run fine in Landscape mode, but with the WASD controls, well, you wont be moving anywhere.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20am

I really enjoyed this game! I didn't figure out how to complete the level, but even playing on the first level was really fun. Great mechanics. I feel there's a lot of unexplored depth to this.

Pastry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Game is exciting, with fun sounds and bouncing mechanics. A bit buggy though, I lost the purple ball several times with no way to continue.

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51am

**To Complete the Level** you need to go inside the spinning green box when it goes bright green.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

nice game!

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

I really enjoyed the game. It has sort of a bullethelly thing going on that puts your spatial awareness to the test and makes you pay for your mistakes. Definitely a nice concept.

dvdking says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09am

Nice mechanics, wish it had some music.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10am

I like arena shooters a lot, but it's rare that a game brings something new to the table. This is innovative and great fun.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10am

Interesting mechanics. I love how it becomes harder over time. Nice job!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

After a while it's getting crazy! I liked it )

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14am

The game is interesting and challenging (in particular when there is a lot of bouncing things and arrows O.O).
Graphics and sounds are basics but works fine !

I liked it !

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30am

Very clever. It does not pay to miss too many times ;-)

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44am

Once I managed to have the target fly offscreen, but it's a very solid shooter with a nicely themed mechanic!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47am

Hahah. You have to be careful where you shoot or you'll get screwed yourself!! Great job~

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23am

Very nice concept, very original. The secret is just fire the minimum times as posible :-)

P.D: Sorry. I've made op-out the ratings of my game by error :-( You can vote it now

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36am

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/Huq9r0DpdSQ

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07am

very fun, great job!!

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

@badlydrawnrod Heheh, great to watch that youtube vid of someone playing it. Thanks for sharing

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

FUN!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really good game, love the concept, well done! :)

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Cool, solid game. You hit on something interesting here. I like the sound becomes more complex has the game becomes more complex.

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

Fun game, I died in a hailstorm of red arrows...lol. I liked it, good job :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

For some reason, my score never showed up. It was very cool, though. Reminded me of snake a bit! - Kintinue

wavertron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07am

@Blue Thumbs Gaming
yeah the score only gets tallied up and added on after you complete a level.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17am

Started off alright, then I was like CRAP WHERE DO I STAND?!!?
Nice idea, good execution...

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Really interesting mechanics. Found it super hard!

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Wow, this is a really interesting mechanic. Missing just leaves one more obstacle and makes it that much harder. I like it!

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice idea and fits the theme! It was fun, dodging a lot of arrows, and moving things. +1 for using phaser!

pancakecity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:32am

Neat concept! I had some difficulty because of the WASD (I have a nonstandard keyboard layout).

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very clever! Simple mechanics with a deceptive difficulty level

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very cool and innovative gameplay, becomes quite fun! Well done!

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice game, mechanics is very simple yet challenging, gives different goals which is good. I like it.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Really nice progression and innovative gameplay

+points for JS and easy cross platform play

Would have loved some BG music

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Wow, I like how game difficulty escalated quickly!
Had fun playing this
Nice work!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:03am

I loved the game. 5 innovation

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Liked how each arrow you shoot become a threat as well. Smart idea.

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:02pm

This game is really amazing! Wow! So simple and so addictive. I did not understand the goal, but anyway I feel playing and enjoy this feeling. And, on the top of thet the best preloader ever n' ever! xD
Overall 5/5

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:25am

One of the more innovative mechanics I've seen. I don't think I've ever seen a game quite like this. It gets pretty fun toward the end of the later levels when you expand the box and a ton of arrows come out in all directions.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:47pm

This is really fun. Innovative gameplay, and it's simple and addicting - which is a perfect combination for an LD entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]