Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Main Menu Fighter

by Legiion - Compo Entry

Hello,
this is my first Game for Ludum Dare and i am open for Feedback.
Main Menu Fighter is an Arcade 2D Shooter, Gather Points, Upgrade your Ship and Fight the Boss, all on One Screen.

=====Controls=====
WASD for Movement
Space for Shooting
escape for zooming out and buying upgrades

Dying will reset the Game
no enemys will spawn in the middle so try to purchase upgrades there


Update1 : added Webplayer Support, thanks for the feedback so far :)
Update2 : increased Player Rotation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#851Theme3.36
#892Graphics2.57
#1004Fun2.51
#1034Mood2.25
#1073Overall2.60

Comments

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Good job with the theme, first game I've played that really worked with it. Was fun, but a bit easy due to the enemy spawning mechanics and the power of the bullet upgrades.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Simple gameplay, simple graphics and easy to understand controls. I don't really see how the theme was implemented but it is relatively fun to play. PRO tip: make a web player version, more people will play your game that way!

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Interesting idea a game the scrolls but is still on one "screen". However the game was hard and i was bad at it. I found the controls to be really annoying(No strafing, arrow keys to turn). The no strafing does make sense because its a spaceship but it makes it difficult to shoot a people without just standing there getting shot and the slow turn speed makes this much worse (Mouse turning plz). Other than that it looked like a good game.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I don`t always download games from LD, but when I do, it's because it's a shmup. :P
you could ported it into web, will help you with feedback :)
nice idea tho :)

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice idea, but it took me a while to get to the text in my ship, so I didn't get it till then. Maybe zoom out a bit more? Also, it was really hard because your ship's a little slow and there's a huge number of bullets.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I am currently working on the Web Player intergration it schould be up in a few minutes

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Movement was a bit slow for me, but this is well put together. Great use of the theme.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice graphics, and funny game, but I dont see where the theme is here, there's a lot of stuff out of the screen

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice idea of the theme :)

MarthMadness says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

It's like a bullet hell game O.o

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Wow, never thought you would tackle that in that way at all!
You literally fight on the main menu... interesting!

It's all fun but going to the boss alone, lagged the hell out of me with my current specs. But I bet it's great!

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice idea, and challenging gameplay.

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Challenging game !

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

This game would have greatly benefited from some more juice, explosions when you kill enemies, sound effects etc.

I recommend this talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Good take on the theme!
The turn rate could be a little faster in my opinion.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Excellent application of the theme! a little tricky to play but a good concept.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

Cool Idea, I like it. Needs a bit more polished for controls. No sound makes me sad too.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

The player could be a bit faster. It's a great game for your first entry, though :)

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The idea is pretty creative and I like how you had the boss there. It's really fun!

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I'm loving the fact that you play on the menu screen, very clever. I will say though the controls feel like they need a bit of inertia to them. If your in space, you would kind of keep gliding a little after you release a button.

But that boss though, man!

triplefox says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:52am

I had some fun with this. It was perplexing to have the zoomed-in camera be the default since most of the time I wanted more visibility, and of course the balance felt too hard at first, then too easy after getting some upgrades. Good work overall.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very interesting idea about the theme!

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:37pm

The found the controls difficult. I think the controls would have been a better if you shot towards your mouse cursor and the ship moved on fixed axes (with some momentum) with WASD. However, I like the idea.

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice Interpretation of the theme :)

eolhing says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Wow that game is hard ! I love the fact that the position of the boss is given from the start :)

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47am

Concept might be quirky, to battle from menu systems. I would like to see that explored a bit more in another game. Like a play on the stickmen playing around on your desktop :P Good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]