Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Time to safe love!

by miascugh - Jam Entry

"The bad guys have taken all the love in the world hostage! As an executive of the bad guys ethics council it's in your hands things don't go sour (any more sour than they already have - It's the bad guys! They've got all the love!)

Do what you do best, and make sure the bad guy personell does not screw it all up!"

The game runs on Unreal Engine 4, and is essentially a heavily butchered UE 4 '3rd person template'. The main character is a modified version of a model I made before the game jam. All the architecture uses textures that came with UE4, the explosions are UE4 content too. Everything else was made within the jam time frame.

I can't vouch for decent performance on weaker machines, as I didn't exactly know how to best optimize the whole shebang or have the time to find out. Also, having 20 cameras capturing the scene doesn't help. I really hope it's enjoyable for most of you, still!

PS.: In fact, after trying it on a number of computers, it runs terribly on most of them, sorry about that. I wish I could have taken the time to figure that one out.
Also, I was not able to fix one crash, so right now, nothing interesting happens when you fail. Whereas something interesting would have happened, were it nor for the crash.

Enjoy!

Works with keyboard and gamepad inputs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Theme(Jam)4.18
#128Innovation(Jam)3.71
#157Humor(Jam)3.38
#308Overall(Jam)3.44
#397Fun(Jam)3.19
#625Mood(Jam)2.88
#2152Coolness22%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Game runs and feels nice, on my PC anyway. Hard to figure woe to win, but idea and implementations are really solid.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44am

Really nice game, the idea to use all screen like a security guard is fun.

sarfish says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

I love the idea and the quirky story behind it. You did a very good job!

Oh and it works fine with my computer.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really slow on my computer :/
But I played and finished it!
And it's good!
I love the idea!
could have been more used with a bit better level design I think, but in 72 hours it was difficult to make something better :)
It kind of reminds me a thing in the game Taz on PS2; well I don't remember so much what it was, but there was screen like those, ahah :p

It's a clever interpretation of the theme, even though technically it's "an entire game on a group of screen", ahah!
I love how the guy look, and how he falls and how he protect love and have cofee and omg this concept is fun! ;D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really cool idea. Normally I would complain about controls like this but it fits the game really well and makes navigation the challenge. Nice work.

Deranes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Cool idea on how to implement the theme. Only thing bothering me was that I didn't see any clear instructions on how top play. Wasted a few seconds at the start trying to click with the mouse and control the person at the button. Although it could be because I played another game from the jam where you play as a security guard zapping through cameras (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=5150).

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Oh it's fun, we had the same idea for #indieVSpewdipie jam, 2 weeks ago!
If you want to see it:
http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/where-is-my-mind/39466/

Anyway your game it really good, and feets perfectly the theme, nice job! :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:35pm

good idea with screens)

lxd1 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]