Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Welcome To Shady Pines

by juxipolo - Compo Entry

Welcome to the future home of Shady Pines Custom Condominiums. The construction crew is here, but the architect got all confused and shuffled up the blueprints. It's your job to put them back together again.

--Post LD Change Log--
V3:
* Scale to multiple screen resolutions - cycle game resolution with "S" key
* Fix typo in game over screen
* Fix bug that allowed 1x1 rooms generating occasionally

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#112Mood3.56
#153Overall3.67
#166Fun3.57
#177Humor3.19
#234Graphics3.64
#321Innovation3.46
#352Audio3.04
#362Theme3.75

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

A fairly unique, and frustrating puzzle game. Is each level designed so there is only one solution or are there many solutions with maybe an optimal one? I had a hard time figuring out a method to use to solve and mostly just kept shuffling rooms around until it fit. It does feel very polished also.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

This game is pretty cool. There's a lot of polish and the main puzzle aspect is very satisfying.

andrewjoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

Great game. The visuals are very well done and the theme is creatively used (no snowmen is a plus). The voice-overs are a nice touch to the engaging humor.

I found though that each level was too similar to the last. Maybe I'm stupid or tired or both but the little differences (windows and doors, etc) were too difficult for my monkeybrain to register.

Overall: great polish, needed more depth.

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38am

Fun puzzler, kept trying to rotate stuffs :)

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very nice puzzle, got a little samey but well put together :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13am

The screenshot intrigued me. The gameplay is pretty unique, I liked it!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14am

Very fascinating puzzles. Quite difficult too, I think. In a good way. Either I'm no good at them or I didn't understand them well enough.

holgk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20am

Wow! I love you game. Nice idea.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26am

The "Hey champ" caught me off guard, and I was too sleep deprived to not laugh. A Jigsaw puzzle isn't exactly a revolutionary concept, but this was a particularly enjoyable Jigsaw puzzle.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:54am

I dig what I saw. The hitboxes for the buttons seemed to be offset too low, which made them impossible to click on my 1366x768, so I wasn't able to go to the next floor.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Very well done puzzler. Graphics are really nice, sound is cool (only lacks some background music), and the mechanics are well done! Maybe you should highlight windows/doors/etc. when they are introduced to the players to make it easier for them to spot them. Overall nicely done!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:00am

This is actually pretty fun! I always love building stuff. The game itself is pretty simple, but it sort of feels like it's deeper than it is. The transparent blueprint graphics are perfect. "Ey, champ!" is great too. ;) I just had a couple of issues...First, I wonder about the scoring system. If I put windows on the outside, does that give me more money? How about doors on the outside? I put a door on the outside and as far as I can tell nothing changed. Maybe if you had a "+$500 window bonus!" pop up or something. The second thing is that a couple of levels I'm sure cannot be solved ("solved" in the sense of no overlap, all blueprints used, all windows on outside). And finally, I wondered if the game was ever going to end. After level 22 I was started to feel mentally exhausted, so I stopped! Good work though. ;)

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:13am

Truly addicting, held my interest through 36 levels.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Very nice, kept me busy for a while. Oddly enough the game seemed to get easier over time.. not sure if that was just me getting better at the game or the game actually getting easier, but I feel the window and door mechanics were quite helpful to find a good solution. Either way, it's was nice to see new elements be introduced every few floors. Also the art style is spot on, those blue prints look really nice. :)

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:15pm

It was a fun experience and well made! included it in my random LD31 gameplay video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_gJeG5cgM

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]