Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lull

by WatercressStudios - Jam Entry

Alternate download links are under the Source link.

Lull is a macro-narrative visual novel set in a town where sound has ceased to exist. Beginning as the town is settled in 1865, players' choices will affect the culture and politics of the town throughout the generations as they adapt to a silent world.

Changelog:
v1.0alpha3a: Android version built with Ren'Py 6.18.3.761. Otherwise identical to v1.0alpha3
v1.0alpha3: Fixed an incorrect name in Scene 6
v1.0alpha2: Initial release for LD31

Developed by Watercress Studios for Ludum Dare 31.

http://watercressstudios.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#319Audio(Jam)3.18
#377Mood(Jam)3.21
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#551Graphics(Jam)3.16
#555Innovation(Jam)2.96
#596Overall(Jam)3.10
#840Theme(Jam)3.10
#893Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Loved the graphics.

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Interesting take on the theme, in terms of showing the same shot of the town over time. Didn't expect the story to take the path that it did, and I was glad that I played it through to the end. Very awesome!

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Nice. great graphics

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56am

Very good writing. I do wonder how much the world can be affected by the choices, I only played a little bit. Will continue later :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

Wow, amazing entry! Great story and a very engaging way of telling it.

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great writing. Really got into the story. Music is a nice composition and added to the experience. At first I was wondering when the game was going to start but then I got pulled in and realised it was a visual novel (I read your game description, heh.) Glad you could click to reveal the text before it stopped being written out. I'm a fast reader.

The visual displays at the bottom could have done with clearer indications about who was speaking in some scenes, or changes of expression to hold interest, because for the most part I ended up concentrating on the text. Also, it took me a little while to realise that sound had ceased to exist, too. Blame wine. I'm a bit drunk because I'm finally done with my own entry!

Anyway, I really enjoyed that. It will also be one of the longer times I'll spend on a LD entry this time around. Also, don't vomit on ambassadors from Vancouver. We're lovely.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

@Wampus Hey Kyle here, the coder of this game. Glad you liked it! I also happen to be from Vancouver. I agree that we're very lovely :P

Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

I liked this a lot! A very interesting and engaging story. I'd like to see it done with better graphics. I played it twice and I did better the second time - though it wasn't always clear how my decisions affected things.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Is this an original music piece? I loved it. The story was also very interesting to me. "visual novel set in a town where sound has ceased to exist." It takes quite an imagination to come up with something like that.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59am

@Crushenator Hey, Kieren here (Co-composer alongside Ben), and thanks for the kind words! I wasn't sure if the atonal piece was going to go over well with people, but it seems like it did!

holgk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

Wow! Nice music.

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice graphics and music! Interesting story and take on the theme

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:34am

Great mood and graphics, loved the writing in general. Felt a little too rail-roaded, plot-wise. (Haha, punny.) Overall good game though.

flatgub says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44am

Incredible writing...
Very well done!

TKia_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Pretty cool.

sweenist says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Interesting game. I had a hard time picking up on the finer nuances of the story but it eventually made sense. Despite that, I found it pretty engaging and the music was great. Good job!

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Loved the art and the audio. Good job!

rallebauz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The viluals are very nicely done and the background music is soothing.

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Wow. That was really nicely done.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09am

Good graphics, and Great music. Good job

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24am

I liked this game. Some parts of the UI felt clunky, but the graphis make up for it. A very well put together game, great job and good luck!

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:30am

Woah!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04am

Oh, wow. I've played a lot of VNs in Ludum Dare over the past year or so, and this was definitely the one with the most intensive and polished writing. Neat. I must have played through four or five times, fooling with various variables.

Some way to help distinguish the characters would have helped a lot, though, because in the end I had five characters to deal with and all I could really remember is "Thatcher is me and Temperance is the girl." I agree with the other posters who suggested that some more definition on the art would have helped set mood, along with some more details in dialogue or image to help situate us temporally.

Thank you for the great story, and I hope to see you in another jam...

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:08am

I'm personally not a fan of visual novels but I played anyway. Good effort, liked the art.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:49am

@Victory Garden - then, have you played A New and Beautiful World, which was a short VN that one of our members (Electro / TKia_) submitted for Ludum Dare 30 back in August? (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=6463)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:50am

We'd recommend checking out the post-compo version, if you haven't.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:32am

Wow. There were a lot of twists and turns in there that I didn't expect. I'm not sure how close my version is to the version that other people get, but I definitely thought it was a cool story.

I liked the use of sound especially and how much that came up in my version. It definitely helped to set the mood and showing how things change over time and from one period to the next was cool. I love seeing consequences play out and visual novels are a favorite of mine.

Thanks again for checking out Natquik and leaving feedback and thank you for making this and sharing it. Congrats! :)

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:20pm

nic...

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:42am

Didn't expect another visual novel other than mine to pop up. The story is nice, and the graphics show generational change as advertised. Nice work.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Interesting, well thought-of narrative experience! Good job.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:45am

Love the graphics, the story was great. Glad I could play on my Android Device

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]