Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

starfall

by datachomper - Jam Entry

Defend planet earth from intergalactic squares of doom! The awkward interface artistically represents panic at the end of the world. The incorrect audio levels represent the chaos of survival for life. or something.

Objective: Click to destroy the asteroids before they reach earth. After 3 asteroids hit the earth, game is over. Play for high score.

Written in C with SDL2. Images and audio are both public domain.

Update:
* Reorganized the download so it's easier to start the game.
* Prevent a console window from opening during gameplay
* No code changes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#210Humor(Jam)3.22
#311Audio(Jam)3.19
#453Theme(Jam)3.60
#700Mood(Jam)2.76
#729Overall(Jam)2.94
#802Graphics(Jam)2.59
#825Fun(Jam)2.61
#921Innovation(Jam)2.23

Comments

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

you should enable humor, cause I was totally about to give it 5 stars for humor. your music and description make it hilarious. All in all pretty simple and awesome. Difficult for sure. I would have liked to see a little more for the art of the click-able squares than just a white square, maybe a little animation or something, but they definitely didn't look bad. Good job!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27am

This Game was funny nice decription.

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

Games are quick and challenging ! Nice little game !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

A solid click-things game! It's simple but the execution is nice and smooth.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Nice idea, you should try porting it to touchscreen mobile phones :)

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

Well, you are supposed to opt-out of judging for graphics and audio if you didn't create them yourself during the jam's 3 days. So I didn't rate that. The graphics and sound is cool though.
I think you have some issues with graphics consistency. You have a highly detailed earth but white squares for enemies? Also, the enemies seemed to mix lots of my clicks.

doos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

"...panic at the end of the world" and then you die. Hmm, I hope we don't get any of them there asteroids.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

If the star can have a nicer image..I think it can be interesting if it comes to the mobile platform with more polish.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Humorous and great! Nice game!

muramasa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

This game has so much personality.

devshawn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

Needs a bit of work, but a good entry. Was fun.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

nice i like

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14pm

29 points! I had fun! Great music and fonts. I'd add triangles if I were you.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:35pm

The music is so damn Epic!!!
Nice game, but i'm retarded and I find it quite hard!
Well done!

Wilson says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Music and intro was cool, as was your description :)

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Fun little game :D Great work :D (lol, squares of doom xD nice)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]