Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

LonelyPlanet

by jstzwd - Jam Entry

This is a game about a little lonely prince on his planet, whose job is to create falling stars to light up the universe. He has to jump or double jump to avoid the stars that he created to launch them.(Please do not use Chrome for this game. Safari and Firefox are suggested)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Mood(Jam)3.75
#118Graphics(Jam)4.16
#287Innovation(Jam)3.41
#340Theme(Jam)3.71
#485Overall(Jam)3.23
#717Fun(Jam)2.76
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

You're unity file isn't launching :( Screenshot looks pretty

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17am

This is a beautiful game. The music and everything works. It is just punishingly hard! The jumping mechanics take a little time to get and even after playing a couple times I still can't control it well enough to make any progress. My record is 1.

I suck though, so take that into consideration!

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Beautiful game, but I don't like the way you have to time your jumps to the way he bounces while walking. It makes the game unnecessarily hard.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

It looks and sounds very good but it is very very hard to pick up on the mechanics right away. After a little while of playing how ever it can get slightly easier.

viclw17 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54am

beautiful game!!!

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

It's a shame I can't rate this on audio, because it's excellent.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

The control is a bit finnicky, but i really like the graphics and music. Good job.

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Ditto with audio - beautiful background music

Could do with being a little easier!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Innovative gameplay! Very hard but it is the idea ;)

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Audio and graphics are excellent

DrHahn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice pics, the music really fits the mood, (feels so sad D:) but it's a cool twist on the normal infinite runners.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice one

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18am

The game is very pretty and atmospheric, but the controls are just too unreliable for me. Getting the timing right is far too difficult. :(

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Clever idea, and the music was very fitting. I really enjoyed the art of the planet.
The jumping mechanic really needs some work though - That combined with the bouncing as he walks makes the game frustrating instead of fun.

Good job with the game overall! If you clean up the jumping mechanics, this would actually make a really nice mobile game, if you're into that kind of thing.

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20am

I like your game. Nice and relaxing, but challenging. I really like the musik and the graphics.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very pretty, once I figured out the jumping it was fun too!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really pretty game! However I have some difficulties with the jump.
Good job anyway :D

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

WOW! Beautiful game. The mood is so perfect. The graphics are all so stylish, and the music is thoughtful and soothing. I like the idea of the gameplay a lot, but it was hard for me to time the jumps correctly, so I never got above a score of 4 or 5. And I like the name of the game too, though it reminds me of my favorite travel book series, Lonely Planet... Hmm, wonder why. Anyway, I adore this game. And it works fine in Chrome for me. What's the font you used for the non-logo text?

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

Such an amazing art style! Awesome. With some more polishing you could easily publish this to the mobile market!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

love the art and everything! :) so cute :)

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34am

Nice visuals.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I like the art and the music, but the gameplay is quite clunky, the jump doesn't work as expected, I couldn't figure out how to leap even one star.

Logun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very nice, but the jump is pretty hard to handle sadly. I tried many times but its hard to managed to jump perfectly with the good timing :)
Very cool experience
Best score : 9

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Awesome artwork and nice simple music. Wasn't entirely sure how to control my guy jumping, though, as he seemed to have a windup animation that never seemed to play, or at least, not in connection to the actual jump. Jump height also seemed to be more related to how quickly you pressed the buttons in succession rather than, say, holding the button down.

Yazara says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17am

Music and Artwork in this game are incredible, as well as the mood they create :)

Gluklichman says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice art and mood, but I couldn`t understand how I should jump not to collide with stars. Controls seem rather strange to me

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59pm

love the concept. I found it a bit difficult and had to try a few games before I figured out that they spawn behind where you are and to jump to spwan them high. nice work

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Simple but very nice gameplay idea, the atmosphere is lovely

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Very weird mechanic for the jumping I wasn't 100% clear that you keep rapidly pressing the spacebar to jump higher....I though the icon meant hold the spacebar

Other than that minor critic the game is beautiful and well polished. Superb job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]