Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Jump Rampage

by Code Medicine - Jam Entry

Think robots cant jump? Think again! In Rocket Jump Rampage this bot augments his wimpy jump with a powerful rocket launcher! Your objective? Rocket-Jump yourself to the goal. Use your jump in combination with a well timed rocket to get the most height! The arena stays the same, while the platforms move to create several dynamic paths!

See the trailer here :
http://youtu.be/z2NLb9d3750

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#67Fun(Jam)3.80
#81Graphics(Jam)4.27
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#352Theme(Jam)3.70
#353Mood(Jam)3.25
#392Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Great entry, good fun. Well done.

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

I LOVE this one!!! Fun, great level design, and challenging - love the visuals too. Great job!

Phask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

I love this game, thank you very much for making this. Awesome Quake feeling, stunning graphics, intuitive gameplay, increasing challenge... I really have nothing negative to say! Keep it up!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

This game is amazing. I love the music. I love the graphics. Gameplay mechanism is fun and unique. It's pretty challenging. Honestly, I cannot fault this game at all!

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great fun. Very well made game and great effort put into animations, characters and props. The particles and camera shakes were also more or less perfect.

Things I would consider:

Remove the ability to jump. It seems not to serve that great of a purpose and caused me to wander around aimlessly a while at the first level because I though rockets were for shooting things down.

Actually it would be good to have the character run across the menu/title screen and execute a rocket jump so that all players know what to do.

I only played the first and part of the second level and what kept me going was the frustration of not being good at controlling the character. I think this is exactly the feeling you should be aiming for. But what struck me as odd was the order of where the targets were. Especially for the second level, the third position was clearly the most difficult place.

All in all a very solid game and I hope you feel very satisfied with what you accomplished.

Kep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice graphics. The sounds fit well. The camera shake adds to the intensity. The pathetic jump shifts focus to the core mechanic. Overall, it's very well made.

If you make more levels, I strongly prefer ones where each target has at least one unique jump, instead of the targets all being on the same path.

Thanks and best of luck.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Yeah rocket jumps!! :D great to see that as a core mechanic. Nice job :)

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Lovely little puzzle - nice GFX too.

MrSun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:06am

Wow, this is great!

Neiler says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

cool game dude ! :D

torcado194 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

This was a really great game! The art and modeling is amazing, level designs are good, and the music is great. It was very good up until the 4th(?) level. at that point it was very frustrating. Not being able to move in air was annoying, and the jumps just felt random at times. Respawning takes too long, and it was quite annoying that you had to go through everything not only after dying, but even after getting to a goal. Also this doesn't really follow the theme since there were multiple levels, or screens if you will. otherwise, really well done

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:30am

was a little hard to play on my laptop, but its a great entry, and nice looking

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:40am

Great music, nice graphics and animations. The rocket shots are really cool. At first I thought the energy patches were things I was supposed to avoid and the first time I hit one I thought I had lost a life :) The explosion impulses have a weird logic but its a fun logic. Larger levels would make this game a lot more fun but its good to stick to the theme I guess :)

besieger1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:46am

THE GRAPHICS ARE EPIC!

Team Buttface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04am

Well made and a good challange to play. I like the idea and execution. Good amount of level variance.

One minor gripe I have is with multiple monitors. The game should not allow the cursor to leave the screen.

Otherwise, great!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11am

Love it.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09am

awesome graphics!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:12am

Amazing graphics and gameplay. Feels really good.
But it doesn't fit the theme imo.

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58am

Nicely done little games, and I reached all the platforms. It'd be nice to have a secondary mechanic like score/time/damage or something to make it more interesting.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:09am

Thanks for all the feedback from everyone! Greatly appreciated and will take all of it into consideration. I just wanted to address a few opinions on how we addressed this theme. This scene or 'screen' is one piece with sliding doors that allow for us to change platforms and keep the game dynamic and challenging. We have added some detail with screen shots to demonstrate what we did. Again thanks for all the kind words, criticisms, and support. We are checking all of you out too and will provide honest feedback. Happy voting!

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:14am

Really nice! It's an old classic but this perspective brings a lot of originality to the table. Would love to see this kind of game with additional powers like jetpacks and mines etc.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Rocket jumping in a platforming game! Great idea. Nice graphics too. Well done!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really fun and great concept. The art is beautiful, as are the animations

I was dying (literally and figuratively) for some air control though, especially on level 3 where I just had to give up from frustration. Level 3 was actually really well designed though, despite being my quitting point.

One fix I'd really recommend is speeding up the respawn time, it's unnecessarily high for a game where you die so much

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:35am

Great game man!! I love the rocket jump combo. I would say maybe make the goal a bit more clear, but it doesn't matter because rocket jumping is just way to fun on its own.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:54am

Wow this one is great! Beat it!
I really liked the heavy feeling of being a robot! Bot with the sound and the physics. Rocket jumping felt good, and it looks really nice!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Amazing graphics, interesting and challenging gameplay. Also moonwalking robots. I have to admit it took me quite a while to get past the second stage but once I did I got a handle on the controls. Definitely worth expanding upon!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I found it very challenging, but I like the graphics! I Included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Z4bPWwSnLLA

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:31am

Wow! This game looks really cool

Yarek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:46am

Who needs to jump when you can just use a rocket launcher :D Amazing game :) Good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:12am

This has tremendous potential for more content! :D

As-is, it's a VERY solid game. Stellar controls, beautiful graphics (You got Ambient Occlusion all up in your LD game..!! :D That's amazing!), intuitive experimental gameplay that allows the player to really sink their teeth into developing their own play-style and just having FUN with the mechanics.

This TOTALLY deserves a post-LD release of some form. This really could go far with more content, more levels, enemy introduction, maybe even a storyline, too! :) Really good base game, here.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Cool idea for a challenging game using rocket jumps :).
The only real issue I had was, at least for me, it was hard to identify what was foreground/walls and what was the background so I would frequently jump into/rocket into walls I didn't notice. Besides that though it was a simple but enjoyable experience, well done :).

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Honestly, the most polished game I've seen all LD in terms of graphics, rendering, gameplay mechanics, and the one thing that set's yours SO far apart: level design. You guy really have a talent for knowing how to challenge the player but also let the level walk them through the game and let them learn by exploration.

I fell like saying "Well Done" is just not enough here, so how about:
Superb display of splendorous valor for achievements within the virtual realm on the trifecta of gaming elements and their perfected fusion into the rare alloy that is Rocket Jump Rampage with the given challenge of time presented within the allotted hours of two past the number of seventy!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice gameplay. :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Really cool idea, I had a lot of fun playing this one.The idea was quite fun! I reckon this'd be a great quick fix iPhone game! you should consider it. Graphics and audio were both really good! Overall great entry, really enjoyed it!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Really fun game play, nice entry. :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:18am

Cool. I actually haven't seen rocket jumping used for platforming outside of FPSs. The graphics were great and the audio set a good mood. Rocket jumping is something that takes a little getting used to but I got the hang of it.

My only complaint is that the respawn should be faster since you die a lot.

-AlucardX60

Johnro says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:38am

This one was a lot of fun! The jumping mechanics were a little hard to get used to (I thought at first the extra jump was powered by shooting the rocket, instead of when it exploded), but when I got them, they were great! The inability to move your character once it was in the air threw me a bit, though. It made jumps which should have been simple (Especially the lower platform on the far right of the final level, over the laser beam) into huge problems. I think in a situation like that, a small amount would go a long way, though it's in no way necessary.
All in all, great game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:55am

pretty cool idea - hard to execute - i liked it - great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]